Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know and more
Krakow is Poland's most visited city and deserves better guides than those available at the moment. At last someone has written a guide worthy of the city. Most tourists will visit the old town square, maybe walk around the Planty, visit the Wawel and then possibly go and visit Kazimierz. There is in fact a lot more to this ancient city and this guide opens up places like...
Published on 15 July 2009 by Mr. Leszek S. Werenowski

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
it's ok but out of date 2009 edition !! very disappointing
Published 5 days ago by Jytte Alexander


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know and more, 15 July 2009
By 
Mr. Leszek S. Werenowski (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
Krakow is Poland's most visited city and deserves better guides than those available at the moment. At last someone has written a guide worthy of the city. Most tourists will visit the old town square, maybe walk around the Planty, visit the Wawel and then possibly go and visit Kazimierz. There is in fact a lot more to this ancient city and this guide opens up places like Podgorze and Kleparz which are worthy of exploration. In the eyes of some Poland is still a far away country that we know little of. This guide dispels such prejudices and opens up a fascinating city. An essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far more than just clubs, bars and restaurants, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Lance Grundy (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
A bang up-to-date pocket-sized Krakow guide from Time Out. One of the 'Shortlist' series and, like the other full-size Time Out guides, it is compiled by locally based editors and writers - and it shows.

After giving a brief introduction to each area the guide then highlights the best sights and museums, eating and drinking establishments, shopping, nightlife and arts and leisure attractions. Areas away from the 'touristy' Old Town, such as Kazimierz, Wawel, Podgorze and the South of the city, Kleparz and the North and Czarna and the West are given equal billing - making for interesting excursions off the beaten track.

I found the section on Nowa Huta, a communist new town [the name means New Steelworks] built on the outskirts of Krakow at the behest of Stalin himself, particularly interesting. The guide book describes it as "an outpost of dystopian socialism" that was "grafted onto greater Krakow" as a "worker's paradise" - an antidote to what the Soviet authorities saw as liberal, religious, bourgeois Krakow. The guide gives you the numbers of the tram services that can take you there should you wish to go independently and the name of a local tour company specialising in the area should you prefer a tour. Recommended is a visit to "the monument Nova Huta is most proud of: the Arka Pana Church". Apparently, when the town was built the authorities declared that there was no room and no money to build a church. Undeterred the local people built one for themselves, brick by brick, in defiance of the socialist regime. Workers in the town were also amongst the most vocal in the country in their support for the Solidarity movement.

The guide also highlights another memorial to the darker side of recent Polish history - the memorial cross to Katyn outside the St Giles` Church. Not mentioned in either of my other two guidebooks on the city, a simple cross commemorates the thousands of Polish officers murdered by the Soviet Union following the outbreak of the Second World War - the story of which is told in the recent film "Katyn".

This is an invaluable guide for anyone spending a few days [and nights] in this beautiful and fascinating city. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LITTLE BOOK, 19 Dec 2010
By 
A. A. Loftus "Alison Staffs" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
Would recommend this little book to any first time visitors to Krakow.We went to stay with a Polish friend and a lot of the places she took us to were in the book.Concise and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact travel companion, 18 Feb 2011
By 
S. P. MARLEY (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
This handy travel guide is perfect to fit into your pocket on your travels abroad, and I found it in the main very useful and accurate.

Just a couple of minor gripes. The map of the tram system in Krakow is too small to read sensibly (which meant that I couldn't get to grips with the network when I was in the city).

And there was misleading information about the usefulness of kantors (exchange bureaux)- we were ripped off by a kantor who advertised one rate in the window but gave us a much worse rate in reality. My travel friend had a guide (not TimeOut) that stressed the use of banks in preference to these kantor sharks. So a word of warning for you to the wise, for what it's worth.

Krakow as a city is absolutely delightful, not too expensive, and full of lovely people. So I can't wait to go back and explore it further. I'll just be more careful about purchasing my Zloty in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pocket guide, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
Very informative although (because of its size) it is a bit short on detail. Nevertheless I found this an excellent pocket guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking little book, 27 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
Great little book. Small enough to fit in a pocket or handbag. Jam packed with all there is to see in Krakow. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable City Guides, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. G. M. Kelly (North Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
I always find "Time Out" Guides to be reliable and accurate with their information.Easy to carry around in one's pocket or bag, not too informative and the recommended restaurants have always been superb. Excellent advice given about getting to and from Airports etc. and what to buy in each City. All round thse books are excellent value for money. ( They also look attractive when a lot are stored on your bookshelf!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
it's ok but out of date 2009 edition !! very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small and cheap, 25 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition (Paperback)
The product is not great and nice and exciting, like the Lonely Planets books usually are, but it is cheaper and it is roughly usefull...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition
Time Out Shortlist Krakow 1st edition by Time Out Guides Ltd (Paperback - 4 Jun 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews