Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph - as the Observer says
Ox-Tales is a set of four beautiful designed, highly collectible books, each themed on one of the elements. The stories are compelling, and every book bought raises money for Oxfam. What's not to like? `Air' features stories by Alexander McCall Smith, Helen Simpson, DBC Pierre, AL Kennedy, Kamila Shamsie, Beryl Bainbridge, Louise Welsh, Diran Adebayo and Helen Fielding,...
Published on 9 July 2009 by M. Ellingham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection of Short Stories
The second the the series of short story books by Oxfam to highlight their work in certain areas, and air is climate change.

Again some of the stories did not appeal, but the three i particular liked were: Goodnight children, Everywhere by Beryl Bainbridge, The Night Highway by Louise Welsh and Suddenly Dr Cox by DBC Pierre
Published 8 months ago by Half Man, Half Book


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph - as the Observer says, 9 July 2009
By 
M. Ellingham "Mark Ellingham" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ox-Tales:Air (Paperback)
Ox-Tales is a set of four beautiful designed, highly collectible books, each themed on one of the elements. The stories are compelling, and every book bought raises money for Oxfam. What's not to like? `Air' features stories by Alexander McCall Smith, Helen Simpson, DBC Pierre, AL Kennedy, Kamila Shamsie, Beryl Bainbridge, Louise Welsh, Diran Adebayo and Helen Fielding, and a poem by Vikram Seth. As The Observer says: "Ox-Tales is a triumph: four volumes of mostly outstanding fiction that would be worth reading whether or not an NGO was responsible for it... A remarkable number of Britain's top writers have contributed [so] these volumes, more than being simply a collection of short stories, act as a showcase for contemporary British fiction."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great idea from Oxfam, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
Susan Parish (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ox-Tales:Air (Paperback)
This is one of four volumes of brand new short stories by acclaimed writers, published in aid of Oxfam. I've read all four, and would like to recommend them to anyone who enjoys modern fiction, even if (like me) you don't often choose to read short stories. Some of the tales are outstanding; some of the authors were entirely new to me and impressed me so much that I now have a long wish list of their other works. They make excellent gifts, and I've bought two more sets for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short stories for every occasion, 11 July 2009
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ox-Tales:Air (Paperback)
The second in Oxfam's four books of short stories by some of the country's most famous writers. In this volume there are contribtions by Alexander McCall Smith, A L Kennedy and Helen Fielding among others. I find these little books very useful as a way of trying out authors I have not read before.

In this collection I was particularly impressed by A L Kennedy's 'Vanish' about someone trying to give away a ticket to a magic show and then finding himself in an unfamiliar situation.

I think these books contain something for everyone and they're quick to read and an ideal size to carry around with you. Well worth trying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stories, 12 July 2009
By 
Tk Childs "Tom C" (Oxford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ox-Tales:Air (Paperback)
These are wonderful stories, collected together to raise money for Oxfam. Highlights include two terrific Caribbean tales, DBC Pierre's Suddenly Doctor Cox, and Helen Fielding's Trouble in Paradise. Perfect reads for your summer holiday! The most impressive thing is that this book - and the other Ox-Tales collections - showcase the best in British writing, so as well as reading great stories by your favourite writers, you are bound to discover some fantastic writing from authors you might not already know. Get the set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection of Short Stories, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Ox-Tales:Air (Paperback)
The second the the series of short story books by Oxfam to highlight their work in certain areas, and air is climate change.

Again some of the stories did not appeal, but the three i particular liked were: Goodnight children, Everywhere by Beryl Bainbridge, The Night Highway by Louise Welsh and Suddenly Dr Cox by DBC Pierre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ox-Tales:Air
Ox-Tales:Air by Vikram Seth (Paperback - 2 July 2009)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews