Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller for skiers and non skiers alike
If you have ever had the good fortune to holiday in Chamonix, this book is part thriller, part reminisce about the time you spent there. However read with no prior knowledge of the place, this book would still not disappoint. The landscape and environment are beautifully described, whilst at the same time revealing the dark underbelly of the seasonnaire's life. The main...
Published on 16 Nov 2007 by Mrs. Angela Clark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tried to read this and didn't succeed
I will come back to this, it didn't float my boat or skis. I found it hard to concentrate on the book and this may be the one time I wish I was reading a paper back version.
Published 16 months ago by FortyNine and Seven Eighths


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much padding and not a lot of story, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cham (Paperback)
Chamonix is a wonderful place and it's clearly left an impression on the author. I commend his efforts at writing a novel which is based in what is a mecca for extreme alpinism and about some of the characters that would inhabit this landscape.

However, this particular attempt is way too slow and uses way too much pointless padding to ever really capture the imagination (just because you can write two or three pages on how nice a beer tastes, or how a bunch of people cook a chicken, doesn't mean you should). The background story behind Itchy's life and reasons for being the person he has become are interesting enough, but are padded out to the extent that you eventually find yourself not caring anymore. The sub-plot of the serial rapist stalking the town could have been very interesting, but the way that particular story unfolds (and particularly it's ending - which is absolutely laughable by the way) makes it no more than a vaguely interesting aside which if it was missing from the book altogether would not really have affected the story at all. I was also less than impressed with the constant insertion of prose made to appear that they were from other authors, which although were not bad little tales, detracted from the story and prevented the book from gathering momentum.

I was left with the impression that the author took a pretty thin story and tried to pad it out so that he could have an opportunity to be a little bit clever with his ideas about what/why people become seasonnaires' and write some pretty descriptions of a place he clearly loves. Not a bad idea, just very poorly executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nonentities mythologised in purple prose, 5 Feb 2010
This review is from: Cham (Paperback)
This is a master class in bad writing which at times is hilarious, at others just makes you want to skip whole chunks. The five pages on people cooking and eating a chicken, for example - "The roast potatoes are underwhelming, possibly a bit too much oil was used, or they might have needed to cook a bit longer to crisp up". How long would you stay awake if someone came round to your house talking like that? Meanwhile humdrum experiences such as having a drink, going to a karaoke bar and chatting someone up are described in a way that would be over the top if it was about a life or death battle in the Afghan war. I have given the book two stars because at least it is set in Chamonix - a great alpine town in an amazing setting, inhabited and visited by perfectly pleasant people and the occasional psychopath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars long winded, 25 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cham (Kindle Edition)
Well this was not my kind of thing at all. I found it extremely long winded. And the added classical passages..... what was all that about. I found it very slow going. If you want a fast paced page turner this is not the book for you. Might be a while before i try anything from this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A UNIQUE CLASSIC, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Citi "Book Scout" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cham. Jonathan Trigell (Paperback)
How often do you find two incompatible worlds collide in one? Psychopathy and mountains - that's what you'll find in CHAM. A brilliantly realized portrait of a unique place, the mecca of free/extreme skiing, which, here, is haunted by a character every bit as chilling as the life-threatening peaks and crevices that lurk above the town.

Jonathan Trigell is a first-class writer whose first novel has already been made into a movie. And it seems like he's still just warming up. The FT - no-nonsense arbiter of fiction - have rightly praised him. He absorbs you with this unusual tale, beautifully written, taking you into a world and even an underworld where you'd never normally get to go...

I can't personally recommend the book highly enough. Do yourself a favour. Get it now. It's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cham, 21 April 2012
By 
N. Crane (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cham (Kindle Edition)
Personally I thought this was rubbish and I gave up less than half way through it, turgid I think describes it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Verbiage.., 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Cham. Jonathan Trigell (Paperback)
Complete and utter drivel. Appears to have been written in the knowledge that the title alone would sell the book. Little thought seems to have gone into the narrative which revolves around death and rape as a right of passage set against the back-drop of the pristine mountains. The constant use of superlatives is frankly irritating and quite why lengthy and entirely unconnected quotes from Byron et al are included is beyond me, - except perhaps to highlight the fact that the author has a degree in English Lit. Shame he couldn't have used it to more effect in editing out the verbiage and constructing a more cohesive and believable tale about the search for redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cham. Jonathan Trigell
Cham. Jonathan Trigell by Jonathan Trigell (Paperback - 10 July 2008)
5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews