Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TimeOut es una compra segura en mis viajes
Me encantan las guias TimeOut. Después de las guías Top10 (de bolsillo, muy manejables y resumidas, para no saturarse; y curiosamente con el mejor mapa), es la 2ª mejor guía. Tiene buenas recomendaciones de restaurantes (aunque termino fiándome también de las opiniones de TravelAdvisor). Y muchos recuadros amarillos que destacan cosas...
Published on 14 Sept. 2011 by Jorge

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle, swindle.
Let's get this one out in the open before I begin - I am NOT an anti-technology Luddite. Quite the opposite but I don't think that every device, breathlessly reviewed in some juvenile "lads-mag", is necessarily better than the thing it aims to replace and this Kindle edition of a Time Out guide is one of them.

Buy the book for £9.09 and you have yourself a...
Published on 15 Jun. 2012 by Mr. John Southern


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle, swindle., 15 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Venice 6th edition (Paperback)
Let's get this one out in the open before I begin - I am NOT an anti-technology Luddite. Quite the opposite but I don't think that every device, breathlessly reviewed in some juvenile "lads-mag", is necessarily better than the thing it aims to replace and this Kindle edition of a Time Out guide is one of them.

Buy the book for £9.09 and you have yourself a decent guide to Venice. Whether you like or dislike the writing style of the Time Out guides is your choice; all I'm saying is stay away from the £8.09 Kindle edition.

Why? In the "old-fashioned" guide book you get maps that, although visually clumsy, will direct you towards establishments reviewed in the book. This is something that the authors of the Kindle edition didn't think you'd need. Worse still, the maps are not scalable, so unless you have a handy magnifying glass, forget using the Kindle maps at all. OK, the device I use to read my Kindle guide has a map application but do I have to keep switching between "apps", to discover where an establishment is?

To further rub salt into the wound, there are some new tablet savvy, "kids on the block", who are producing reasonable beta-versions of tablet guides. Not only are the maps scalable, but the establishments listed, (paid for inclusions I'm guessing, not impartial), are "click-able". Obviously this is the way to go. However, until the time comes when Time Out takes e-reader guides seriously - steer well clear of this turkey and buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TimeOut es una compra segura en mis viajes, 14 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Time Out Venice 6th edition (Paperback)
Me encantan las guias TimeOut. Después de las guías Top10 (de bolsillo, muy manejables y resumidas, para no saturarse; y curiosamente con el mejor mapa), es la 2ª mejor guía. Tiene buenas recomendaciones de restaurantes (aunque termino fiándome también de las opiniones de TravelAdvisor). Y muchos recuadros amarillos que destacan cosas para no perderese o anecdotas históricas (se nota que lo escriben entre muchos expertos). The Rough Guide es perfecta para los monumentos que otras olvidan, más detalles en billetes/tarjetas/precios/paradas de vaporreti y sería mi tercera opción. Lonely Planet decae un poco (a mi gusto); y el ROutard-Trotamundos para olvidar (que pena, con lo buenas que me parecían).
Gelaterie, pasticcerie y bacaros, allá vamos!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hated this book, 22 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Time Out Venice 6th edition (Paperback)
I bought this book before going on a 4 day trip to Venice. I found it totally confusing and a horrible read. Every recommendation seemed to end with 'now sit down and enjoy a nice glass of wine'. If you are on a budget this book is not for you. Everything that they recommend is very expensive and the book is full of adverts. If I hadn't of paid for this book I would have put it in the bin after the first day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide book, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just returned from my first trip to Venice. This guide book was invaluable, helping me get around and understand more about this remrkable city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
L. Gavigan "Gavibum" (W. Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought because am going to Verona but there are only 10 pages in the entire book on Verona, print is tiny (and my eyesight is pretty good) plus it's 7 years old so probably not up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential., 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. N. Clatworthy (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Venice 6th edition (Paperback)
If you go to Venice this book or one similar is what you need to understand the history and significance of what you are looking at. The maps are adequate to get about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still fantastic, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Venice 6th edition (Paperback)
I have never, ever regretted buying a Time Out guide. This one is no exception. For where to eat, drink, and stay, they are absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need when in Venice., 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Venice 6th edition (Paperback)
Very handy to have with you wandering around Venice. Great for restaurant recommendations and exploring away from the San Marco hordes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guide book, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Venice 6th edition (Paperback)
Excellent, have managed to plan out all of three night trip to Venice in September from this book, map of location ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, But not great, 8 Mar. 2005
Took this one with me to Venice. Did'nt really impress me. Would recommend getting a Lonelyplanet guide instead.
But no real problems. Just like the lonelyplanet layout better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Out Venice 6th edition
Time Out Venice 6th edition by Time Out Guides Ltd (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2009)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews