Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond Reinvented
This is a far better book than Seb Faulks hammy pastiche of 2009. It has a grittiness and authenticity all of its own. Just as Boyd is a better writer, this is a superior effort, up there with Fleming's best. Why?

For a start, this character is more like Bond - he is violent, sexy, intelligent and a few steps ahead of most people. When he fails he fails...
Published 2 months ago by The Outsider

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I really wanted to like this book. And for the first third I think I did.

I bought it on release day for my Kindle while on holiday in France and I very rarely buy books on release - the price usually falls within a few weeks so I wait.

The idea of setting the story back in the 1960's seemed to be a fantastic one.

I liked the simplicity...
Published 9 months ago by Weevil


‹ Previous | 117 18 1926 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 15 Dec 2013
By 
C. G. Hamilton (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was delighted to find some of the old Bond back so still proud of our old boys (fettes) charm and bravery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Yarn, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Bond fan this was good read. When is the next one out? Soon I hope x x x x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars james bond, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the first james bond book that I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. the storyline kept my attention right through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compelling read and difficult to put down. Certainly up to Flemings standard its hard to tell the difference . When is the next one due?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab read. Could have had a few more gadgets but other than that, pure class. Good choice of car too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a great read, as good as the original Ian Fleming novels.
Easy to order and immediate delivery to my Kindle, excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best James Bond novel not by Fleming, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was excellent. By far the best Bond novel not by Fleming himself (cf. those by Kingsley Amis, Sebastian Faulks, - John Gardner?). Boyd gets the real sense of the man and has an exciting and almost plausible plot - compare this to Faulk's ludicrous tennis match (and other implausibilities) in his novel. Twists and turns a plenty, and it evokes a good sense of place using Boyd's old West Africa stomping ground. Bond is 45 - and comes across as both a lonely and anachronistic (even in 1969, the year in which it is set) figure. This is a man who is coming up to 50, if he makes it, and will really have nowhere to go. Also he is not one who can control his emotions entirely - witness his savage attacks on the muggers and Breed - and he is aware of it. One slight implausibility is at the end - it's not clear why he feels leaving Bryce will keep her safe. Also I did once tell Boyd that Turpentine Lane in Pimlico doesn't in fact have any houses facing the street (he uses the same location in the marvellous Any Human Heart), but he clearly feels that that doesn't matter in fiction - or he forgot - or I'm wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chip of the old block, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without making any attempt to imitate Ian Fleming Boyd has written a book that feels like Bond. More importantly it's good Bond. I preferred it to the other recent Bonds. It has the sweep, the sacrificial lamb, the villains etc.

The language is a bit more colourful than in the originals but the feel is good. This is the first new Bond where I've hoped the author pens a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 007 out of 10, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable and very recognisably Boyd...of course it's set in Chelsea and West Africa. Finishes well. I hope that he writes several more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good solid read, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best story in the world but well written in an easy to read style that moves along nicely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1926 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solo: A James Bond Novel
Solo: A James Bond Novel by William Boyd (Audio CD - 26 Sep 2013)
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews