Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good summary of our current cosmological understanding
Stephen Hawking's new book, "The Grand Design" (written together with Leonard Mlodinow), is his first popular science book for about ten years. It seems to have created quite a stir in the non-scientific press, although in reality the book is very much in line with our latest theories in cosmology. Science began with the ancient Greeks, and the book starts off with a...
Published on 7 Oct. 2010 by David Love

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Humour and Philosophy, but Ultimately Unsatisfying
Stephen Hawking is not only, without question, one of our greatest surviving physicists, but also, remarkably given his disability, one of the field's great communicators and educators. Having enjoyed his previous writing I was very much looking forward to his insights on the cosmological advances since "A Brief History of Time". However, although this latest book is both...
Published on 6 Oct. 2011 by Andrew Johnston


‹ Previous | 116 17 1822 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again, another fascinating read, beautifully written - even my little brother enjoyed this book.
In fact, I've put it back into my reading stack for another go over...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable., 21 Oct. 2010
By 
John Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Design (Audio CD)
An excellent interesting and thought provoking book by Stephen Hawking and Leonard Mlodinow. Though I doubt it will sway, if it is even bought, by most of those upset over the initial publicity about the 'no need for god' aspect of the marketing. Then again, they can always take comfort in the remaining gaps to hide him in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grand Book, 12 Dec. 2010
A great development from 'A Brief History of Time' and 'The Universe in a Nutshell' which develops the ideas further and keeps them up to date with current thoughts and findings. Superbly eloquent and funny for such a heavy serious subject and one that you just won't want to put down. I know I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 9 April 2012
By 
Patricia Barja (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grand Design (Paperback)
I like the part that explain how the mind control reality
and all his worldview is wonderful
I admire him very much it is the best physisst in the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Design (Paperback)
Gave me everything I wanted. Was full of information, but wasn't explained in a way which was too complicated to understand.
Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Design (Paperback)
takes some reading but still good value and interesting to read. Lots of good information about the universe and the world in which we live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Combined philosophy and science, 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Design (Paperback)
Nothing but an exellent written book that combines philosophy and science to the question on the origin and development of our univers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 14 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book for a 90 yr. old friend. He finds it to be totally amazing and has to read a chapter several times to digest it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mature Hawking, 5 Oct. 2010
I have not finished yet the book but it is what I expected. Hawking is a great communicator and make understable actual physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future is now., 3 Nov. 2011
By 
Sam Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fantastically-written and easill-read guide to the most recent innovations in thought over the past 100 years. Exiting and relevant, this took about 5 hours to read. Should be part of the national curriculum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1822 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grand Design
The Grand Design by Stephen Hawking (Audio CD - 9 Sept. 2010)
£17.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews