Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspriing, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Stephen H (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
This book is excellent - good information along with interesting chapters. It was great to read about some trips I have made and then be inspired to make some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Train Journeys of the World, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Well written taster descriptions of rail trips world-wide, including UK.
Printed, in Europe for a change, on quality paper and well illustrated.
This excellent book is for potential travellers more than railway buffs.
Some good leads included to get you on the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Train Journeys Guide, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Simone Mathaess "Mona" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent Train Travel Guide, very helpful and easy to consult. A must for any trip you want to plan. Recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great train journey read, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
I know nothing about trains from an enthusiast view point all I know is I love traveling on them and this book is a great way to get the feel of train journeys in other countries and continents and it does wet the appetite to climb onboard and see the world at a more civilised pace. I would recommend this book to all who love train travel and general adventure. I got the book in quick time so well done the supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Train Journeys - Great and Small, 23 Feb 2014
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
What is it that makes a great train journey? Epic distances? Extremes of altitude? Feats of engineering? Nostalgia? A photographer's paradise? If you've answered 'yes' to any of these, please read further.

But what makes a great train journey BOOK? Now that is a more difficult question. Some readers will no doubt immerse themselves in the history of each line and stock. Others will be fascinated by the engineering feats that turned inhospitable territories into vital communication routes. Whilst others will be awestruck by the quality of the images, or be engrossed in the authors' anecdotes or the practical tips.

Great Train Journeys of the World achieves all of these objectives. From the expanse of the Moscow to Beijing and trans-Australia lines to the tourist lines of England and Scotland, there is something to stir the imagination of every armchair rail traveller.

With around 40 journeys, each occupying around 5-6 pages of images and text, the focus is on breadth rather than depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great train journeys of the world (times out guides), 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent overview and wonderful photography - good travel tips in each of the sections. Good reference book and to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for armchair travellers, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
There are some train journeys which I would like to have seen in here but they'll never be able to please everyone. There are some lovely journeys and not just the obvious ends. Lots of pictures and details on how long the trips take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Train Journeys of the World, 12 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. Patricia J. Summers (Perth Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
I actually gave this to my son and he reckons it is one of the better books he has perused in recent times and it has inspired him to try some of these journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2f31cc0)

This product

Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides)
Great Train Journeys of the World (Time Out Guides) by Peterjohn Cresswell (Paperback - 1 Oct 2009)
11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews