Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive overview of novelists over five centuries
Lives of the Novelists, subtitled 'A history of fiction in 294 lives' is a collection of short biographies covering influential authors over five centuries. At over 800 pages long, this great tome of a book is obviously the result of an incredible amount of research from Sutherland.

Most of the biographies are around three pages long, which is enough to give...
Published 13 months ago by K. L. Beeden

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mini-biographies of 294 English-language novelists
These mini-biographies are useful enough if you want a brief resumé of one of its 294 chosen English-language novelists, but of limited value if you already know even a small amount about the author in question. I've docked it one star because of its misleading sub-title - "A History of Fiction in 294 Lives" - when in fact it only covers English-language fiction...
Published 20 months ago by Brian J. Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive overview of novelists over five centuries, 22 Aug 2013
By 
K. L. Beeden (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lives of the Novelists, subtitled 'A history of fiction in 294 lives' is a collection of short biographies covering influential authors over five centuries. At over 800 pages long, this great tome of a book is obviously the result of an incredible amount of research from Sutherland.

Most of the biographies are around three pages long, which is enough to give a flavour of the life the author led. Sutherland references both the most highly regarded and the overlooked, so even the widely read will learn something from this work. At the end of each biography there is the authors full name, 'must read text' and a suggestion of a biography for further reading.

Lives of the Novelists could be read from cover to cover (as I did- I felt that by reading it chronologically I was able to get an overview of social changes from the 1600s onwards as well as learning about influential authors) or could be used as a reference material to be dipped in and out of. Possibly a useful resource for literature students, John Sutherland's labour of love reinforces just how many authors meet a tragic end or live an unfulfilled life despite success. It should also come with a warning-I have added a huge amount of books to my 'must read' list as a result of it!

If you are looking for an accessible, comprehensive overview of writers' lives then Lives of the Novelists could be just what you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopaedic, erudite, always interesting..., 2 Mar 2012
Picked this up on a whim in Waterstones and have never regretted the price. Written for those who having either passing interest in english fiction or are steeped in the classics of english literature, this tome gives and keeps on giving. It's a bit like Vasari or Suetonius in its conversational style, giving us the odd bit of salacious gossip on those whose words have made us despair as schoolchildren poring over what we thought were interminably boring texts, to the casual garden reader for whom the pleasure of the written imagination is a daily delight.
This is not a cover-to-cover book. It is undeniably the cliched coffee table book, something to dip into during boring adverts or a break in daily household chores. A book to read a single excerpt from before turning into bed; in which every two-four page biography gives us pause for thought.
For example, last night I let the book spill open at any such page it felt - yes, it's a book you can let the whimsy of fate control - to read about William Sharp. Never heard of him before, I thought, until I saw he wrote the "Sin-Eater" in 1895. Wasn't that a film with the late Heath Ledger? Turning from page 209 to 210 I found that indeed, the 2003 film, was based on the book by this author. Never knew that. I like the "Sin-Eater" film (something at which I am at odds with the author on - he describes it as "dire".) but had always thought it was from the mind of a Hollywood script writer.
Apparently not. Fascinating.
Last week I read how the stars of Hemingway and F Scott Fitzgerald waxed and waned in perfect symmetry against a backdrop of alcohol and friendship. It puts some of their novels in perspective.
I have learned some people came to authorship through fate, that my views on some need perspective - I never knew Baum (he of Oz fame) was so anti-Sioux. It changes ones view and reinforces that whilst our heroes and heroines can be tragically flawed, so are those who create them.
This is a book that ranges from the seventeeth century to the modern day. Seeing Robert Jordan, Julian Barnes, and Margaret Atwood brings the book even more relevancy as these are authors who are continuing to thrill us even today. It is written in a style that is lucid, thought-provoking, opinionated, amusing and serious in equal measure. Yet, most of all, this work by John Sutherland - for all its depth that shows how this Professor is at the every top of his subject matter - makes me want to go and read a lot of novels I'd never even heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 249 Novelists in search of Readers., 21 Feb 2012
I was somewhat apprehensive of spending my hard-earned cash on this book. I need not have worried. The first thing you notice is the shear size of it. But of course it needs to be big adequately to cover 294 authors. The you start searching; who's in and who's not. Some of the choices seem wierd - Patricia Cornwell in a "literary" work. And Booker Prize winners with other memorable work.
But the joy of the thing is to read intelligent short lives of favourite writers and best of all to discover new authors crying out to be read. With each author is a suggested "must read" text and a biographical work which give a good starting place for any writer with whom you are unfamiliar.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading novels. And your favourite is probably in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 294 literary lives, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Brian R. Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This substantial volume (more than 800 pages) is a review of 294 novelists writing in the English language, chosen from the vast panorama available from the past almost four hundred years. The range is very wide. Included are authors of romances, dramas, westerns, adventures of many sorts, thrillers, sci-fi, and even a few writers of stories for children. But it is not a straightforward set of biographical entries of the `great and the good'; there are some surprising omissions of the latter. Instead, the choice is a very personal, idiosyncratic, collection of writers the author says have influenced him during a lifetime of reading. Eyebrows will doubtless be raised at the fact that Patricia Cornwall, Amanada Ros (winner of an award for `The World's Worst Novelist'), and Jeffery Archer, to name a few surprises, make an appearance (although the latter may have preferred not to have been included).

There is a large number of Victorian writers, reflecting the author's encyclopaedic knowledge of the literature of that period. Victorian authors were an extraordinary bunch; often intellectually precocious, sometimes illegitimate and from humble backgrounds, frequently soon parentless, either through death or abandonment. Not surprisingly, they commonly had difficult lives as adults, producing many children, or none, and dying tragically young (commonly of TB or drink, a few committing suicide). Even if they themselves did not succumb, they were surrounded by others who did. J.M. Barrie, for example, adopted five young boys after the premature deaths of their parents. One died soon afterwards, one possibly committed suicide and another definitely did. Madness, and even the proverbial `lunatic wife (rarely a husband) locked away in an asylum', features not only in their novels, but also in not a few of their real lives. The lives of more recent authors are often just as unstable. Early days drifting aimlessly from one low-level job to another, multiple marriages (frequently unconventional), and alcoholism leading to premature death (at least TB had been conquered) all figure prominently. Many authors in this collection were huge best sellers in their day, some earning considerable fortunes and living extravagantly in grand style, but now are forgotten and unread; salutary reminders of the fickleness of public taste and the transitory nature of fame.

The entries vary in length from barely a page to several. They are all peppered with anecdotes, personal views and pithy observations, told with a splendid dry humor. It is an immensely enjoyable read and has given me quite a few additions to my `must read' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 28 Dec 2011
I bought this book as a present and had to parcel it off before reading it thoroughly. However I found it to be not only informative but a very entertaining, original and funny read. I have ordered another copy for myself and will give a fuller review when time allows. (I am responding to the fact that the only other reviewer on Amazon offered it only one star.) I think anyone who is interested in literature and enjoys reading would enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING ABOUT NOVELISTS, 23 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Novelists: A History of Fiction in 294 Lives (Paperback)
Being a pensioner and realizing I have no longer got the stamina - or interest - for intensive and extensive studying as I once had, this collection of short essays about the lives and fiction of prominent authors feels just right for a con amore-reader like me. For the highbrow who wants to delve deeper into the matter these collection of essays may have their limitations, but for people like me who want to be both enlightened and entertained this book is there to be read spontaneously whenever I feel for it, the number of novelists depending on time and circumstances. Thus I have a splendid time in the company of creative people who all in their own way made their contribution to our cultural heritage - and made our lives richer - all conveyed in a witty and personal way by John Sutherland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mini-biographies of 294 English-language novelists, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Brian J. Cox (Kirkcudbrightshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These mini-biographies are useful enough if you want a brief resumé of one of its 294 chosen English-language novelists, but of limited value if you already know even a small amount about the author in question. I've docked it one star because of its misleading sub-title - "A History of Fiction in 294 Lives" - when in fact it only covers English-language fiction (indeed, even the front flap is misleading, saying "fiction in English", when it should at least have said "fiction written in English"). So of course I didn't find the first author I looked for at random, which happened to be Gabriel García Márquez. Now, I'm a great Science Fiction fan, but I'd rather have found Gabo than Isaac Asimov, who - delightful as he was - doesn't really fit in a book of this kind. And I've docked a further star for the choice of authors: inevitably this is an unwinnable cause for any such author, but if you ARE going to include some SF authors, then surely you can't ignore Philip K. Dick? Similarly, the choice of crime authors omits Ruth Rendell. If you think I'm being unfair to dock a star for what is after all a personal choice, then I'll dock a second star instead for the irritating Contents List, which lists the 294 authors in the chronological order in which they appear in the book, so to find if your chosen author is included you have to search through the Contents or wade awkwardly through the index at the back of a very heavy book.

All in all, while fairly useful, it's a bit disappointing - neither quite an encyclopaedia nor discursive account of the writers the author has found most interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 20 Jan 2014
By 
yep09 (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lives of the Novelists: A History of Fiction in 294 Lives (Paperback)
I endorse every word of praise for the book. The author is informative, sensible(with the odd quirk), witty and, above all, readable -- I would have read the book at a sitting had not sleep and family interrupted me.

The second level of enjoyment comes from "Who's in? Who's out?"
I found myself surprisingly sympathetic to most of his preferences, e.g. Elizabeth Bowen over Elizabeth Taylor, John Buchan over Dornford Yates, Arnold Bennett over John Galsworthy, Margery Allingham over Dorothy Sayers (the last especially welcome, as critical trends have been going the other way.)

I wonder, though, if the Angel of Homophobia hasn't brushed his or her wing against some of Professor Sutherland's cheeks. Among the omitted are such sympathisers with (male) homoeroticism as: E.F. Benson, William Burroughs, Ronald Firbank, Alan Hollinghurst, Armistead Maupin, Simon Raven, Forrest Reid, Mary Renault, Frederick Rolfe, Gore Vidal and Edmund White. Many worse authors than these are included.

And finally, one could argue that the best plots, characters, language and wit come from another omitted novelist: Jeeves could tell you whom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Novelists: A History of Fiction in 294 Lives (Paperback)
It is hard to imagine that such scholarly material can be presented in such an entertaining way. Prof Sutherland's sense of humour is sharp and gives real delight to the reader. Authors considered date from 17th century to the present. All the well known names are there and some less well known too. Invaluable and delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Utterly Usless Book, 18 Dec 2011
I purchased this book under the impression that the title, "Lives of The Novelists" meant that the author intended to write biographical sketches of various novelists. This, it turns out was not his intention.

What you do get in this book is the authors ramblings about each author he writes about. His writing is not even bad literary criticism. It is hard to say just what it is. For example, the entry for Thomas Hardy talks hardly about Hardy at all. No, Hardy's entry is all about how mid-Victorian writers wrote about judicial hangings. There is almost nothing about Hardy's life and his work. It doesn't stop with Hardy, it just goes on and on. I could find very little relevant (or even accurate) about any of the authors' whose entries I read.

For the first time, I am going to contact Amazon and see if I can return a book on account of its utter worthlessness.

It is sad to think that some perfectly good trees gave their lives for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lives of the Novelists: A History of Fiction in 294 Lives
Lives of the Novelists: A History of Fiction in 294 Lives by John Sutherland (Paperback - 22 Aug 2013)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews