Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighter, lovelier Badiou for beginners (in love)
A divertimento for Badiou connoisseurs, who will see the key concepts of his philosophy explained in astoundingly simple terms, as well as for lovers of Continental philosophy in search for a lighter read. Wonderful, particularly his view of love as mini-communism.
Published on 25 Aug 2012 by Tapenade

versus
18 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars highly abstruse, very French - and I found it rather disappointing
This short book (104pp in fact, not the 256pp advertised in the Amazon product description) takes the form of a Q and A on love and associated topics (politics, art) between a French journalist and a French philosopher.

The jacket promises that 'a figure like Plato walks here among us'. But this is not much like Plato (who manages to tell us both an exciting...
Published on 4 July 2012 by William Jordan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighter, lovelier Badiou for beginners (in love), 25 Aug 2012
This review is from: In Praise Of Love (Paperback)
A divertimento for Badiou connoisseurs, who will see the key concepts of his philosophy explained in astoundingly simple terms, as well as for lovers of Continental philosophy in search for a lighter read. Wonderful, particularly his view of love as mini-communism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars accessible and important, 5 July 2014
By 
Leslie Gardner (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Praise Of Love (Paperback)
exploring this just before marriage of my sister, i realised how apt this book is - how much our knowing each other is a matter of the moment we meet, and the confluence of space and time, and perception of there being someone else apart from ourself out there ... i ended up reading a portion at her wedding! accessible and allusive writing, it is not dry philosophy by any means but gets across several essential ideas of this important philosopher - one of the most important of our time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In Praise of In Praise of, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Praise Of Love (Paperback)
Loved it, Badiou can be difficult to read but the interview form here worked very well. I love his ideas particularly his thoughts on risk in love and that internet dating sites falsely try to make us feel that there can be love without risk.

The notion of love being a value that we take build and take forward from a first significant encounter or moment was surprising as I wouldn't have expected him to hold up romantic love as a starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Praise Of Love (Kindle Edition)
Great read on a topic under discussed, highly recommend it for a refreshing take on love and the need to innovate with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars highly abstruse, very French - and I found it rather disappointing, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Praise Of Love (Paperback)
This short book (104pp in fact, not the 256pp advertised in the Amazon product description) takes the form of a Q and A on love and associated topics (politics, art) between a French journalist and a French philosopher.

The jacket promises that 'a figure like Plato walks here among us'. But this is not much like Plato (who manages to tell us both an exciting myth about love and develop a theory that can still inspire exciting modern commentary, for example in the short book Love and Death by Patrick Suskind).

Badiou does have a theory: love is the product of chance (he is scornful about doing research to prepare for love through dating agencies), which is then however harnessed through an 'event' into a 'Two Scene' in which we become aware of the otherness of another person. The enemy of this process being the selfishness inherent within ourselves. Love is intrinsically eternal refocussed from time to time through 'points' in our lives, as for instance if we have children with someone we love. Love isn't that much like politics, which is all about enemies (people you wouldn't be prepared to cede power to following a democratic election) nor yet religions, which try to harness the emotions of love for their own ends. Beckett is a great writer about love and its survival into old age.

While it's possible to summarise this theory - and I would say it's worth thinking about (a bit) - I'm not sure it's worth working through this text to get at the ideas. It's written in a highly abstruse style, a long way from empirical experience, and a work that clearly lies in the French rather than the Anglo-Saxon philosophical tradition. I'd say: try Plato's Symposium - or Suskind's book - for preference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Praise Of Love
In Praise Of Love by Nicolas Truong (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews