Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart of darkness
FOr anyone with even a passing interest in crime fiction, David Peace's Red Riding quartet is essential reading. Set in Yorkshire throughout the seventies and eighties, Peace balances the case of the Yorkshire Ripper with the theme of police corruption. Not cheerful stuff then, but fantastically crafted and well observed.
All four books are violent and disturbing...
Published on 7 July 2004 by gramp-central-station

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bold and imaginative but does it work?
The fourth novel in Peace's Red Riding Quartet is every bit as violent, as demanding and as elusive as the first three. Longer than the first three novels in the set, the pace is somewhat slower and much is set in the past as the three protagonists reflect on their own involvement in the disappearances of young girls in the Leeds area. Stylish and bold, the book conjures...
Published on 20 May 2009 by b


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's grim up North!, 6 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Wesley H. Winegarden "WH Winegarden" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
If you are searching for a novel that will make you feel good, then I advise you keep searching. But, if a grim protrayal of police corruption, the violence of society or the evil that men do is more your thing than this is the book for you. Written by one of England's greatest working writers, this is a novel that you will devour quickly, but which will stay in your mind for ages.

A word of warning though... readers may want to check out the first half of Peace's Red Riding quartet (1973,1977) first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very dark,but excellent,gripping read., 8 April 2009
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
This is a disturbing,but gripping read,which is difficult to put down.As with the other novels in the trilogy,they are based on the Yorkshire Ripper Murders and convey the fear which was pervasive at the time,when no woman dared go out unaccompanied after dark.
Although fiction,it is so convincing that it reads as though it were fact and makes you question the actions and motives of the police at the time.
It is a page-turner,which uses repetitive language to build up the increasing tension.It does not let you go!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you read this before it's on the telly, 4 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the first three books were overly cyrptic, but it turns out that you really need to read all four to know what's going on. As with all the other in the quartet it's super compelling and well written. All the loose ends are tied up, reasons for all the stuff in the first three books is explained and the reader can finally go away satisfied.

So in short, stick with all four books, read them close together and then settle down to watch the channel 4 series in the new year - about march i think, so get reading!

Fluffy Little Kitten in Fluffy Little Kitten Falls Over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wolf's at the Door, 30 Jan 2009
By 
avl06 (The Village) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
This is stunning. The culmination of the Red Riding Quartet, this gives you most of the answers, though you have to work at them, and nothing is neat and tidy. I read straight through in one sitting, and now I want to reread the four! A remarkable, sustained achievement. A landmark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As bad decisions go......, 17 Jan 2011
By 
M. J. Nash (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
I watched the TV adaptation of these books and thoroughly enjoyed them (especially Sean Bean, and I normally avoid anything with him in it) so based on this, and the premise that a TV or film adaptation will cut swathes of interesting and enjoyable stuff out in order to fit the story into a broadcast time frame I bought all 4 of the quartet in one go.

What a dreadful mistake.

I read them one after the other, hoping that the books would pick up and that the story would get better - my hopes were in vain, these are, in my opinion, awful pieces of literature, turgid, repetitive, obscene, cliched, and poorly plotted jumping all over the shop.

I wish I could erase the memory of these books, but I can't.

If I could get away with awarding no stars I would - get the DVD of the TV serial instead, it's much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars thank god for the TV series, 2 May 2009
By 
D. J. Hards "Big D" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
I purchased the 4 "Red Riding" books on the basis of having watched the TV series and then wondered why I had bothered. The story line is shocking in that it is only too believable, and the writer does not sanitize events at all, or tie up loose ends which is to his credit. However, his prose style makes the plotlines very difficult to follow in places. In particular the gimmick of having different charactors "speak" in first person in the same book is unnecessarily confusing and makes me loath to ever again read anything by this writer. To summarise: read all four books or none and they might make sense; great and frightening story; don't expect a happy ending; shame about the writing style; Ellroy he is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars overly repetitive gtratuitously violent nonsense, 4 April 2010
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
This is a review of the whole quartet rather than this single book. Read all four books on holiday a few months ago. Honestly wish I hadn't bothered. There was the potential for greatness here - a lot of interesting fairly ground-breaking ideas in fiction but taken as a whole I found it all very unsatisfying. At the end of the quartet the death toll is tens of people, trying to figure out and remember who killed who is a struggle. The repetitive violence justs ends up getting tedious. Like a lot of recent books there is the gratuitous anal rape scene somewhere in the middle of these books which just seems a lazy way to make them more gritty. There are absolutely no sympathetic characters in these books which makes them really harsh for the reader. The writing style seems to get lazier and lazier towards the end of the quartet with themes and crimes being repeated. At the end of reading all four I felt very gloomy and wish I hadn't bothered: they are literally just a catalogue of misery. I wish the author had given more thought to the reader and their needs when reading - it felt more like an ego-trip for the author - how gritty can I make this, how much violnce can I use to shock, how can I use narrative to confuse?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bewildering and obtuse, 24 May 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Stevens "Arty lad" (Poole, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
I bought the whole Red Riding set having watched the TV drama, as there were many unanswered questions in what seemed like a fascinating tale. I remain unlightened. The story jumps about so much in each book, from one year to another, that it is virtually impossible to remember which year you are in. Characters are so abundant, and are generally called Bob anyway, that the plots become increasingly bewildering and obtuse. The last book, 1983, is an attempt to make sense of the whole mess, but by this time Peace has resorted to so much copying and pasting whole pages, and writing phrases that bear no meaning to anybody, that I started to regret reading one word of the whole saga. The main story held so much potential for a gripping thriller, but there is so much pretension in the way that Peace has chosen to write it that I defy anybody to actually summarise what it was all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Red Riding Quartet, 27 Mar 2009
This review is from: Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) (Paperback)
Unreadable. Too much 'stream of conciousness' and the repetitive use of the 'F' word was tedious. It was never obvious which character was actually talking, and as far as I am concerned it might just as well have been written in Japanese. I am very suspicious of the rave reviews. Give me Cormac McCarthy, Paul Auster, Annie Proulx, or Murakami any time. I binned all four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet)
Red Riding Nineteen Eighty Three (Red Riding Quartet) by David Peace (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
6.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews