Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing
'50 secrets from the science of persuasion'... Well, I'd never heard of `the science of persuasion' before and this is actually a series of short case studies based on social psychology academic papers published over the last decade or so. Each case study is presented as a problem, the experiment and results are described and then a `scientifically proven' solution is...
Published on 15 April 2008 by C. Young

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Philosophical Dry Spell
Besides the valid criticism already voiced by some reviewers; that the presentation is messy and not-memorable, a substantial criticism of this book would be that the book is very much "just the basics", devoid of further reflection or introspection which makes for a poor reading experience.

Though the content in itself is valuable. I'd like a better structured...
Published on 10 Dec 2008 by sanyata


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing, 15 April 2008
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
'50 secrets from the science of persuasion'... Well, I'd never heard of `the science of persuasion' before and this is actually a series of short case studies based on social psychology academic papers published over the last decade or so. Each case study is presented as a problem, the experiment and results are described and then a `scientifically proven' solution is suggested. It's an appealing way of covering a broad subject and most of the results are thought-provoking and maybe genuinely useful. The only problem is that these snippets are not structured or ordered in any way so unfortunately fact fatigue sets in after about 30, and by the time you struggle to 50 the science of persuasion began to seem a rather disorganised discipline. An admirable book, but you might have thought `persuasion scientists' would have known a bit better how to determine exactly how much is a `good thing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure Trove of Insights, 11 Dec 2007
By 
S. Kukielka "Stella" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
I have read The Tipping Point and Freakonomics and enjoyed them immensely. Yes! is a similar type of book - really enjoyable and based on what appears to be pretty solid evidence and research. It's practical too. As enjoyable as The Tipping Point and Freakonomics were I was left wondering how I could use the information. Short of impressing people at dinner parties with my new found knowledge of why drug dealers live with their mothers the personal applications of both books are few and far between. Not so with Yes! It is a treasure trove not only of the theory of persuasion but also how to put the theory into practice and become more persuasive (and let's be honest who doesn't want to be more persuasive?). In my humble opinion I think Yes! is highly readable, highly practical and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Examples for Fans of Robert Cialdini's Book, Influence, 2 Oct 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
Yes! could have been more appropriately titled as Influence 2 because the book is simply a series of brief examples that illustrate Professor Robert Cialdini's key principles described in his book, Influence (social proof, authority, commitment/consistency, scarcity, reciprocity, and personal liking). If you loved that book and want to dive deeper into its lessons, Yes! is a perfect choice.

If you haven't yet read Influence, I recommend that you read that book before this one. Without Professor's explanations of why these principles work, the case histories in Yes! don't seem so special and interesting. Otherwise, you will probably just see Yes! as a bunch of unrelated stories, many of which don't apply to your marketing challenges. I would expect most people who read Yes! who haven't read Influence to rate Yes! with three stars.

When you do read Influence, be sure to get the latest edition (the fifth edition came out in August 2008). Otherwise, you'll miss out on insights.

I hired Professor Cialdini to speak to one of my research organizations, Share Price Growth 100, a number of years ago and the members rated him very highly for being able to apply the lessons of his research to the financial markets. I was intrigued to see some financial market examples in Yes!

Be more persuasive in getting an ethical point across!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Philosophical Dry Spell, 10 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
Besides the valid criticism already voiced by some reviewers; that the presentation is messy and not-memorable, a substantial criticism of this book would be that the book is very much "just the basics", devoid of further reflection or introspection which makes for a poor reading experience.

Though the content in itself is valuable. I'd like a better structured version of this book. And one that would make the points easier to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it all about getting to 'Yes!'?!, 30 Dec 2007
By 
Dilraj Sidhu "D. Sidhu-Singh" (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
I work in professional services where the difference between winning a new client and losing an existing client is very often down to the small things like being more memorable in the customer's eyes. Yes! brings all of the important, and sometimes just small, things to the surface and offers them in a concise, crisp and fun to read book. Anyone who is looking for an edge in business does not need to attend one of the myriad of 'Become a success overnight!' courses currently on offer from many different sources but just to start by investing in this very useful book and not lose the opportunity to get an insight into those things that work! Not just because the author's say so but because research and scientific rigour has proven the approach as being superior!

Great topic, useful timing and extremely useful material. Thank you author's for sharing your knowledge and expertise with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Throwing little light on secrets, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Andy Middleton (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
Yes! is a no. This book is disappointly light on insight, secrets and content, with insufficient detail for real understanding and many examples of persuasion that will be obvious to readers. Cialdini is a good thinker and has made important contributions to the use of language and psychology in the process of influence; if you want insight into these, read 'Influence, the Psychology of Persuasion' instead, for both content and education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bar snacks, 4 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
I must admit to being pretty underwhelmed by this book. I've read a few books on influence / persuasion / propaganda, and having done so this was a bit of a waste of money.

Don't get me wrong, if this is your first glance at the subject then you'll find many of the short explanations quite interesting, though I'm not sure that its style will peek your interest to read further, which would be a shame as there are some absolutely excellent books on the subject out there that give a far better & more engaging introduction to the field.

If you just want a book to pick at on the train this is more for you, but if you'd really like to understand the subject better to begin with you can't really do better than Robert Cialdini's, 'Influence:The Psychology of Persuasion', and if you want a more useful day to day short read buy, 'How To Outnegotiate Anyone (Even a Car Dealer!' by Leo Reilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great companion to Cialdini's: "Influence", 31 Aug 2011
By 
Njl Andersen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
"YES! 50 Secrets from the science of persuasion" should be seen as a companion to Cialdini's book: Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion, where he lays out the theoretical framework in an organized and easy to understand manner. YES! Has 50 examples, each of a few pages each, and thus is a great book to have in your bag, when traveling, and you only have time to read a few pages at a time. You are then left with a great thought for how to be more convincing.
Though for a great understanding of the concepts, one needs to read Influence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gosh, I never realized that!, 26 May 2009
By 
Liz K (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book and its thought-provoking examples. I can apply the examples to my own experiences of being persuaded and trying to persuade. Writing an email the other day, I suddenly realized that I had phrased my first line to remind the receiver of a favour done last year. Having realised that I had done this, I was interested in what would be in the reply. The reply contained an unsolicited offer to help in future work. I had never realized how subtle our efforts to persuade and reciprocate can be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars. A Wonderfully Practical Book, 17 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion (Paperback)
I like this book. The authors are well recognised experts in their field and the advice they give is practical and easy to apply. Written in fifty short chapters (most are 4 - 5 pages in length) the book gives dozens and dozens of applications to help anyone become more persuasive. The book is not just essential for people in business - It's useful for pretty much everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion
Yes! 50 Secrets from the Science of Persuasion by Robert B. Cialdini (Paperback - 8 Nov 2007)
8.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews