Customer Reviews


452 Reviews
5 star:
 (343)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four legs good two legs bad
Understated masterpiece from a very English writer, George Orwell's satire on the hypocrisy of communism is truly a timeless classic. This is an overused phrase, but with its allegorical nature and simple style, this is novella that is accessible to readers of any level, not just the GCSE students for whom it has been an exam text for as long as I can remember...
Published on 18 Jun 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great story... Rubbish edition!
What are Penguin doing? This is an uninviting version of an important work.

When I first looked at the type on the pages, it was too small, too cramped. Quite frankly, not acceptable.

As a result I needed to actually go to a bookshop to see if I could find a better version. And sure enough, the 2007 modern classics paperback (Animal Farm: A fairy...
Published 22 months ago by sussexbowler


‹ Previous | 132 33 3446 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This concerns the new Penguin Student Edition, 7 Jan 2001
By 
Penguin Books has just launched a new collection of classics for students. Short works with an introduction, systematic line numbering, a set of language notes and of follow up activities for each chapter, a set of further general questions on the whole book, a presentation of each character, a summary of the chapters, a short bibliography and a CD with a set of excerpts from the book read by a professional actor. This enables the students, and the teachers, to work in depth on the work, and to have a contact with the text both in writ and in voice. This is a good tool for students, particularly foreign students learning English, because it enables them to read the book, to have a wide variety of helping tools and activities and also to listen to the text and hence learn how to read the text. This audio CD is essential because many foreign students of English have great difficuly at capturing oral language, hence at producing oral language. It enables them particularly, for those who are even more or less blocked in that competence, to read along first, then to close the book and to listen to the text as many times as possible and to transcribe what they hear, little by little and then to check how much they do understand. A fair proportion of secondary education students have that problem and this activity is probably the best way to solve it (provided of course their hearing has been checked and there is no other interference from another problem such as a badly negociated bilingual situation in their environment). The great advantage of this new collection is that Penguin Books has decided to upgrade traditional approaches and to drop the audio tape which is very difficult to manage and use an audio CD which is so user-friendly for navigation. It is a very good idea. The works in this collection are also well chosen for young people or even old teenagers. They are thought-provoking and challenging in their contents for this new generation of students who want to recognize issues they know in their everyday life because they too often syncretically project their own direct experience into what they discover. It is natural but in the younger generation it has become a real way of life, way of thinking, everyday and common behaviour. This is probably a general human attitude, but it is all the more pregnant and heavy in the modern generation because of the impact of zapping on modern media, which produces an exploded and syncretic vision of the world, and because of the « tribal » approach of life with the splitting of the whole youth into groups that identify themselves and one another by the language, the dressing styles, the music they listen to, the entertainment they practice, the various existential elements in their lives. Each young person belongs or does not belong to this or that group. This produces the requirement and the method of those young people to compare what they are proposed to what they consider as their identity. Animal Farm for instance shows them a tribal world divided in tribal groups, even if it was thought by the author, at the time of the writing, as a class society, and a denunciation of the naroow-minded class approach of the stalinists : a denunciation of the soviet society, that had little to do with the ideal of socialism and communism, and a lot to do with feudal tribalism. A very good experiment and initiative from Penguin Books. But we are quite used to such initiative coming from Penguin Books who have always been at the spearhead of innovation. Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Paris Universities II and IX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book..., 10 Dec 2003
By A Customer
"Animal Farm" is a splendid read. Despite being written in the 1950's, Orwell's outlook on Idealism is as relevant today. We feel for his characters as we see them grow under the supression only to be supressed and cheated again. Orwell cleverly takes us on a journey of communism, democracy and dictatorship, which in reality would last decades swept past us in only hours.
Read this book..
Sejal Bhatt [15]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
best book ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 20 Feb 2000
By A Customer
I have just finished reading this book and I could not put it down from the moment I started it! It was recommended to me by my mother and my friend Kate. I throughly enjoyed the book and it was easy to read. The ending was my favourite part, it was excellent.My favoutite characters were Boxer and Clover - my least favourite character was Napoleon! I don't usually read books like this but I loved this one. I recommend it to young adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot recommend it enough!, 12 Feb 2001
I read this book while I was studying the Russian revolution for A/S History. It is truly fantastic, the portrayal of society in animal form makes it accessible to all. It's demonstration of a betrayal of a people is gripping, you feel you have to finish it even though you can forsee its end. Orwell is a literary genius, compulsive reading for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Masterpiece!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read..., 29 April 2000
By 
kasinje@yahoo.com (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This book is a good read. My interests in it was awakemed when it became a banned book in a certain African country. When I got my hands on it , I understood why it had to be banned.The story was readily applicable without any ingenuity. It continues unfortunately to demonstrate how dictatorships arise amid the unwary.....! A good read..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 3446 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal Farm
Animal Farm by George Orwell (Hardcover - 15 April 2010)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews