Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars702
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2015
We bought this for our 16 year old son for his GCSE English course and he really enjoyed reading it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
A short book but a classic. Everyone should read it as it is as topical now as when it was written.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
DnmyrydmymdmyfymfmyfymrmfymfyhmThrehwyeu hyby. V. Cry y y yy by y v a ace to. I I is u y t t
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Very good book, enjoyable read.

The book arrived on time and in perfect condition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
A classic book that ice only just read in my early 30s. I recommend highly that you read it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Fantastic book - speaks volumes about society and politics. Very small book and easy read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2002
I read this book many years ago and still enjoy the simple, yet poignant way in which it satirizes socialistic ideals and many shameful aspects of human "pig-like" nature. Truly a classic. If you enjoy this kind of thought-stimulating book...and there are not enough in this genre these days... I would like to recommend a thought-provoking contemporary novel, which I read with relish recently. It is entitled, "ACCUSED BY FACET-EYES" (author C.B. DON) and it too deals with human nature, but focuses on our global ecological mess and is presented from the point of view of a fantastic humanized honeybee world. Like "Animal Farm" it too is very critical of humanity's behavior with a strong message. Bravo for more books like Animal Farm!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2003
As a GCSE English literature student, I was given the book Animal farm to read and consequently write about in my exam...and what a good thing too!
Animal farm is fantastic - it ties in with the Russian revolution and it is clear the rivalry between the characters such as Snowball and Napoeon (representing Stalin and Trotsky), with a plot. It effectively teaches about the dangers of a dictatorship and we see how corrupt it becomes at the end when Boxer is betrayed and sent to the Knackers. I loved this book and in the exam it felt so natural to write about it, as I felt I knew the characters inside out and back to front. It's fantastic my teacher made us study this book for our exam.
The ending is powerful - so beware!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2000
Let's face it almost anyone could literally read this book but to actually understand it you have to READ it. I read it twice last month after having read it once when i was 9 and though i knew it was good then now I can see the innumerable merits of this small and condensed book. It is remarkable how Orwell has managed in the space of only a hundred odd pages to portray our society in such an original way.
I recommend it to all but primarily to those with the age or understanding that are needed to venture into the depths of this skimpy looking book. (just quickly I apologise for any mistakes in this text but i have temporarily lost the use of 4 fingers so typing has become quite hard.)
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Good book, really different way of writing a book. I couldn't wait to get to the end
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse