Customer Reviews


427 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining thriller
This novel is one of a series which concentrates on a PI firm led by Jack Morgan - I hadn't read any others in the series and this didn't spoil my enjoyment.

There are three interwoven plot lines here - Jack's problems with his brother (the only bit where I could have done with some information from previous books), a threat from a terrorist group, and the...
Published 13 months ago by Anne

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed
i'm a massive fan of james and read every alex cross,every womens murder club,every michael bennett and every private book going so i think i know a bit about the way he writes!! but this book never really gets going,theres no suspense and nothing to really hold the reader. i was very disappointed and just hope its a one off blip.its just not up to james' normal work.
Published 11 months ago by Tracy Woodey


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining thriller, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This novel is one of a series which concentrates on a PI firm led by Jack Morgan - I hadn't read any others in the series and this didn't spoil my enjoyment.

There are three interwoven plot lines here - Jack's problems with his brother (the only bit where I could have done with some information from previous books), a threat from a terrorist group, and the disappearance of two major film stars in unusual circumstances. The author moves around from one story line to another but it is very easy to follow the different sub-plots. The characterisation is not very deep but the characters are not entirely cardboard and there is some interesting stuff about PTSD and how it affects people.

This is highly entertaining writing and an enjoyable thriller of the sort for which this author is known. It doesn't do to get too picky about the details of the plot or how realistic it would be for the firm to be called in to handle these investigations - you need to suspend a bit of disbelief and just enjoy the journey. This is an easy to read thriller, presented in short chapters, full of action and with some witty banter - if that is the sort of novel that you like (and I do from time to time) or you are a fan of this author or David Baldacci, then you will very much enjoy this. I received a free copy of this novel via NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fast paced, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read with a few unexpected twists but let down by some very predictable plot lines which were telegraphed many chapters beforehand. Private needs to move on from the Carmine/Tommy subplot which is getting a bit old now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i'm a massive fan of james and read every alex cross,every womens murder club,every michael bennett and every private book going so i think i know a bit about the way he writes!! but this book never really gets going,theres no suspense and nothing to really hold the reader. i was very disappointed and just hope its a one off blip.its just not up to james' normal work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the tonic, 22 July 2014
I always have mixed feelings with the Private series of books, which have taken the reader all over the world from LA to London via Berlin & Australia. Every time we go to a new location, we are introduced (with the exception of Jack Morgan) to a new series of characters who are often never to be seen again.

This is different to the Private series based in America where the reader is reintroduced to previous characters and this often leads to better stories. It is pleasing to report that this is certainly the case with Private LA,

In this case, the authors have successfully created a story full of tension and suspense with bucket loads of bad guys that are wreaking havoc and mayhem.

The plot is simple, but effective, with enough twists and turns to please the reader. Put simply, it is a good summer time read that doesn't tax the brain too much.

Just what I needed during this hot weather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can be read quickly and easily, offering good story and a lot of fun, 14 Feb. 2014
‘Private L.A.’ written by co-authors James Patterson and Mark Sullivan is the 3rd title in the series of the Private investigations novels that has Jack Morgan as a main hero.

‘Private’ is a company that conducts private investigations owned by Jack Morgan who together with his colleagues solves complicated cases using sophisticated equipment exposing themselves to many risks and dangers in order to successfully resolve the case, due to which they acquired in the short term an excellent reputation.

In this installment, Jack Morgan will be called in when a group that call themselves 'No Prisoners' will threaten to commit the series of killings at random locations. While Private will be in the middle of investigation, Jack will be summoned to help the missing people case of Thom and Jennifer Harlow, a known couple from Hollywood, while those close to them are trying to keep their disappearance from the media…

‘Private L.A.’ is a typical thriller title that fans of Patterson style will read in one breath, with plenty of fast-paced action, which does not allow the reader to take a break at any moment. Everything that can be found inside is focused to maintain good and thrilling plot that author(s) skillfully offered on the novel pages, while novel finishes in an expected, but still interesting outcome.

James Patterson and Mark Sullivan made another novel that can be read quickly and easily, while offering good story and a lot of fun, and that is exactly what Patterson made so distinctive, interesting and well-known author whose books are sold in millions of copies.
So if you're a fan of his previous works and writing style, with ‘Private L.A.’ you just cannot miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous books, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think James Patterson is now running out of ideas with this series. Some of the story was a little far fetched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a huge fan of James Patterson I have enjoyed all the Private novels so far. They are exciting and keep you glued to the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say I enjoyed it but not one of his best. I will still keep reading James Patterson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another set of crimes for Jack to get solving, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a long time fan of James Patterson and love the various series's he writes. I get quite excited when a book of his is released and am straight to the library to get my hands on a copy.

Private L.A. is the seventh book in the Private series. For anyone unfamiliar with this series, it revolves around Private Investigator Jack Morgan who owns an investigation agency with offices around the world, where they are hired by many high profile clients. Previous books have included Berlin, London and Australia. This book, as the title implies is set in Los Angeles.

Private LA has multiple storylines going on. The main one is the apparent kidnapping of celebrity family the Harlows. The couple and their three children have gone missing and Jack Morgan and his team are called in to investigate. There are the usual twists and turns...have they been kidnapped? Are they still alive? Who would want to take them? As always, I found myself trying to play detective myself and work out who did it and why. There is a large cast of suspects and motives which kept me pondering throughout.

The second storyline was around a group of terrorists called 'No Prisoners' who are holding the local authority to ransom. This, in my opinion had real potential to be a great storyline of threat and violence, and I might have lost it somewhere along the line, but it never really took off in the way I was expecting which was disappointing.

The other storyline is around Jack's brother who is on trial for murder and definitely involved with the wrong sort. As readers we see Jacks brother trying to involve Jack in the trial. There is definitely legs to keep this running for a while yet. It would feed my curiosity to know more about Jack and his past.

I have to be honest and say that this book didnt engross me in the way previous books have. I am an addict to the Alex Cross series and the Michael Bennett series, but the Private ones just don't seem to captivate me in quite the same way.

Don't get me wrong, it is a good read, and the short chapters are a great way to flit between scenes and the different storylines. But there is just a spark missing for me. It's almost as if there are too many plots going on, which dilutes them all for me.

I love the character of Jack Morgan who is a clever man with an edge to him. But my favourite character is in this book is Justine who works with Jack, and has also had a relationship of sorts with him in the past. I am kind of wanting to knock their heads together to sort themselves out. In this book Justine goes through some dark times and loses it a bit. She is a strong woman who carries everything inside herself and I wanted to read out to help her at certain points, or send Jack to wrap her up and look after her.

The next installment is out now titled Private India and I am hoping to get reading this in the next few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars High Octane thriller, 14 Nov. 2014
This is the sort of book you can read for ten minutes here and there like on a bus journey and not have to concentrate too hard. Having said that, they are strangely addictive and I rarely miss them. Definitely good Christmas pressies and nice to have around the house or on your kindle to indulge yourself when the mood takes.
Private LA
If you like James Patterson’s fast paced, high octane crime thrillers then this is for you. It delivers the exotic, super fit, super brave, super good looking goodies, alongside a bit of romance, corruption, depravity and, of course a sinister violent group.
It begins with the murder of four surf dudes on the beach below one of Private LA’s clients , then the mayor receives notification from a group known as No Prisoners asking for money or else they’ll murder an increasing number of people each day until their demands are met. Then Private LA is brought in to investigate the disappearance of two well- loved philanthropic actors and their adopted children. Private hates being messed around and they son feel things are being withheld from them adored by the press and the world at large. Are things really what they seem?... Private LA will certainly find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private L.A.: (Private 7)
Private L.A.: (Private 7) by James Patterson (Audio CD - 2 Jan. 2014)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews