Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a joy
It is wonderful to see a revised edition of these fabulous walks. Thank you to the dedicated walkers who have taken the time and trouble to review the routes and amend directions accordingly.
As someone who delights in not owning a car I am especially grateful that all are accessible by train and that full advice on public transport is provided for Londoners and...
Published on 25 April 2011 by CTamazon

versus
6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good at all if you're looking for circular walks
Approximately 30 walks in the book. However only 4-6 of them are circular which means that for the others, you have to travel to and from them by public transport, adding a great deal of time to your day. The Volume 2 book is much better as the majority of the walks are circular.
Published on 21 April 2011 by D. E. Mcgill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a joy, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
It is wonderful to see a revised edition of these fabulous walks. Thank you to the dedicated walkers who have taken the time and trouble to review the routes and amend directions accordingly.
As someone who delights in not owning a car I am especially grateful that all are accessible by train and that full advice on public transport is provided for Londoners and visitors to the capital looking for a day out from town, rambling in magnificent neighbouring countryside.
The scenery traversed, historical points of interest, selected real ale pubs and picnic spots for lunches and tea shops noted for a quintessentially English end to the day really allow me to appreciate how fortunate I am to live in this part of the world.
My life has been enriched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful book!, 3 April 2011
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
In the past, I did some walks using the very first edition of this guide. Browsing through a bookshop, I came across this updated edition and was pleasantly surprised to see that there are lots of delightful photographs. I ordered the book on Amazon and spent a good hour leafing through it - trying to decide what walk to do first. What a wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walkers must have book, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
The timeout Country Walks books are fantastic! Having done a couple of the walks already - they are very easy to follow, rate the walks difficulty, show shortcuts if required, start and end at train stations and show a good bunch of pubs along the way. Will be getting a lot of use come summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have book, 2 Oct 2013
By 
DG (St Andrews, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic for anyone living in London - I am surprised more people don't know about it. In 30 minutes, this book will have you in rural countryside, picking blackberries as you wander between charming villages and points of interest. It's food for the soul, and after each outing I feel as though I have had a mini vacation, all for the price of a 15 train ticket. Marvelous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great walks, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
Easy to follow guides and make for a really great day out with excellent tea and lunch stop suggestions for each walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive and Practical, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
Bought as a present for a cousin who lives near the area covered and is more into walking for pleasure than me. When I received it, I thought it was attractive and well presented and was almost stirred to action. The feedback I got was that it was pretty useful as a practical guide as well. Nice to look at and apparently does the job if you are actually going to get out there. All round good egg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars walking guide, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
Good value. Accurate, detailed guidance on how to get to the start and on the walks. Info on refreshments useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Train-friendly walks in Southeast England, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
53 train-friendly countryside day walks in southeast england, from 30 to 90 mins train ride from central London
most of the walks are car-friendly (you can catch a train 1 or 2 stops back to the start)
the book's website, www.walkingclub.org.uk/book_1 has
- OS maps you can print,
- photos, videos
- updates (e.g. lunch pub on the Gomshall to Guildford walk has closed)
there is also a volume 2 with 30 walks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideas for country walks, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
If you like walking within fairly reach of London, you will find this book and its accompanying volume inspiring. It sets out walks in considerable detail and it is updated from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) (Paperback)
I love this, had been meaning to get it for ages and it's (so far) living up to my expectations! I've done two so far (plus one using a friend's copy), all really enjoyable walks. The directions are generally very clear (I've never gone wrong by more than a few hundred yards, if that) though you do have to pay careful attention, but that's all part of the fun! Loads of useful and interesting info, great lunch stops, and a good variety of choices in terms of length, location and difficulty. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1)
Time Out Country Walks Vol 1 (Time Out Country Walks Volume 1) by Time Out Guides Ltd (Paperback - 3 Mar 2011)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews