Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read
Ben Highmore, Professor of Cultural Studies at the University of Sussex, has written a book that is both informative and witty, and it comes to you highly recommended. He has described how our modern British house has evolved, from the late 19th century to the 21st century, from having a front parlour and/or dining room, kept for high days and holidays, a place to show...
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. M. G. Powling

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly ordinary
I started well and promised a good and entertaining read. However it then turned into a fairly boring socialogical textbook.
Published 6 months ago by aeroroger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
Ben Highmore, Professor of Cultural Studies at the University of Sussex, has written a book that is both informative and witty, and it comes to you highly recommended. He has described how our modern British house has evolved, from the late 19th century to the 21st century, from having a front parlour and/or dining room, kept for high days and holidays, a place to show off our very best furniture and ornaments, to the modern room designed for living in on a daily basis, even what we call this room ... drawing room, sitting room or lounge. He examines why things are as they are ... why is the telephone generally to be found in the hall? Why is the freezer generally found in the garage? Much of his research has been courtesy of the archives of Mass Observation in which many men and women from all walks of life have described their homes in detail, right down to the items displayed on their mantelpieces.
As I have an interest in social history of this kind I must confess I have not learned very much from it that I didn't know, but I have found it has reinforced what I already knew or believed to be the case. Furthermore, it has been written in a very witty style - not that witty it would irritate, but in a pleasingly witty style that often brought a smile to my face. In fact, it reads as entertainingly as a novel. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the "housing" nerds..., 2 Feb 2014
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
British author Ben Highmore has written a book that "housing nerds" will love. What's a "housing nerd", you might ask? It's all of us who love looking at old books of house plans and who wonder how did the residents of these houses "live". What did they use the rooms for? How did/does anyone manage to exist in a bedroom without an en-suite bath? Out houses, what???

"The Great Indoors: At Home in the Modern British House", really starts "modern" at the beginning of the 20th century. He examines how houses and their uses "evolved" with the addition of rooms. How were rooms used 100 years ago and how are they used nowadays? One of his most interesting points is the use of the duvet in British bedrooms. Originally imported from France, they were looked upon as "suspicious", until their sheer comfort and ease of use - no more top sheets and blankets to deal with - overcame fear of the "foreign". Now, almost 80% of British beds are made with duvets, rather than sheets and blankets. Highmore's fascinating book is filled with these details of how our modern lives have evolved within the four walls of our homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, informative read, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
I love reading about how we all used to live/eat/exist! and this book certainly describes how life was in the not so distant past. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly ordinary, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
I started well and promised a good and entertaining read. However it then turned into a fairly boring socialogical textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lively and interesting, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author wears his learning lightly and the results of extensive research are communicated in a witty and interesting way. I did feel that the book flagged a little towards the end with the sections on attics, cellars and gardens being less interesting than the previous chapters. I would have preferred more historical perspective on the uses of the principle rooms. Having said that, the book can be recommended as a thoroughly good read for anyone interested in the subject and the author's tendency to raise interesting and unexpected analogies and connections is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea but execution is disappointing., 30 April 2014
By 
Peter Jay "petjay" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
Great idea for a book - a historical/socialogical examination of the house and its various parts - was a great idea. It starts well and the early chapters are fascinating and illuminating. Unfortunately the author appears to run out of interesting content by the middle of the book and it becomes a bit of a drag from thereon in.

I also found his writing style to be annoying with the inclusion of too much padding and some unfunny little jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
this book is very informative although I found it a little heavy going at times.
A few more illustrations might have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not enough pictures, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
thought it would be a coffee table book with photographs showing th great indoors of previous decades, but it was like a school text book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new., 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quite interesting and written in an amusing way. However, anyone over a certain age will not find anything new about how we use (and used) our homes. It darted around chronologically a at times and does not really venture into the 21st century, so is already out of date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house (Hardcover)
I am interested in interior design and this book is very informative. I have enjoyed dipping into it. XX XX XX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house
The Great Indoors: At home in the modern British house by Ben Highmore (Hardcover - 2 Jan 2014)
12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews