Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommon Sense - a refreshing read, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thoroughly refreshing and energising read for anyone wondering why modern corporate life leaves them occasionally (or even frequently) drained and vexed. It is full of truths which are delightful in their simplicity and unorthodoxy. It points the way to leading a business life which is simpler, more truthful and more rewarding.

I found the essay-style of the book something that was easy to dip into rather than follow sequntially from cover to cover. And it is definitely a book I will keep to hand to dip back into when I am looking for insight and clarity.

Bravo Messrs Goddard and Eccles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, challenging and enjoyable!, 24 Oct. 2012
What a read!
Goddard and Eccles have done something wonderful - they have brought together all those wonderful questions we are supposed to ask when we are in the office, but only come to us on those famous Sunday mornings under the shower. It is inspiring and fresh and well packaged: I loved the short chapter structure - it always give you the chance and joy to do one more.
If you are looking for more exciting board room conversations, let Goddard and Eccles take you by the hand and share this book with your colleagues.

Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommon Sense, Common Nonsense, 28 May 2012
By 
Trevor B. Lee (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Uncommonly sensible, uncommonly readable and it would be nonsense not to read the inspiring thoughts of Jules Goddard and Tony Eccles. They will have you question so much of what is accepted as management `best practice' (even that very concept). That many of the ideas have been adopted by such organisations as Volvo, Prudential, BG Group and Danone just underlines their practicality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business Brains, 9 Oct. 2012
I came to this book a Business Phobic and Left it a Wannabe entrepreneur. Far from a dry and academic tombe, it is a collection of wise and pithy pointers that apply to Life as much as to Business. The kind of thing that once you've read it you can continue to dip back into for Bite sized chunks of meaty advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great insights into business and human behaviour, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book. A thoughtful and engaging set of observations, based on many years of working with real businesses. Really seeks to identify and understand what makes successful businesses tick and what works in terms of motivating people and creating the right environment and atmosphere for successful risk taking and innovation to occur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommon Sense:Common Nonsense, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. A. Q. Kopp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goddard and Eccles have produced a refreshing and challenging call to look critically at the commonly accepted. Their lucid points made in a sequence of accessible short essays are a wonderful antidote to the "me too" herd thinking we are so often exposed to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
Carl Rodgers "carlbyronrodgers" (Zurich,Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A no nonsense ,clear, concise and highly entertaining book.
A book you will not only want to read cover to cover but also dip into .
A Must for all mangers and people who find themselves constantly being mugged by mediocracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommon sense, common nonsense, 20 Oct. 2012
Excellent book. A real page turner. Blows away all the mental cobwebs and gives you practical insights to get ahead of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncommon Sense, Common Nonsense: Why some organisations consistently outperform others
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews