Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond Reinvented
This is a far better book than Seb Faulks hammy pastiche of 2009. It has a grittiness and authenticity all of its own. Just as Boyd is a better writer, this is a superior effort, up there with Fleming's best. Why?

For a start, this character is more like Bond - he is violent, sexy, intelligent and a few steps ahead of most people. When he fails he fails...
Published 3 months ago by The Outsider

versus
23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I really wanted to like this book. And for the first third I think I did.

I bought it on release day for my Kindle while on holiday in France and I very rarely buy books on release - the price usually falls within a few weeks so I wait.

The idea of setting the story back in the 1960's seemed to be a fantastic one.

I liked the simplicity...
Published 10 months ago by Weevil


‹ Previous | 117 18 1927 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Irritating and disappointing, 29 April 2014
On paper the idea of having literary novelists continue the Fleming legacy is a good one. But both Faulks and even more so Boyd here have fallen into the same trap - they don't like Bond and treat him with distain and even contempt. Solo has an uninspiring plot almost devoid of any big scenes (the only highlight being Bond briefly directing a battle), but the biggest irritation and disappointment is that Boyd's version of Bond displays none of the skills of a boy scout, never mind a secret service agent. Time and again Bond takes everything and everyone at face value and fails to exercise the slightest degree of 'craft', to the extent that it becomes clear that Boyd's perception of Bond is as a drink-addled thug with no resources beyond occasional savage violence. The subtext - that Bond is complicit in supporting a Western takeover of African oil - would be fair enough in a literary novel but leaves nothing but a bad taste in the mouth here. This isn't a Bond novel, it's a thinly disguised attack on the 'values' that Boyd seems to think Bond represents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Possiblly a little juvenille, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a James Bond fan I still enjoyed this book although there were parts which felt like they were written for a much younger audience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You see what you get!, 10 April 2014
By 
T. Sharpen "SSS" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed new Bond books by other authors. Tried this one and enjoyed it. Not the best spy story, but typical Bond and would make a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic feel and story, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Traditional and gritty story line. Characterization makes the narrative convincing and delivers all the expected pleasures of a bond story. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COULD HAVE BEEN WRITTEN BY FLEMING, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very true to the essence of Bond with all the key elements and detail, for example knitted ties with silk shirts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good level of action and entertaining in the usual 'Bond' way! Will be reading some more Boyd novels. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bond only, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very good read and shows how bond can use resources that are outside the government, with the old contacts and knowledge gathered already. Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for a Bond fan for Christmas. Read and enjoyed, good style of writing and plot enjoyed by the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOND-James Bond, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like the World of espionage and then I find that there is a new novel that is based on James Bond by William Boyd I got quite excited.
I'm glad to report that this book didn't let me down. A great introduction to the genre and really well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solo, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A seamless transition from Ian Fleming to William Boyd a more mature bond but still a cliff hanger and any bond fan will enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1927 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solo: A James Bond Novel
Solo: A James Bond Novel by William Boyd (Audio CD - 26 Sep 2013)
14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews