Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2008
I stumbled across this book by pure accident as it was given to a colleague for a leaving present. After a quick flick I was hooked and had to buy it for myself!

The photographs are breathtaking capturing London at various stages in the last hundred (or so) years. Some of the photographs you will remember, some you won't believe, but all captured and printed in lovely detail. The descriptions are well written and go into just enough detail to make it interesting.

An ideal present for old and young or treat yourself!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2008
This is a wonderful collection of photos from the 1850s through to the modern day that captures the cultural, social and political history of the capital. Anyone interested in the development of London over the last 150 years will love this book - published to coincide with the exhibition of the same name at the Getty Images Gallery in London in the autumn of 2008.

Some of the famous faces featured in the collection include the Kray brothers, Reggie and Ronnie as amateur boxers posing with their mother Violet, before they went on to become notorious London gangsters. Other striking images include Daleks invading a London street outside Wyndams Theatre in 1965, Blitz searchlights over St Paul's Cathedral on New Year's Eve 1943 and men rescuing residents in Rotherhithe from flood when the Thames broke its banks in 1928.

Other memorable images include a pair of cheery men enjoying jellied eels in a Whitechapel street on a Sunday morning, two young Fulham fans ahead of an FA cup clash with Ipswich in the late 1950s and a crowd of shoppers at Petticoat Lane street market in London's East End.

A super book to pick up and browse through and great value for money too!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
I was so disappointed to have missed Getty Images Gallery's exhibition of London Through a Lens and so this was the next best thing. This book is a simply wonderful glance at times gone by with some truly magical and nostalgic photographs (237 altogether) capturing some great moments in London with one in particular going back as far as 1843 as well as some images which serve to remind you just how hard life was at times.

I think this book would make a fantastic gift for anyone who lives in or particularly likes London or indeed anyone who would like to see some truly amazing and provocative imagery of times gone by.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Bought as a Christmas gift for my father - he loves photography and is interested in London history but wouldn't have appreciated a novel! This book provides great photographs and a little history to go with it. Would throughly recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
This is not the first time that the Hulton Archive has been mined for a London images collection, but although there are some familiar items in here there is a good selection of pictures I have not seen before, both people and places, many from the Hulton and some from other archives.

A compact book, but good use is made of the space available - picures are mostly to the edge, and captions minimal but adequate (and plaudits for reminding readers that "Eros" is actually Anteros).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
This book has some wonderful views from the Londoners' London which has long since gone. It may bring back some long forgotten memories of years gone by. It is a book for both Londoners and social historians. If you are a Londoner you may not be able to put it down once you have turned the first page!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
Bought this for my boyfriend as he was living in the Uk and wanted to give him a taste of london before he moves here! he loves it and so do i! I have abook like this of new york too- just makes you appreciate London a whole lot more! worth a buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
Excellent book showing some great photo's of London going back into the 30's. A must have for all historians and those who enjoy a visual delight. I would highly recommend anyone to buy this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
This is a great book, I cannot recommend it enough - I liked it so much that I've bought many copies for friends and family. As an evocation of place it can't be beaten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
It's a great book shining historical pictures of life in London but was disappointed that there weren't more recent pictures included
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)