Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars and the remains of dead and lost civilisations without any real meeting with intelligent life, at least at first
As the third book in the Long Earth series, The Long Mars develops what has happened before and continues its onward plotline. By Book Three we’re now at the point where the series has expanded from ‘Datum Earth’ to millions of Earths. As before, much of the plot derives from the ensuing human politics, as well as the physical calamities, that have come...
Published 2 days ago by M. Yon

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Disappointing
I have been a Terry Pratchett fan for many years & very much enjoyed his first book with Stephen Baxter "The Long Earth". This is the third in the series.
In this book Sally Linsay meets up with her Father Willis, the inventor of the stepper box, and they head off to Mars. Maggie Kauffman is on her own trip through Long Earth joined by Snowy the Beagle and...
Published 11 months ago by DJF


‹ Previous | 16 7 825 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Compelling, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
H. Samuel "Rauvin" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Long Earth series continues in a book laying the foundation for more to come. Thoughtful, well written and entertaining as always, Terry Pratchett never fails.

For me, the end of the book arrived as a surprise and left me wanting more. Don't let me down guys :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the long mars, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love all Terry Pratchett books he is one of my absolute favourite authors and can do no wrong, and these are a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much grander in scope than either of the previous books, but at the same time more personally involved. Eagerly awaiting the next instalment just a day after this one came out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh!, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
R. Perpete (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This will be the last "Long" novel I'll be reading, they have had long enough to develop the story and to be honest its all a bit 'anti-climatic'. It has been a disappointment because the idea is good it just hasn't been developed properly with no clear conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good read but dissappointing, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third and concluding book of a good series but I can't see why. The plot is pedestrian, more like a history than a novel. Things happen and the characters talk about it to resolve them, no knife edge excitement. I can't see how this concludes the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Long Mars (Long Earth 3) by Sir Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
M. rs carol Johnson "Mrs. C.D. Johnson" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book and the previous two in this series. Quite different from Pratchett's Discworld series, which I have read over and over. Serious; and I expect there will be a further book in the Long Earth series, which I shall definitely buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Follows the story on..., 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good book, and there are oppotunities for further continuations of the stories. That said it does meandre a litlle and the title is a smudge misleading. Still a good read, and recommended if you have read the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yes., 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once more Pratchett and Baxter have killed it with this incredible, epic story. Can't recommend it enough, this is for the wanderers, the trailblazers, the wannabe astronauts, the adventurers and anyone with wanderlust. Read it and get lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars amazing ideas....., 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting forecast of a possible future with extensive development of believable new reality. For me the relationships between
characters was too vague and similar leaving me uninterested in the characters at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd time really brilliant !, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First came the The Long Earth - brilliant. Then came The Long War - BRILLIANT. Now the Long Earth goes Extra-terrestrial with The Long Mars and carries on the saga expertly.
Word of advice - read the others first. O'Keef
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 825 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Mars: (Long Earth 3)
The Long Mars: (Long Earth 3) by Terry Pratchett (Audio CD - 19 Jun. 2014)
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews