Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Debut Novel. Gritty realism at its best.
Wow! What a stunning debut novel. I can't wait for the second in the series to get to know Zigic and Ferreira better. They head up Peterborough's Hate Crimes Unit and this story centres around a man found burned alive in a garden shed. All is not what it first seems. The novel focuses on Peterborough's immigrant community made up largely of Eastern Europeans who have come...
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. J. M. Derrick

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wooden characters, plodding plot and lots of technical errors
I bought this book for Kindle when thee were only 4 or 5 reviews and it had an average of 4.5 stars. Im afraid I can only assume that the authors mother and friends had contributed.

The plot is plodding and about as un exotic as it is possible to be. The characters are a foulmouthed young tobacco addicted DC with no insight and a judgemental attitude to the...
Published 3 months ago by Prof Michael J. Rennie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Debut Novel. Gritty realism at its best., 21 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. J. M. Derrick "Ex-QWF editor" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow! What a stunning debut novel. I can't wait for the second in the series to get to know Zigic and Ferreira better. They head up Peterborough's Hate Crimes Unit and this story centres around a man found burned alive in a garden shed. All is not what it first seems. The novel focuses on Peterborough's immigrant community made up largely of Eastern Europeans who have come to the UK with promises of work and good wages. For many this isn't the case and as the investigation moves on, Zigic and Ferreira discover a host of migrant workers who are being kept as slaves. If any of the victims protest at their treatment, their punishment is death. This is a political novel, yet still pacy and enjoyable. Eva Dolan's writing is gritty, edgy and takes us to a place we never thought we'd go. Do such things go on in modern day Britain? Sadly, the answer is yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New and Exciting, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This is a bleak, violent, no-holds-barred crime novel that is exposes the darker side of the issue of migrant workers and their gang masters in the fens around Peterborough.

DI Zigic and DS Ferreira work on the Hate Crime Unit and when a man is burnt alive in a garden shed, their investigations reveal a complex and incredibly violent underworld in a fairly run-down and deprived Peterborough. Both of these Police Officers are from ethnic minority backgrounds, a fact that helps and sometimes hinders their investigations.

Be prepared for some pretty full-on, explicit scenes of cruelty and suffering in Long Way Home, but also be prepared for an extremely well written crime story that explores issues that many of us are unaware of. Eva Dolan writes with authenticity, her descriptive prose is excellent and her two main characters are very well formed. Zigic and Ferreira are complex characters, each with their own complications and distinct story, so different to each other, yet the perfect partners for investigation crime and getting to the bottom of things.

Eva Dolan, Zigic and Ferreira are welcome additions to the world of the police procedure series; new and exciting, great writing, fast moving plot and exploring a theme that has rarely been written about in fiction. This is gritty and real, often uncomfortable, sometimes shocking, but very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant debut can't wait for more., 4 Jan. 2014
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Thank you so much to Eva Dolan and Alison Hennessey for the copy of this book to review.
Peterborough is changing. Migrant workers, both legal and illegal, are working in the fields, the factories and the pubs of the town. When a man is burnt alive in a suburban garden shed, it brings an unwelcome spotlight on to that world, and two detectives are faced with investigating a murder in a community that has more reason than most not to trust the police.

So, a debut novel and the start of a new detective series, you may ask, well, do we need anymore? My answer would be a resounding YES especially if they are going to be of this quality and standard. You always know you are onto a good thing when you pick up a book during a spare ten minutes then look up dazed an hour or so later and realise you missed your bus....

DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are the very definition of a perfect yin and yang working detective team - well drawn, intriguing personalities, well rounded backgrounds and sitting well in their surroundings, the reader has two perfect, yet often contradictory, sets of eyes with which to follow the action..

Tightly plotted and intelligently written, with a definite eye towards current affairs, I was intrigued and fascinated by this world of which I know little. There is a high degree of authenticity and an extremely realistic feeling to the whole story. Cleverly done indeed.

In the world of crime and mystery fiction this series is going to be one to watch...certainly when the next one becomes available I shall be knocking hapless book shop goers out of the way in my resolve to obtain a copy...

Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from Eva Dolan please!, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent debut novel - can't wait for more to come in the series.
Having lived in Peterborough, where the book is set, all my life I am familiar with virtually every location in the story and they are accurately portrayed (apart from one tiny little niggle that only a Peterborian would notice - King's School uniform blazers are burgundy coloured, the blue ones are Thomas Deacon Academy). The background of immigrant workers from different countries over the years is also accurately & sensitively handled.
Looking forward to reading more about Zigic & Ferreira.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very promising, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) (Hardcover)
A gloomy look at immigrant workers, criminal gangs and two detectives (both from immigrant families) who try to solve the crimes.
But this is brilliantly written and can't wait for the follow up story. Eva Dolan is a writer to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Paul D Brazill (Bydgoszcz, Poland) - See all my reviews
Eve Dolan's deftly written debut novel is a meaty murder mystery that uses a police investigation to cast a sharp eye below the surface of modern Britain and the barely visible world of its immigrant workers - legal and illegal. Long Way Home is gritty but never grim, realistic but paced as breathlessly as a tightly written thriller. Gripping, involving, sad and quite terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended if you like dark crime reads, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Christine M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is a pretty exceptional perceptive crime read, full of intricate descriptions and wonderful dialogue. It is hard to believe that it is the first novel by Eva Dolan.

The story is set in Peterborough, present day, and features Zigic and Ferreira who work at the Hate Crimes Unit. We get to know Peterborough, with its poverty, migrant communities and racist undertones. Slowly we see how the landscape of a town has changed and the social problem of migrants (legal and illegal), that we so often hear about, has a very human face. Dolan uses the migrant workers and their gang masters, as a backdrop for murder. We get to see how the gang masters make life literally hell for their slaves. The story begins with a suburban shed being burnt down and a body discovered.

I found myself getting very fond of DI Zigic and wanting to know more about him. Ferreira less so.

There is nothing better than a gritty dark crime read, which presents the worst aspects of our society for scrutiny. I hope we get many more novels by Eva Dolan in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An immigrant is squatting in a family's shed when it is burnt to the ground. This is the background to what I found to be quite a harrowing and distressing police procedural. I don't doubt that it is all factually correct but man's inhumanity to man, regardless of race is brutal and shocking when you see it at close quarters.It was all a bit too real for me.
I thought this was an exremely powerful first novel, not just for the plot which has all the required twists and turns, but for brilliant, acute portrayal of human nature at its best and worst. I think the Zigic and Ferreira characters will develop as the series continues as they are not particularly well developed in this novel and play second fiddle to the searing social commentary.
I read this book in one sitting as I wanted to know what happened but I found it an uncomfortable read, due to the aforesaid inhumanity of it. Yes, you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gritty thriller with a twist set in an unlikely location., 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gritty thriller set in an unlikely location. It felt well researched and tackles the hidden and shameful subject of the exploitation of migrant workers head on. Despite being violent in parts it keeps its humanity intact with some characters to like and admire. It held my interest and and came to a satisfactory, if unexpected, conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific debut novel with an intriguing cast of characters, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
What initially seems like a case of racist white couple pushed too far, soon unfolds into mystery and intrigue, from the tortured lives of the eastern European girls working in the pub serving `drinks with extras', to the hidden slaves entrapped by brutal ganglords wanting cheap labour at any cost.

It's a harrowing read at times, but never less than fascinating - it's clear that the author has done her research as it feels hugely authentic. The prose has a somewhat hypnotic tone, carrying the reader along, and you can't fail to empathise with both 'criminals' and victims alike, as it is clear the most of the behaviour described is borne out of poverty and desperation.

Full of twists and turns with an excellent sense of place, this is one of these books where you want to devour it in one go, yet the unsettling nature of the various interwoven tales makes it a novel that you'll want to savour.

[Thank you to the publisher for the advance copy of this novel]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1)
Long Way Home (Zigic & Ferreira 1) by Eva Dolan (Hardcover - 2 Jan. 2014)
Used & New from: £2.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews