Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2013
My dad, who served in the Western Desert in the Second World War, thinks this is a great book. It brought back many memories for him and also gave him lots of information about things going on at the time of which he, as a young man, was totally unaware.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I am particularly interested in 'The desert war' as my father-in-law was stationed there and he had told me a little of the horror he encountered. Having watched the BBC documentary I was drawn to the book-it hasn't disapionted it's brilliant
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Very nicely written and obviously extremely well researched, I learned much about the operation but did find it somewhat heavy going and a little repetitive at times. All in all a great book, would recommend to dedicated WW2 readers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
I was a bit unsure about this at first look but the author has told a much told story from the hollistic angle. A very good read highly recommended by me. I'm a bit of a WWII buff as my father fought in France in 1940 & 1944.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
An excellent read, delivery of product excellent.

One of the most balanced accounts of the war in the desert, recommend anyone interested in the Second World War purchase the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
A good read. This book is well written and does, as is claimed, shed new light on some aspects of the war in North Africa.
I recommend this book to all students of WW2 history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
The author examined a varied and interesting range of resources and,with his comments, has produced a fascinating history of the desert war in and around the battle of El ALAMEIN
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
A book that I have found very hard to put down and has me me think again about the second world war and the leaders that films have given me the wrong impression of.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Fascinating account of the war in the desert, bringing the campaign, its generals, and the political personalities (especially Churchill) vividly to life.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
My husband really enjoyed this book, really well written and well researched.
He found it very interesting as his Dad was in the 8th army.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse