Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab by design!!!!!!!
What a wonderful insight into the life of such a remarkable women. Succeeding in a male dominated music industry, after a soul searching trip through adolescence amd beyond seeking her lost identity. Educated, musically talented and then inspired, at first, by some of the least obvious performers of the time. Pauline Black provides a peep-hole into some wonderful behind...
Published on 28 Mar 2012 by Sugary1

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars In this book PB comes across as someone who doesn't very much like the white man but is happy to take their ...
Why Pauline Black (Not real name) doesn't get the criticism for joining the Black Panthers (Black equivalent of the KKK) that Suggs gets for alleged involvement with the National Front i'll never know?

In this book PB comes across as someone who doesn't very much like the white man but is happy to take their money & eventually marry one.

I don't have...
Published 28 days ago by F Bomb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab by design!!!!!!!, 28 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful insight into the life of such a remarkable women. Succeeding in a male dominated music industry, after a soul searching trip through adolescence amd beyond seeking her lost identity. Educated, musically talented and then inspired, at first, by some of the least obvious performers of the time. Pauline Black provides a peep-hole into some wonderful behind the scenes musical moments in the world of 2-Tone, as well as her personal, domestic and early, sometimes rebellious life - to present day. Her long-term love of husband Terry also shines through the pages, showing him as someone who has almost silently supported and carried her through good and not so good times. Pauline's energy, curiousity, determination and guts present themselves in every chapter of this book and this has been one of my best reads, for a very long time! I loved it so much I bought several copies as gifts for friends! Check it out - you wont be disappointed! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating read!, 18 July 2011
This is a MUST HAVE for any 2-Tone fans out there. The Selector and days of 2-Tone records are very well documented within the pages of this book. But, what also makes this book great, is that you get a feeling of what it was like to grow up whilst searching for an identity in Britain during the 1960's and 1970's. Pauline Black's tome takes us back to that time with cultural references and some shocking and moving revelations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of an education, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Being a Yank who was gobsmacked by SKA some years back I have nearly all of The Selecter material on CD. This book is pretty much a revelation as it is straight-up and straight-ahead honest, well written and Pauline pulls no punches and fills in a portrait of the world and time this band and others existed in. I'm sure that before her career is over there will be plenty of material for, at least, one more book of this quality. Thanks for a great read Pauline, and thanks for your part in all the great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally absorbing read... a must buy, 17 July 2011
wether you are a fan of the music or not this book is an eye opening read i recomend to anyone.... your bookshelf is a poorer place without it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent and insightful woman, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Robin Webster "Robin" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black by Design: A 2-Tone Memoir (Paperback)
This book was a must read for me. The reason being I read an interview with Pauline Black in a national newspaper where she was talking about her experiences of being transracially adopted. I was amazed to find that her experiences mirrored my own. Like me, Pauline Black was adopted as a baby in the UK in the early 1950's then brought up in a white area with no other black or mixed race families in sight. The similarities did not end there. As I did, she traced her natural mother (who was white) to Australia, and managed to trace her black father but alas he was dead before she got a chance to meet him. Because of this, I found the parts of the book dealing with transracial adoption in the 1950's, moving, honest and insightful. There was no blueprint for transracial adoption then and Pauline Black manages to detail her journey in a balanced and clear way of how she forged her identity as a mixed-race person. She was not only able to outline the difference in perspective between the growing transracially adopted child and the rest of its family in the 1950's but also the positives. Like Pauline Black I was loved by my family and have met people who were brought up in care homes in the 1950's and the damage that can be caused being raised in that environment can be irreparable. I also share her view that things are better today with regard to transracial adoption but mistakes are still made in the UK, particularly in rural areas.
I have to say that I was 30 years old when the 2-Tone groups came onto the scene in 1980 with their own brand of fast paced Ska. Like all the 2-Tone bands Pauline Black's band `The Selector' was embraced by a large section of British youth at that time. Because of my age I did not really connect with the energy of the music. In view of this I found myself skipping large sections of the book. However, I do acknowledge that `The Selector's music was coming from a real place. I also felt that at a time when the far right was having a resurgence in Britain, the 2-Tone groups were not only a breath of fresh air but were also a counter-balance to the influence of the far right. This is a book written by an intelligent insightful woman that with hard work has managed to live her life on her own terms. However, in my view, the book's appeal is limited to those who have an interest in the 2-Tone groups, or people that are interested in the history of transracial adoption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black by design by pauline black., 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what an awesome read, been to many of there gigs over the years, and most recently saw them at Bristol,Bridport,Glos and due to see her in Exeter this week.I didnt realise what a hard time she realy had Growing up and just how much Terry had to put up with too (no offence PB)YET She has written about this with nothing to hide, a must for any fan of the 2tone era, past present and future....well done Pauline.
RIVETING couldnt put it down!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2Tone revolution, 11 Dec 2011
This book is an eye opener if you want to know what made Pauline black the person she is read this book it won't disappoint at all to all those ska and 2Tone fans this is the book for you the selector and who and why it came about and you'll get all the ins and outs of a rudegirls life from humble beginnings of being adopted into a White Essex family in the fifties to the person she is today with all the boils and spots you won't regret buying this one because even I could not put it down it would make the best present for any skinhead rudeboy or rudegirl buy it and open the world of Pauline black the ultimate read for anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars In this book PB comes across as someone who doesn't very much like the white man but is happy to take their ..., 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black by Design: A 2-Tone Memoir (Paperback)
Why Pauline Black (Not real name) doesn't get the criticism for joining the Black Panthers (Black equivalent of the KKK) that Suggs gets for alleged involvement with the National Front i'll never know?

In this book PB comes across as someone who doesn't very much like the white man but is happy to take their money & eventually marry one.

I don't have a problem with someone being proud of their roots, in fact i encourage it - But to then make a stand against racism and appear to dislike whites & their culture(?) then it's a bit mystifying!

These 2 Tone 'legends' all go on about unifying black/white people. Unfortunately, the only black people i ever saw at the gigs were on stage & not in the crowd.

Average book! Quite dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superwoman, 12 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black by Design: A 2-Tone Memoir (Paperback)
I heard Pauline being interviewed on radio and thought what an intelligent, perceptive woman she sounded to be and what an unusual upbringing she had had and then by coincidence she was mentioned in my local paper so I resolved to find out more about her, and I was not disappointed by her autobiography. I foresee an even brighter future for her, perhaps even becoming Baroness Pauline Black!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Tone, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black by Design: A 2-Tone Memoir (Paperback)
Great , great read from a real pioneer of the scene. I would recommend this to anyone who was into the music or remembers the time or wants to understand where music was in the late70's early 80's.A very candid and honest memoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black by Design: A 2-Tone Memoir
Black by Design: A 2-Tone Memoir by Pauline Black (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews