Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Against All Odds
My Brief History
The tone of this book is immediately obvious from its title. We have had and admired 'A Brief History of Time': and here is a 'Brief History' of the life of the author. Excellently written, as one would expect, interesting, candid and upbeat it tells of triumphs and struggles which few of us experience or are likely to be subject to. A great read,...
Published 12 months ago by George Stevenson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A nice quick read, but very imbalanced, frustrating and not what you hoped for
Starts off well - nice, brief passages describing his richly eventful childhood. Its a different time indeed where someone of poor parentage still gets to spend years abroad at a time, have a large house in London, get into Oxford, and never seem to worry about money.

His fast, efficient progression into academia swiftly turns into some ridiculously complex...
Published 6 months ago by Rabbit Moon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Against All Odds, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: My Brief History (Hardcover)
My Brief History
The tone of this book is immediately obvious from its title. We have had and admired 'A Brief History of Time': and here is a 'Brief History' of the life of the author. Excellently written, as one would expect, interesting, candid and upbeat it tells of triumphs and struggles which few of us experience or are likely to be subject to. A great read, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A nice quick read, but very imbalanced, frustrating and not what you hoped for, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: My Brief History (Kindle Edition)
Starts off well - nice, brief passages describing his richly eventful childhood. Its a different time indeed where someone of poor parentage still gets to spend years abroad at a time, have a large house in London, get into Oxford, and never seem to worry about money.

His fast, efficient progression into academia swiftly turns into some ridiculously complex prose - terms, theories and jargon are relentlessly thrown out as if its a private conversation with someone of equal knowledge for such things. I couldn't help but wonder if there was some slight agenda going on here, to purposefully lose the audience and (unnecessarily) prove some intellectual superiority. I tried my best with A Brief History of Time and there were only certain bits I couldn't get my head round. I couldn't understand MOST of what he was writing about here, which was especially undermining and frustrating as it followed something that read like a school essay.

Why is this book annoying? Because it completely avoids the human element - there's no real mention or discussion of struggle, personal challenge, changes of mind, heart or motivation, friendships, love, personal humanistic realisations about mankind or man's relationship to the earth and technology. An autobiography would have been the ideal opportunity to learn about his thoughts and reflections, but instead it just becomes another scientific jargon-purge.

This shift in tone, as well as absence of humanity is so overt and remarkable, that I was left feeling that he might have dissociated a large part of his emotional world. Maybe because of unresolved grief or trauma, maybe a resistance to the press snooping over the years, who knows.

Its astounding that the reasons, and his feelings, behind his first divorce and second marriage are all tied up in literally two lines of text, yet whole chapters are devoted to "Imaginary Time" and "Time Travel" which have absolutely no inherent value to the casual reader, nor anything to say about Stephen Hawking himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Big Bang lovers!, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Brief History (Kindle Edition)
I was pleasantly surprised how much I have enjoyed reading Hawking. Interesting and understandable,I thought the tone would be overly academic but it is actually very down to earth and engaging. It is a pick up and put down sort of book, you don't have to read great chunks to maintain the flow. Definitely worth giving it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Six form essay, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Brief History (Hardcover)
Hawking has had and is continuing to have an inspiring life. Unfortunately his writing leaves me un-enthralled. The science was obviously difficult but his personal details read like a good six form essay. A little on the short side too for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Brief History (Hardcover)
Well written as usual from the master. it's not often that I can read a book and not want to put it down. That is how it was with 'My Brief History'. Stephen Hawking is a fascinating man and that comes across in this book. The only problem I had is there isn't enough of it! Although the last two chapters are a little heavy if you're not a physicist, it is still a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Brief History (Hardcover)
Stephen Hawking deserves praise & admiration for coming to terms with a dreadful affliction. He shows no self-pity & he continued with all his mathematical research & teaching against all odds. He has seen two marriages crumble. Keeping a marriage going
is difficult enough even under the most ideal circumstances. Unfortunately, his irreversible condition would have put a huge strain on both wives & the first one suffered from depression - - quite understandably. He has taken those blows with a philosophical approach & gets on with life as best he can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My brief history, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Brief History (Kindle Edition)
The physicist has written a simple, short memoir. He grew up in London just after the Second World War ended, having been born in Oxford; the book is illustrated with charming photos of Hawking and his sisters, of blitzed London, of the Oxford rowing team. Hawking's father had grown up poor and got scholarships to train as a doctor, so it was inevitable that his son should be sent the same route. Like many very bright kids he was not an exceptional student at school. While one of his sisters did become a doctor, he concentrated on physics, chemistry and maths. In 1959 he gained a scholarship to Oxford, aged seventeen.

Having graduated Hawking went to Cambridge to become a physics researcher. Cosmology and general relativity had not progressed since the 1930s. Hoyle, Feynman and Sciama were the top people in the field at the time, but Britain was losing researchers in a brain drain to America, where nuclear physics was the trendy field. The student was getting increasingly clumsy, falling on stairs. A doctor just assumed that he was overdoing the beer. After a fall while skating his mother got him to hospital, where a progressive disease was diagnosed. Hawking was only twenty-one and he says that while he was depressed he did not drink heavily as has been reported. He enjoyed working hard for once, hampered by becoming less able to type or write, and was lucky enough to find and marry a student called Jane Wilde in 1965.

Concentrating on cosmology meant the starting point of the universe, black holes and the like were awaiting mathematical proof by the research student, who had ample material for his PhD. From 1970 he was using a basic wheelchair; his wife coped with their three children. A visit to Cal-Tech showed him that America was far more advanced for people with disabilities. In 1985 Hawking had a choking fit at Cern and his wife refused to have his ventilator turned off, getting him flown by air ambulance to Cambridge where a tracheotomy saved his life but removed his speech. An artificial voice system was provided to him by a Californian computer expert.

The further story tells of family issues and coping with his motor neurone disease. There are occasional flashes of humour, such as bets between scientists and asides on life. "My doctor told my wife that I was coming home to die. I have since changed my doctor." The progressive nature of his illness proved too much for both his wives, but Hawkins is pragmatic about the divorces and admits he owes his life to the ladies. 'A Brief History of Time' was intended to explain black holes and the Big Bang to the general reader, without equations. His publisher, Bantam Books, took his suggestion seriously and sent lists of items which he needed to simplify. The book spent 147 weeks on the NYT bestseller list; 237 weeks on the London Times bestseller list. With his daughter Lucy he has also written a series of books for young people. Hawking has won several awards, and helped to host the Paralympic Games in London in 2012. The final photos show some travels, meeting Queen Elizabeth, and experiencing zero gravity. The cover photo of the Oxford years is splendid.

There is discussion of physics in this book of course, but the biographical material is the largest part. Hawking's travels are continuing, because he's booked to be a space tourist. MY BRIEF HISTORY makes an entertaining and inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A day's enjoyable reading., 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Brief History (Hardcover)
This is an easy, and for me enjoyable, read that I finished in a day. As it says it's a brief history so don't expect the nitty gritty of his life because you'll be disappointed. However, if you're after a brief view of Stephen's life this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greet present, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Brief History (Hardcover)
Bought this for my husband who wanted to read it. It was very quick to arrive and great value for money. Husband loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gets bogged down in his own theories in the 2nd half., 27 Feb 2014
By 
Anthony Byrne (Enfield, Meath Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Brief History (Kindle Edition)
The first half of the book does what it says on the tin, but in the 2nd half, he tries to make us understand EVERYTHING. Black holes, euclidian time model, entrophy, too much too soon. I wanted more about his life experience rather than his theory on how it all fits together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Brief History
My Brief History by Stephen Hawking (Audio CD - 12 Sep 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews