Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I love these walks and the updates are welcome. The pictures are magic and the quality of the publication matches that of the walks. If you don't know, these include detailed directions (maps are fun to carry but not necessary), descriptions of historical and architectural features en route, advise on superb real ale and gastronomic pubs for lunch stops along the way and...
Published on 27 May 2011 by CTamazon

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Near London?????
If you're thinking of getting this one, just before you do have a look at the "look inside" feature because it shows you on the contents page where the walks actually are. I personally think the "near london" part of the title is stretching it a bit - especially for the walks in Dover and North Buckinghamshire for example and it is noticeable that for some reason there...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by J. C. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
I love these walks and the updates are welcome. The pictures are magic and the quality of the publication matches that of the walks. If you don't know, these include detailed directions (maps are fun to carry but not necessary), descriptions of historical and architectural features en route, advise on superb real ale and gastronomic pubs for lunch stops along the way and excellent tea houses near to the end of walks. Bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first walk, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
I brought this book at Christmas and have just done the Alton short circular.

Now I can't wait to do them all - living in London can sometimes get me down as we're all so penned in and crowded, an hour on the train and suddenly the whole world is transformed to a beautiful sweeping landscpape of green fields and lonely trees all under a brooding grey January sky.

I've noticed that some reviews complain (about volume 1) that some of the walks aren't circular but half of the beauty of these walks is the train journey out of London with a coffee on a Sunday morning and watching as all the urban area fizzles away to the beauty of the countryside. Most (all?) non-cicular walks end up at a train station.

I recommend this book (and volume 1) as the perfect stress buster to busy London life and has renewed my waning enthusiasm for England as a beautiful place to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 train friendly day walks in southeast england, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
30 train-friendly countryside day walks in southeast england, from 30 to 90 mins train ride from central London
most of the walks are car-friendly (several circular walks, or for linear walks, you can catch a train 1 or 2 stops back to the start)
many of the walks have shorter options for new walkers
the book's website, www.walkingclub.org.uk/book_2 has
- OS maps you can print,
- downloadable GPS data for your smartphone / gps device
- photos and videos of the walk to give you an idea
- several new options (e.g. a new start or finish)
- updates and feedback
there is also a volume 1 with 53 walks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Near London?????, 17 Dec 2011
By 
J. C. Wright (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
If you're thinking of getting this one, just before you do have a look at the "look inside" feature because it shows you on the contents page where the walks actually are. I personally think the "near london" part of the title is stretching it a bit - especially for the walks in Dover and North Buckinghamshire for example and it is noticeable that for some reason there are no walks in Hertfordshire or Essex for some reason.

I must admit that I haven't done any of the walks however comment on those which is reflected in my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great escapes to the country for Londoners!, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
Best walking guide ever! I would defy anyone to get lost when out walking with this guide. It is so clear and detailed that you don't really need a map at all. The walks are in great locations and this edition is more driver friendly giving suggestions for where to park the car if it is more convenient than doing the whole journey by train. Regular updates to the walks on the internet ensure their continued accuracy and the pubs/ tea shops chosen are the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
This is an extraordinary book. the book guides you to the most beautiful places and gives such precise directions you dont even need to have a map to wander the countryside. And the pubs are a treat. Plus you can do it all without a car. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Miss A. Perry "ARP" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
Very comprehensive, detailed descriptions of the walks. So easy to use for inexperienced walkers like myself. And makes the walks much more enjoyable as you follow the route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
I have just finished last walk from this book having walked every single one. This book is really amazing -clear walking instructions and one can learn about the places walked too. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves walking and exploring the stunning countryside you would not expect so close to London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a good book to have if you like country walks, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
My only concern is that maps provided can be a bit misleading, so have to check against google maps or ordinance maps. Otherwise, great book, lots of different walks, with good directions and facts about places along each walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Accurate, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2) (Paperback)
Found the instructions on this book very easy to follow and very accurate...sometimes it is nice to get lost and find your own way back, have some fun...when you have the time and not yet walked 30+km, but generally don't like getting lost and instead relay on good and accurate instructions. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Out Country Walks Near London Vol 2 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 2)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews