Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and very witty
What a fascinating character!

One of those books that I was reluctant to finish as the last page drew nearer.

Prior to reading this book I only knew Peter Ustinov as the delightful character Hercule Poirot in Agatha Christie films. But I learned that he had a very long career in the theatre and that his talents seemed to include almost all areas in...
Published on 20 Jan. 2008 by Renate Bahnemann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends on your sense of humour.
I listened to an abridged version of this book and couldn't get through the first CD (1 star from me). Fortunately for Mr Ustinov, my husband put it in his car and absolutely loved it (5 stars from him), so the book gets 3 stars on average.

I found his 'hilarious' anecdotes tedious and rambling, my husband, on the other hand, though he was hugely amusing and,...
Published 15 months ago by DubaiReader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Me (Audio CD)
I have read this book and so for me it was lovely to listen to Peter telling his own story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dear Me, is that all?, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Uproariously funny in places and I expected 'an audience with' but Mr Ustinov does pontificate a lot on life in general. Thank you Nicholas Parsons for recommending this book as your favourite autobiography it is worth a read but some of the people he mentions such as American politicians or French actors are irrelevant to modern readers. More anecdotes about people who are remembered by history would have been welcomed by shallow perusers like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny and well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappinting, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Me (Audio CD)
I bought this to listen to on a long drive and was very disappointed in it. Peter Ustinov has always seemed an interesting character and a great raconteur, so I had high expectations. In actual fact the book itself was quite dull, but his reading of it was awful. His voice is quite a monotone, as he himself acknowledged in a section early on although obviously in quite a different context. It meant that I found I switched off as neither his voice nor what he was reading held my interest. Time would pass and I realised I hadn't heard what had been said for quite a while. It was also much shorter than I thought, although that proved to be a blessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio cassette, 4 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Dear Me (Audio Cassette)
Very hard to find audiobooks in cassette format these days. Originally tried to buy from Amazon, but with ridiculous delivery time. Then tried to buy from Waterstones, only to be let down miserably. Finally purchased from Amazon market place and item was delivered in reasonable time and at a fraction of the price elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good car talk, 17 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Me (Audio Cassette)
Why i bought this i dont know.I put it in the car and the trip flew in.He has the sort of voice that relaxes you and makes time fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
found it boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cargrae, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Me (Paperback)
The description " used" was certainly correct I this case. This is the first time I have had cause to complain about anything I have ordered through Amazon. How anyone could charge for a book in this condition is beyond belief. Maybe I am extra careful with my books but having read each one, you could put them back on the shelf in a shop and genuinely think they were new. Have put hate only in regard to condition of book as I will not be reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
Dr. M. Carswell (cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dear Me (Audio CD)
Compared with his stand up routines, I found his reading of his autobiography dry and self-indulgent - did not finish listening to it, even on the longest and most boring car journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dear Me
Dear Me by Peter Ustinov (Audio CD - 2 Nov. 2006)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews