Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memorable and a bit risque!
I love old black and white photographs. I always like to speculate about what led to the photograph been taken, what the person (subject) was thinking about at the time, what the photographer was thinking. So I really enjoyed this book even when the book gave way to colour photo's from the late seventies onwards.

I love the TV advert that shows the Olympics...
Published on 7 July 2011 by John

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good photos but narrow in scope
I enjoyed looking at the pictures from the time out archive, but have to say that the scope was rather limited, and there was an emphasis on candid photography which rather lost the splendour of the games through the ages.

It also fell for the old cliché book (a) Jesse Owens 1936 - check (b) Dorando Pietri 1908 - check.

The quality of the book...
Published on 29 Sep 2011 by The Penguin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good photos but narrow in scope, 29 Sep 2011
By 
The Penguin "JH" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed looking at the pictures from the time out archive, but have to say that the scope was rather limited, and there was an emphasis on candid photography which rather lost the splendour of the games through the ages.

It also fell for the old cliché book (a) Jesse Owens 1936 - check (b) Dorando Pietri 1908 - check.

The quality of the book is fine and it is a small volume - but not one I'd recommend absolutely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memorable and a bit risque!, 7 July 2011
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love old black and white photographs. I always like to speculate about what led to the photograph been taken, what the person (subject) was thinking about at the time, what the photographer was thinking. So I really enjoyed this book even when the book gave way to colour photo's from the late seventies onwards.

I love the TV advert that shows the Olympics where people are actually taking part in an obstacle course and leaping through barrels and this book up until the 1936 games in Berlin captures that innocence and thoroughly amateur nature of the games, along with several wonderful moustaches. You can almost see the chaps at the start of the race handing their pipes and smoking jackets to their valets before getting down to a spot of running, the only sop to aerodynamics was waxing their magnificent moustaches. The risque bit of the title is I wonder if they realised just how revealing the swimming costumes of the British womens relay team were at the time - the coach looks incredibly stern and no nonsense, and the swimming costumes knee length but sheer.

There are some wonderfully iconic photographs: Hitler at the Berlin games in 1936, alongside a photo of Jesse Owens talking to his German rival Luz Long (I wonder what Herr Hitler thought of that one!?). There's the 1968 Mexico games human rights salute of Smith & Carlos (Smith confirmed that's what it was in his autobiography), Usain Bolt looking across the finishing line in the 100m final with hardly anyone else in shot and there are dozens more like that. My mother saw Blankers-Koen run in the London games in 1948 after the war and the photograph of Blankers-Koen reminded me of that as I remember my mother and grandmother telling me about meeting her after the 200m final; as I said earlier, more innocent days, both my mother and grandmother regarded Blankers-Koen as one of the finest runners of her generation (My grandmother had seen her running before the war in Holland) and an inspiration to women at that time.

I can imagine that choosing photographs covering a hundred and twelve years of the modern olympic's sporting history isn't easy and this book oould have been double or even triple the length and still for me have been short a hundred photographs.

I think it's well worth the money as a conversation piece as we approach the London 2012 games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and interesting, 22 Jun 2011
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like many of these Time Out books, this one holds some fascinating photos and facts in the lead up to the Olympic Games next year. Covering games from the earliest years right up to the 2008 Beijing games, it makes a very interesting book to refer to and I'm sure it will be a useful addition to my classroom library next year as the games draw ever nearer.

The draw back, and a major limitation to the book in my opinion, is that it would have been lovely to see this in a proper coffee table format (with a binding that allows it to be left open and perused properly) as, other than to support classroom projects, I'm not sure how popular it will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely production, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Mark Loughridge (Letterkenny, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lovely little book - about 8 inches square, with 200+ pages of great photographs and comments.

I suppose everyone will have their own favourite Olympic moments, and to compile a book like this will doubtless leave some out, but this book doesnt seem to miss many. It has a great balance between a spread of events, opening ceremonies, mascots, individual and team achievements and other key moments.

The great Olympians are noted and the book has its fair collection of interesting trivia, anecdotes of personal battles, triumphs, overcoming the odds etc--a good number of which I hadn't come across before.

It has a great ratio of comment to photograph--comments are about 100 words long, and packed with info.

My favourite photograph is probably the German wrestler Wilfried Dietrich throwing his 400lb opponent - a cracking action shot, although you wonder what shape they were both in when they landed.

A great gift for sports fans coming to to the Olympic year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little taster review of the modern Olympics, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. P. J. Coombe (Southend) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book contains around 230 photographs taken from from Athens 1896 to the build-up to London 2012 - each with a description taken from the archives of Getty Images. This book emphases on the two previous Games held in London, in 1908 and 1948 and is an ideal accompaniment to anyone still hyped up post Olympics.

The Olympics are a time when the world comes together and this collection of postcards captures the memorable moments from 1908 through to the current day, with detailed information for each image. From the glorious ladies of the 1908 Women's Archery competition, to the most recent crop of stars, this collection of cards covers the interesting history of the games.

The cards themselves are printed on quality, sturdy card with rich colours and deep blacks. They are standard postcard sizes and easy to remove from the book without damage. First class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Photo Book, 25 July 2012
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fantastic look at the history of the Olympic Games, presented through a series of genuinely inspiring photographs. The selection is wide and varied and it'll amuse and inform with each browse. Loses a star for being a little too small to really appreciate all of the photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute little coffe table book, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Jessie (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nice picture of the Olympics in a small format, something to show the kids to sum up the past Olympic triumphs, obviously relevent to them coming to London in 2012. Would be good for teachers who are doing the Olympics as a topic but I think unless you were a keen historical sports person then It would be a 10 minute wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Stuart Burns (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An incredible history of the games which, whilst still taking its ease in the great moments (Black rights symbols and whatnot) isn't afraid to look at the darker side (Berlin 1936) with a critical eye. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reminds us what the Olympics are really about, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Living in London, its easy to be cynical about the Olympics beanfeast: we're paying through the nose for facilities most of us will never use, not even sit in, let alone benefit from and putting up with massive disruption to our transport system so VIPs can get to the games next year without having to sit in traffic or on the train with the rest of us. However, around London there are small reminders of what the Olympics used to be about, including the wonderful Herne Hill Velodrome.

This book is an insight into that lost world - even the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics look innocent now - a world of barefoot runners and women's swimming teams in head-to-toe costumes, of the Fosbury Flop and Black Power salutes, alarmingly underdeveloped eastern bloc gymnasts and alarmingly overdeveloped eastern bloc athletes.

My only gripes are the size - its a pocket book where it could be a coffee table book - and its focus on the sport. Until 1948, poetry znd architecture were also Olympic events!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of sports photography, 11 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Olympic Games Through a Lens is basically a small, paperback coffee-table book showing a great selection of sports photography. The pictures date back to the 1800s and cover the history of the Olympic games. Each photograph is accompanied by a paragraph of information about that particular person or general information about the sport. This is a nice little book, but I think it would be most enjoyed by those with an interest in photography. If you are mainly interested in the history of the games there is not much information included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides)
The Olympic Games through a lens (Time Out Guides) by Time Out Guides Ltd (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
10.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews