Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to thinking
If you are like me, you find yourself very pressed for time, and books like this with lots of condensed ideas and explanations greatly appeal to me. I love books like this, which simply lay out, in diagramatic form, lots of great ideas. Then you can choose which to explore at greater length, either by further reading or simply by letting them percolate over a period of...
Published on 21 April 2011 by Adam Smith

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Source Material
This book will be extremely useful for people giving presentations (managers, consultants, teachers, lecturers etc.). The book is a one page description of a model and one page of an example of the model. The models are arranged in 4 larger categories How to Improve Yourself, Understand Yourself Better, Understand Others, Improve Others. Each category has a handful of...
Published on 19 Jun. 2011 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Source Material, 19 Jun. 2011
By 
L. Davidson (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
This book will be extremely useful for people giving presentations (managers, consultants, teachers, lecturers etc.). The book is a one page description of a model and one page of an example of the model. The models are arranged in 4 larger categories How to Improve Yourself, Understand Yourself Better, Understand Others, Improve Others. Each category has a handful of relevant models.

This is not a life changing self-help book and doesn't offer anything that you could not find in loads of other self-help books that are focused on a specific concept. What the book does offer is a simple and quick reference for those who need to pop a model into a presentation.

If you give a lot of presentation and like to use models to illustrate your points this is excellent source material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to thinking, 21 April 2011
By 
Adam Smith (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
If you are like me, you find yourself very pressed for time, and books like this with lots of condensed ideas and explanations greatly appeal to me. I love books like this, which simply lay out, in diagramatic form, lots of great ideas. Then you can choose which to explore at greater length, either by further reading or simply by letting them percolate over a period of time. And they are handy as a bluffers guide to great ideas! Not that any of us would do that sort of thing. I was very satisfied with this book, I need to think very critically in a number of areas, and am always looking for ways and methods that help me do this. Unhesitatingly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good decision, 13 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
I don't really do books, and especially not business books. I am a slow reader and getting common sense lectures from people that are better at writing books than running businesses does not seem like a good use of my time - until I came across The Decision Book. It is short, clever and full of pictures for slow readers like me!
The book is pocket sized and hard backed so easy to keep beside you for the short time it takes to digest. It includes a wide range of decision making models that will suit all types of people and help them to improve both their business and personal effectiveness. It does not tell you what to do, it simply gives you a number of ways to approach different tasks. Simples.
Written by a Swede and a Swiss it has only recently become accessible to mere mortals like me with the first English print run in Jan 2011. I can't promise it will change your life but you should feel more comfortable with the way you approach life.

The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to......models, 27 May 2011
By 
Caufrier Frederic (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
This small sized book (173 pages) covers a set of models that could fall under decision making tools (if you use a broad spectrum for that definition that is).

The models get placed under 4 basic questions:
1) How to improve yourself
2) How to understand yourself
3) How to understand others better
4) How to improve others

Some models are well known and broadly used, some are lesser known, some disappoint and some are nice surprises.

This book is a very fast read and really stripped down to the basics. The models are explained in single page format, followed up with an illustration. So as long as you don't expect detailed explanations on the models, you will love this one.

Interesting!

Contents

Instruction for use

How to improve yourself
- The Eisenhower matrix: How to work more efficiently
- The SWOT analysis: How to find the right solution
- The BCG box: How to evaluate costs and benefits
- The project portfolio matrix: How to maintain an overview
- The John Whitmore model: Am I pursuing the right goal?
- The rubber band model: How to deal with a dilemma
- The feedback model: Dealing with other's people's compliments and criticism
- The family tree model: The contacts you should maintain
- The morphological box and SCAMPER: Why you have to be structured to be creative
- The Esquire gift model: How much to spend on gifts
- The consequences model: Why it is important to make decisions promptly
- The conflict resolution model: How to resolve a conflict elegantly
- The crossroads model: So what next?

How to understand yourself
- The flow model: What makes you happy?
- The Johari window: What others know about you
- The cognitive dissonance model: Why people smoke when they know it's unhealthy
- The music matrix: What your taste in music says about you
- The unimaginable model: What do you believe in that you cannot prove?
- The Uffe Elbaek model: How to get to know yourself
- The fashion model: How we dress
- The energy model: Are you living in the here and now?
- The SuperMemo model: How to remember everything you have ever learned
- The political compass: What political parties stand for (UK model)
- The personal performance model: How to recognize whether you should change your job
- The making-of model: To determine your future, first understand your past
- The personal potential trap: Why it is better not to expect anything
- The hype cycle: how to identify the next big thing
- The subtle signals model: What your friends say about you
- The superficial knowledge model: Everything you don't need to know

How to understand others better
- The Swiss cheese model: How mistakes happen
- The Maslow pyramids: What you actually need, what you actually want
- Thinking outside the box: How to come up with brilliant ideas
- The Sinus Milieu and Bourdieu models: Where you belong
- The double-loop learning model: How to learn from your mistakes
- The AI model: What kind of discussion type are you?
- The small-world model: How small the world actually is
- The Pareto principle: Why 80 per cent of the output is achieved with 20 per cent of the input
- The long-tail model: How the internet is transforming the economy
- The Monte Carlo simulation: Why we can only approximate a definitive outcome
- The black swan model: Why your experiences don't make you any wiser
- The chasm - the diffusion model: Why everybody has an iPod
- The black box model: Why faith is replacing knowledge
- The status model: How to recognize a winner
- The prisoner's dilemma: When is it worth trusting someone?

How to improve others
- The Drexler-Sibbet team performance model: How to turn a group into a team
- The team model: Is your team up to the job?
- The gap-in-the-market model: How to recognize a bankable idea
- The Hersey-Blanchard model (situational leadership): how to successfully manage your employees
- The role-playing model: How to change your own point of view
- The result optimization model: Why the printer always breaks down just before a deadline
- The world's next top model

Now it is your turn
- Drawing lesson 1
- Drawing lesson 2
- My models

Appendix
- Bibliography
- Illustration credits
- Final note
- Thanks
- The authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous explanations for models, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
At their best, the explanations of the models "covered" in this book at too facile to allow someone to use them correctly. At worst, the narrative is completely misguided about how these models are applied correctly. This book will not teach you how to correctly apply a tool that you haven't already got familiarity with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good.. but could do better, 8 July 2013
By 
J. A. Officer "johnofficer2" (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
This is the type of book that makes me think "hey I could be an author" in the same way that George Bush made American think they also could be the top dog.

It is indeed filled with 50 models for strategic thinking... but the book is physically quite small. I understand the desire to create a pocket reference book but this could have been so much more.

There was an optortunity for the author to move past a revamped wikipedia book with lots of child like diagrams and move to adding some short but very helpful case studies that would show how people and companies have used these models to improve themselves or situations.

On the plus side the book is well made with illustrations simple and easy to follow with the book laid out in 4 categories:
How to Improve Yourself
Understand Yourself Better
Understand Others
Improve Others

This book has its uses and you wont be left thinking you have wasted you money but it really does feal like a half finished job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wikipedia is better, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
D. Harrop (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
I bought this thinking it might provide greater insight and show the relationship between some of the models in more depth. All it is is a very concise overview of what the model is about. There is no real application of the model, the book is about as basic as it gets. Wikipedia offers a far more indepth overview of these models and links to other sources.

To be frank, i found the book nicely put together but a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited Value, 14 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
Beautifully produced and excellently researched this is a handy portable pocket book of strategic ideas used over the past 70 years by strategic planners in industry and politics. It is not a book to read from cover to cover as with all reference books this would become tedious after awhile, but it serves its purpose very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite size wisdom, 24 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
Full of things you may already know but enjoy being reminded of, techniques you didn't know which make you go 'hmm, interesting...', and some ideas that make you think 'I want to try that one right now...'
Presented in a very easily digestible format of one or two pages per idea, great for reading on the train or airport, and with content most likely applicable to something that you're thinking of right now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book!, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)
Everyone in our house has thoroughly enjoyed this book. Each model is described briefly and in simple language, and most have pictures or diagrams too. Having read similar management-style books in the past, this cuts to the point quickly and gives good examples, making it far more accessible. It's really food for thought and you will find yourself returning to read about the different models time and time again. This book has become a permanent fixture of our coffee table, and I'd recommend it to anyone interested in management or different ways of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking
The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking by Mikael Krogerus (Hardcover - 6 Jan. 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews