Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant exposé
The thousands of pieces of evidence that Curtis has amassed and structured into this remarkably coherent book, present a convincing picture of a country that has been (and continues to be) put at risk through the machinations of unseen and unaccountable people working for secret organisations, whose motives and strategies are as opaque as they are questionable. Yet, even...
Published on 12 July 2012 by Chris J. Newman

versus
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting information, tedious style
There is a lot of interesting, frequently blood-curdling information about British (and American) dealings with some awful political and religious groups, but the writing style has two main problems: 1) the author knew his conclusion before making his case, and thus everything is seen from this biased perspective - you don't feel like you're getting the whole story; and...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Duncan Armstrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dirty tricks department, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Curtis again offers a run-down of the various ways the UK state has ill-served its own people ( 7/7) and what is, one supposes for want of a better word, called "democracy" - to be pronounced in a strong Texan accent, in honour of the late president Dubya.I say "state" since the mandarins collude with the politicians, ideologists and spin-doctors to hide the unpleasant truth that the UK has supported, protected and continues to support the main sponsors of jihadism. The role of the Saudis is virtually never allowed to surface in our media; nor that of the Pakistani regimes from Benazir Bhutto ( well, from Zia) to the present.The ritual bleat from Mr Cameron regarding Pakistan's mixed, shall we say, response to militant Islamists no doubt provides a moment's tv infotainment, but the revelations in Curtis's book show how "our" chaps have nothing to learn in double-talk from, say, the Muslim Brotherhood, whose activities down the years and across different countries, including the UK, are analysed in this book.I did not find the book quite as flowing as others by Curtis, and a full annotated bibliography would be useful in a second edition. As in Unpeople and Web of Deceit by the same author, however, the muck-raking is timely, revealing and well-put together. One hopes that many young subjects of Her Majesty will read this account , and perhaps conclude that most of us do not actually have a lot in common with the Saudi monarchy, despite the fawning assertion of the FCO in a 2005 document Curtis cites but which did not get the attention from our press that it merited.No more than the Strategic defence review which Blair designed to justify "humanitarian interventionism"; nor the 2007 projection of our energy needs. Finally, as Greenspan so unwisely remarked, it is about oil, of course.And about both our nostalgia for empire and our junior partnership status with the MegaPower.The image of Blair as Bush's poodle was perhaps vulgar, superficial and a little flippant, but it encapsulated a healthy popular insight.In case any reader should conclude from this comment that Curtis downplays the UK role in the genesis and persistence of jihadism , I must say that, on the contrary, he emphasises how large, multi-facetted and perverse our part has been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be a wake-up call to every British subject!, 13 April 2014
By 
Socrates (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam (Paperback)
This should be a wake-up call to every British subject! (I hesitate to use the word citizen).
If half of what Mark Curtis has written is true then we are in real trouble. It least we can now understand why every Judeo-Christian value has been quenched from our society by those who, instead of representing us, have taken power over us and are using an ideological strategy that has been hidden for many years. Not any more. 911 and 7/7 are just the tip of an iceberg . . .
Buy one for your own study shelf and buy a second to give away . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two faced Tories ( and Labour) sitting sozzled in their Mayfair club deciding which Arab du jour is to be killed, sick scum, 28 April 2014
By 
C. duffy "godless red" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam (Paperback)
Two faced Tories ( and Labour) sitting sozzled in their Mayfair club deciding which Arab du jour is to be killed, sick scum.

Great Imperialist tradition of sitting round drawing up kill lists yet presenting themselves as impartial benevolent disinterested party.
Anybody familiar with the workings of British counter insurgency practices will be all too familiar with the Brits publicly fighting one side when in actual fact helping both warring factions to kill each other, sick degenerate no-neck chinless wonders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and enjoyable but confusing towards the end., 4 Aug 2010
By 
J. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was informative and enjoyable but confusing towards the end because Mark Curtis failed to distinguish between Islamists who were in power and those who were in opposition. This distinction is important when discussing the current situation in the Middle East where Islamists are often in opposition to repressive governments. In the case of Saudi Arabia it is necessary to clarify which groups have the power and why Islamist groups oppose the government.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Read, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. H. Shalet (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I felt quite sick at times reading this, with the depths that Western (esp British) complicity in all this chicanery revealed, and worse.
The recent and unfolding events in Tunisia and Eygpt at least offer us the prospect of a break from all this.

This is the kind of book that should be on the A-level list, but I doubt if it ever will. Still one never knows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hear its very good :), 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam (Paperback)
Got this for my dad on fathers day, He loves it and said it is very gripping and truthful,

Not sure what else I can say, I havent personally read it, but the rest of the reviews speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Dr Gautam Sen "Tilak" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Excellent exposé of official British sponsorship of Islamic terror for sordid and short-sighted gains. And it is all ending in tears, with much worse to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant political book to read, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam (Paperback)
It makes you understdand the politics in the area of the Middle East and how Britain has always been involved and shaping this area of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One should not miss, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam (Paperback)
It is an informative book with a document support of all articles, and it explores a lot of grey areas in the recent history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Documented historical facts about terror, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam (Paperback)
Excellent and a must read about the relationship between the Muslim Brothers and its terrorists affiliates with the the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam
Secret Affairs: Britain's Collusion with Radical Islam by Mark Curtis (Paperback - 22 Mar 2012)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews