Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just for football fans...
Let me start by saying I have no interest in football... but don't let that put you off this absolutely brilliant book. If nothing else, this book gives justification to all those late drunken nights in the pub where we all have our best ideas.

Up Pohnpai is a fascinating read both funny and touching, it is truly mind boggling what Paul and Matt manage to...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by jerm

versus
3 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Much of this is untrue.
A great deal of what is said is pure exaggeration if not patently false. But, well, never let the facts get in the way of a good story.

1. Pohnpei is not a country. It is one of four states of the Federated States of Micronesia (which is a country). Pohnpei has never created any system to naturalize foreigners as citizens and has never permitted a foreign...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by BeenThere


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just for football fans..., 4 Mar 2012
Let me start by saying I have no interest in football... but don't let that put you off this absolutely brilliant book. If nothing else, this book gives justification to all those late drunken nights in the pub where we all have our best ideas.

Up Pohnpai is a fascinating read both funny and touching, it is truly mind boggling what Paul and Matt manage to achieve and the story of the Pohnpai football team will hold you captivated as you journey from toad infested pitches to the bright lights of Guam's polished football field of dreams.

The author's style is funny and personal and you will quickly build up a strong empathy for both the Island of Pohnpai and its future footballing stars. Although outside of my normal reading I cannot recommend this book enough so pick up a copy, sit back and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Away the lads, 27 Feb 2012
When i read an article about this in FourFourTwo magazine i thought it was a brilliant and madcap idea,having blazed through this book my initial thought was spot on,a great read not only for football fans,but travellers,and anyone who does'nt know of the football loving toad community.As a disillusioned football fan it was superb to read the 2010 World Cup Final being compared to Guam v North Mariana Islands.Funny and sometimes moving.Loved it from cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic is the only word...., 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never review books, but this book is fantastic.

Even if you don't have too much interest in football, its a story we can all relate to in some way, shape or form.

Two lads with a dream, fantastic book. Really inspiring, they've changed football for the better in Pohnpei.

Would recommend this book to anybody, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this and enjoy every page, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a funny and moving account of what sport can do for people. It's a great read even if you don't like football. It deserves to be higher in the book lists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 9 May 2012
By 
R Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picked this up on kindle after seeing Paul on Soccer AM ages ago and finally got around to reading it. Wish I'd read it much earlier as it turned out to be a cracking book detailing his attempts to bring football to Pohnpei. An enjoyable book filled with some moments of real humour and you get a real sense of his desperation at times to try and make things work.

Would recommend to those even if you didn't have a great interest in football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read, about a footballing nation I'm sure very few had ever heard of. I'm tempted to book a flight out to Pohnpei to see how the team are progressing! Just goes to show what can be achieved with hard work and a strong team spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're having a laugh!!!, 25 Feb 2012
What an amazing story ... if it was fiction you'd put it aside because 'it's too farfetched and total nonsense'! But, in fact it's a TRUE story, related with humour and charm showing what CAN be achieved with tenacity, resourcefulness and ... did I mention ... HUMOUR!!!

Well done to these two enterprising young men, to their back up team, their support network and their families ...

Treat yourself to this book ... ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational football story, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Jon Holmes "Jon Holmes" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd thoroughly recommend Up Pohnpei - it's an excellent book that's not just for sports fans. It's particularly refreshing to read about a true underdogs story on the other side of the world, and you'll learn a great deal about Micronesia too. Watson proves "the soul of football" is still out there - even if you have to go to the ends of the earth to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For humans as well as footballers, 9 Feb 2012
By 
E. R. Wyld - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not that interested in football, but after reading the first page of this book I was hooked. It's funny and great and above all a really interesting human story. Love the bit about the toads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like real life championship manager.... superb!, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first review i have ever written for anything on Amazon, i have bought countless books and other things, but thhis was the first time i was compelled to write a review. This was partly spurred on by the sour review of "Been There" all i can say is "Been there done what?" Fairly obvious you did not read the book to the detail you claim to have done.

I am an avid fan of sports, football and rugby in particular, and i love to travel and read travel books. Who hasn't had a conversation like this with their friends and done nothing about it, i scared the silent tube dwellers when i burst out laughing at ranking Montserrat even too good, the beginning of last year myself and some friends i play 5-a-side with tried to work out how we could play for them after reading an article about the desperate search for players with Montserrat heritage. When i found out that one of the guys i employed to work with me this summer had grandparents still living there and was a semi pro footballer, so i spent far too much time trying to get him to sort his papers out so he could play..... whether it happens remains to be seen.

Anyway....

The book to me is a fantastic look at the impact of sport and something that all team sports transcend and thats to create a sense of belonging to a place, a sense of community and more. It seems that the dreams you guys had, had such a positive impact on the island. Something to be immensely proud of.

The book is a genuine page turner to me, did they win? Would Brian and Joseph be ok? Who would look after the sport when you left? would Dilshan be the hero? Would Robert and Bob ever behave?

I would give it 6 stars if i could. I loved it! If you have ever tried to get Torquay United to the Champions League Final on Football Manager or just like an underdog story this is the book for you!

For the first time since i moved to London i looked forward to getting on the tube so i could read the book. So Thanks! UP POHNPEI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up Pohnpei: Leading the ultimate football underdogs to glory
Up Pohnpei: Leading the ultimate football underdogs to glory by Paul Watson (Paperback - 21 Feb 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews