Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting
nice collection of articles from the magazine, makes interesting reading and can be read in short bursts as its not one long tome...
Published 7 months ago by S. Zam

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good
The articles on physics and cosmology were excellent and I would have liked more of the same. I was disappointed that about half of the book was given over to the index and credits.
Published 5 months ago by Andy Parkin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (Paperback)
nice collection of articles from the magazine, makes interesting reading and can be read in short bursts as its not one long tome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The articles on physics and cosmology were excellent and I would have liked more of the same. I was disappointed that about half of the book was given over to the index and credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting grouping of diverse subject matter, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. G. Saxby (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (Paperback)
The varied subjects of these essays do to some extent stretch the concept of 'nothing' a little; but every one is interesting. I went through the whole book at a single (very much protracted) sitting. No wonder it reached the best seller lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is very little indeed, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (Paperback)
I was quite disappointed by this issue from the New Scientist. I expect cutting edge from the magazine but instead got old news - most of which is available on w3, allbeit in slightly different form. Certainly , I learned some new things - and this made reading the book worth the time, however, as a whole, although each article was well enough presented, I would categorize it as a mediocre effort and put the blame on the editors not the individual authors.
Sorry guys!

George F. Hart, Professor emeritus, LSU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing, 20 May 2014
By 
Blyth (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a kind of readers digest dumbed down entry level and best avoided. I think it has been written for the North American market as the examples given are like, "imagine you are walking along a street in Chicargo".

There's a section on vestigial organs which concludes with something along the lines that some of these organs may be "waiting for a role". So evolution has developed these organs in advance of a need? Certainly not orthodox Darwinian evolution.

And other such nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im a science nerd, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (Paperback)
Great to pick up and put down, interesting if not querky. Essential reading for those who love science and understand it or for those who want something different to read whilst learning something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good explanations of a range of scientific topics, 17 Feb 2014
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A set of well-explained essays on science topics loosely (and in some cases closely) connected to the concept of nothing, ranging from biology and medicine to maths and cosmology. You do not need to be an expert to understand them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (Paperback)
Very fascinating read, you can learn a lot from this little book.
You need to know much more about nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than Just Nothing!, 13 July 2014
By 
D. B. Horsfall (South Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As expected from New Scientist, it is intriguing, thought provoking and yet remains an interesting read for anyone interested in the off beat or quirky side of science
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing, 31 May 2014
By 
murph011 (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good ebook covering a range of topics that are not usually covered. Found the topics to be thought provoking and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews