Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Answer
A comprehensive account of the development of English spelling over the past thousand years that explains exactly what happened and why. A key text for anyone teaching English, and of great interest to anyone who ever wondered why it is as it is. Brilliant scholarship, clear explanation - a very important book indeed, in fact one of the most important ever written about...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. J. J. Bald

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe for the academic.
Found it very interesting at first but become bored and didn's finish it. Those who are interested in an in depth history in the development of the english language and its spelling will find it very interesting no doubt.
Published 19 months ago by Mr K Catlow


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Answer, 30 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. J. J. Bald (Linton, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A comprehensive account of the development of English spelling over the past thousand years that explains exactly what happened and why. A key text for anyone teaching English, and of great interest to anyone who ever wondered why it is as it is. Brilliant scholarship, clear explanation - a very important book indeed, in fact one of the most important ever written about the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real eye-opener of a book. Speaking and writing the language every day means you're thinking more about what
you're expressing rather than how you're expressing it. Once you start reading this book it really is hard to put down. Behind the (odd and quirky) spelling of a lot of words the author gives fascinating and logical reasons why certain words are spelt the way they are. Not only the spelling but also the pronunciation. If you are at all interested in the English language buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all the fault of the French..., 24 Sep 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
OK it's not totally the fault of the French, but 1066 had a lot to do with how English spelling has evolved over time as have many other languages. Linguist David Crystal explores the evolution of English spelling in a remarkably easy to follow fashion with good humour and loads of examples and anecdotes. My one criticism is that inevitably, given the size of the task, this is quite a short volume and the bibliography for further reading is a tad sparse as well, so if you are already "into" language and spelling I'm not sure there is much that will be new to you here but for the casual reader this is a good introduction to the subject and is well worth a dip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Many Shades of English Spelling Crystal-Cleared!, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Annie Martirosyan "Annie" (Armenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When Professor David Crystal's new book "Spell It Out: the Singular Story of English Spelling" came out on 6 September 2012, a few weeks later it was a bestseller on Amazon, ahead of the erotic trilogy "The Fifty Shades of Grey". Cooking. Spelling. Sex. That was the order. English spelling sexier than sex! Could it have ever occurred to the Anglo-Saxon bards that we would come to this?

"Spell It Out" is more than a reader-friendly, comprehensible and comprehensive story of the history and evolvement of English spelling - Professor Crystal gives practical advice in Teaching Appendix as well as throughout the book. Memorising random lists of difficult words is not the solution as practice over ages has shown. The author believes and demonstrates that we need a linguistic take on getting to know the system which is not as bizarre and unassailable as popularly condemned; explaining is key, so is acquainting children with basic etymology at an early age. Professor Crystal is brilliantly convincing: "The story of the English writing system is so intriguing, and the histories behind individual words so fascinating, that anyone who dares to treat spelling as an adventure will find the journey rewarding."

In "Spell It Out", the many shades of English spelling are accurately examined, exposed, and entertainingly explained. And who but David Crystal could make English spelling more appealing and seductive a subject than "the office between the sheets"!

How many stars for this book? As many as there are spelling rules (and exceptions) in English!

For my full review see HuffPost UK Culture blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bravely facing a daunting task . . ., 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a TEFL teacher in Portugal, I have always sympathized with students in their attempts to cope with the intricacies (or eccentricities) of English spelling. Here is a worthy attempt to throw light on a seemingly unfathomable aspect of the English language, a daunting task from which most of us would run a mile. This book is beautifully written, clear, concise and full of valuable nuggets of information. (I therefore disagree totally with the one-star reviewer.) Indeed, Prof. Crystal succeeds admirably in another daunting task, namely that of avoiding overly academic 'edubabble' while never once being guilty of condescension.

I have only one criticism and one 'niggle'. The criticism is that I was always waiting in vain for a chapter on the lack of diacritics, i.e. accents, in English. In Portuguese, whenever the stress is anywhere other than on the penultimate syllable, this is indicated by an accent. Hence 'cágado' (tortoise)is very different from 'cagado' (taboo: 'covered in excrement'). Meanwhile, students of English are left unaided to cope not only with the vagaries of English spelling but its vagaries of stress, e.g. 'famous/infamous'; 'advert/
advertisement'. In a book purporting to deal with the oddities of English written forms, this seems to me to be an omission. One may argue that diacritics do not actually affect spelling. But this to ignore the fact that the purpose of writing is essentially (with the possible exception of essay-writing for exams) to communicate something that will be read, either aloud or silently. Either way, in English a mystifying arrangement of letters is compounded by a total lack of information regarding syllable stress.

Oh yes, my niggle. I take issue with Prof. Crystal when he suggests that the medial consonant in the word 'government' is never pronounced, either in formal or informal speech. I would contend that, albeit almost mute, the medial 'n' is present and that few 'good' speakers would say 'govemment'. Just as I can always tell the difference between 'I drive' and 'I'd drive'.

Despite all this, I would recommend Prof. Crystal's book to all those interested in the English language, a recommendation I would extend to all his other books. (And in support of that, I can now spell 'recommend'!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah! That's why it's spelled that way..., 27 May 2013
An excellent book about English spelling.

If you've ever wondered why certain words are spelled a certain way, why similar words have different arrangements, and why similar sounding words are spelled differently, David Crystal makes it clear by explaining word origins.

A complex subject has been turned into an easy read, with short, snappy chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book really interesting if perhaps a little long-winded in places. Once the history and background to some of our odd seeming spellings has been explained, then correct spelling falls into place naturally. Should be required reading for all primary school teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good strategy for learning and teaching, 29 Sep 2012
Spell it Out- for me it starts well, then gets a bit long-winded but finishes with with some top advice which made the whole read worthwhile. The book is not as entertaining as Prof David Crystal's excellent The Story of English in 100 Words and I am sure a reader who has a knowledge of phonetics would find it easier going (I haven't). That said, I really admired the way David Crystal discusses the influence of the Internet and globalisation- not at all defensive but he suggests we do need to rise to the challenge. Considering young people he says:

"These 'natives' of the Internet have to learn to cope with an online orthographic diversity that is much greater than anything older people ever experienced on the printed page. Faced with a bewildering array of orthographic choices, they have to develop confidence to make the right decisions for the written tasks they need to complete".

The book finishes with two excellent appendices which offer some good advice to teachers of English; learning to spell is helped by putting words in context, by frequency of occurrence and within 'word-families'. Finally the author suggests giving each child a thesaurus and a dictionary- great idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Language Lover's Delight, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spell It Out: The singular story of English spelling (Paperback)
This book manages to pull together so many different aspects about how spelling has developed, giving a coherent, lucid overview of the reasons why English looks like it does. Fascinating, useful and written by an expert who has a gift for communicating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Crystal on language is always worth reading, and this book is no exception. His writing is clear, entertaining and articulate, and goes very thoroughly into the history of written English. His arguments are most convincing, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spell It Out: The singular story of English spelling
Spell It Out: The singular story of English spelling by David Crystal (Paperback - 19 Sep 2013)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews