Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant statistical snapshot of the world
This is the third year I've bought the Pocket World in Figures.
It's as good as ever - but still not quite perfect. Of the one typo and three errors I've spotted this time, one error is repeated year after year (reporting that the UK rail network is almost as large as France's).
This book is clearly laid out and packed with fascinating and relevant facts and...
Published 23 months ago by DC10

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but with deficiencies
A concise but detailed information about the various countries and the various domains of the economic life.
However , I was disappointed when I found the abolition of Cyprus in the catalogue of the analytical presentation of each country's date. Why this treatment for a EU country?
Published 14 months ago by Andreas Stylianides


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant statistical snapshot of the world, 6 Sep 2012
By 
DC10 (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
This is the third year I've bought the Pocket World in Figures.
It's as good as ever - but still not quite perfect. Of the one typo and three errors I've spotted this time, one error is repeated year after year (reporting that the UK rail network is almost as large as France's).
This book is clearly laid out and packed with fascinating and relevant facts and figures. As with The Economist magazine itself, there's no padding or fluff.
It's great for armchair economists and is thoroughly recommended for anyone interested in country comparisons and our world.
Hardback, 256 pages, 6.59 and post free - it's also a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a useful pocket snapshot, 15 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Parkin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
Ordered this book using Amazon Prime late Saturday and received it by 1p.m Monday-excellent service.
The staff appear to have made a determined effort to restore the Pocket World in Figures to being a respected publication and I would say they are 95% successful and are to be commended.
A few errors/omissions remain however. As my fellow reviewer D.Carter has pointed out, the railway mileage (or should that be kilometerage?) for the U.K is about double the actual,repeating the error of previous editions.
I would note the following:- p.36 Iran is missing from table of Official reserves, should be 22nd with $109.7 billion.Iran is also absent from manufacturing output table p.47, should be in 30th place with $46 billion.
Services table p.47 should include New Zealand in 44th position with $100 billion and Nigeria 51st place with $54 billion.
Air Travel-Canada missing from passenger-km per year on p.74. should be about 12th with c90 billion.
Tourist arrivals p.77 has Indonesia in 2nd place with 68,433,000. A tenth of that figure is more likely.
Mobile phones per capita p.92 missing Russia,should be 11th with 166.3.
The figures for car production on p.73 are I believe understated. Google OICA for a different table.
Likewise car ownership understates America's position especially as so many of it's citizens drive pickup trucks. Try Wikipedia listings.
No estimate of aid received by Israel P.44 is attempted. It would show Israel as being in the top 5 in total as well as per capita.
The Economist Big Mac index on p37. The product may be fairly standard in every country, but is the price paid adjusted for widely different inputs such as sales taxes, property rents and local wages to be a truly accurate measure of exchange rate over/under evaluations?
Finally internet host figures are are a waste of valuable space as they vastly overstate the U.S.

All in all a creditable effort which only requires that litte extra care to become an outstanding reference book.Recommended.

On a personal level I have difficulty believing the figures on p.71 for average distance travelled per car. Does a Tunisian driver really tavel 1,000 km further than an American or an Indian 8,000 more than a Briton?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is says on the tin, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
This is an authoritative collection of basic statistics, and not only purely economic ones. Small enough to keep in your briefcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I expected, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
All the world figures up to date in hard cover. It was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect for culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The World in Detail in your Pocket, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
An excellent summary of easy to access world and individual country facts in a copact format. Useful as a portable or office reference. The social facts - drinking, smoking, crime, prison population, also add dimension to the basic dry statistics.
The economics of each country, and of the world, are really useful, as trends can be noticed and conclusions and predictions made.
Well worth the money. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but with deficiencies, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
A concise but detailed information about the various countries and the various domains of the economic life.
However , I was disappointed when I found the abolition of Cyprus in the catalogue of the analytical presentation of each country's date. Why this treatment for a EU country?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 11 May 2013
By 
Mrs. S. I. M. Hodge (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
I buy this every year and give away the older ones to friends and family. For anyone who'd interested in facts and figures it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent info, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Sue Smith (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
I Buy this every year for my husband - he finds the facts fascinating and bores his students for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't really changed the scope of it's entries to reflect new World Economic concerns, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 (Hardcover)
This booklet is invaluable for the information it contains. However with the global concerns about the debt levels of Countries you would have thought that this would have been in the information for each country and it is not.
So it's not worth buying if you have an edition for the last 10 years as I don't think the information will have changed all that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013
The Economist: Pocket World in Figures 2013 by The Economist (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews