Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful once you work out how its structured
I bought this as it was recommended to me (I'm studying translation into English). It is not immediately obvious how to use it but once you work out the structure it is a very useful reference book when writing in English.
Published 15 months ago by Beckyboots

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its all on the internet if you really want it
Its okay, some basic grammar stuff, but lets be honest, most of this information is easily accessible on the internet
Published 4 months ago by GG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful once you work out how its structured, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
I bought this as it was recommended to me (I'm studying translation into English). It is not immediately obvious how to use it but once you work out the structure it is a very useful reference book when writing in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reference guide, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
Indispensable if you're writing for a living and lots of fun even if you're not. Book was produced as the house style guide for writers at the Economist. Covers things like when to use an Oxford Comma or when to hyphenate and what to capitalise, etc.

I think I'll be referring to it for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recommended guide for editors, 8 Sep 2012
By 
G. Gilpin "Geoff" (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
I've subscribed to The Economist for many years. One of the things I admire is the care taken to achieve "house style". So when I got the job of editing our pensioners' newsletter I wanted some handy reference book that would help achieve literary consistency etc. The Style Guide fulfills this role admirably. Part 1 - the essence of style - is the section that I find most useful, rather less so parts 2 and 3 (American vs British English and the reference section). It can be a bit difficult to find something (when you know it's in there) so the overall index is helpful.

(And some of the entries are quite humerous.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for work, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
Needed to buy this for a client's work - polishing website text. It's set out clearly, not too bogged down in unnecessary waffle and is perfect for my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you take on editor duties!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
Having been subject to a progressive 70's education in the UK and schooling in the rural US I needed some reassurance when taking up duties as editor of a specialist medical society newsletter.

Definitely fulfills its role. Good guidance for clear writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
Make no mistake, most people could improve their writing no end by following the rules in this guide. On the other hand "The Economist" is one of the most heavily edited English-language newspapers. One of the reasons for that is to make sure that the English is clear for an international readership not all of which has English as a mother-tongue. Consequently this guide has a number of idiosyncrasies. Arguably the Chicago Manual of Style is the better source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
I use this all the time when producing reports for work - I couldn't get by without it now and am considering getting another copy for home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class guide, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
This is a fully comprehensive, excellent guide for any editor or copy editor. It is written with clarity and you'll find a refreshing sense of humour within many of the explanations and examples. It takes pride of place among my various guides, alongside the invaluable ODWE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its all on the internet if you really want it, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
Its okay, some basic grammar stuff, but lets be honest, most of this information is easily accessible on the internet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist Style Guide (Paperback)
Nobody, person ou newspaper, institution ou publishing house, has never succeded to publish, as a book of style, a masterpiece like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Economist Style Guide
The Economist Style Guide by The Economist (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
10.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews