Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dissentions. In-fighting. Time-Lines. Another Day in The Life of X-Men Folk
Firstly if you've not been following the X-men since Schism and AvX, then it might be as well as to give this a miss, as this is a tie-in and cross-over from the All-New X-Men, (New) Uncanny X-men and X-Men Volume 1: Primer (Marvel Now) (X-Men (Marvel Numbered)) story arcs (and let's throw Wolverine and the X-Men in for good measure too!).

If however you have...
Published 5 months ago by Ghostgrey51

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive disappointment
Let me start off by saying that I'm getting a bit long in the tooth and have been reading the X-Men on and off for over 45 years. During that period there have been several times when I fell out of love with the series (and the ever expanding and often contradictory Marvel universes) and moved on to more emotionally darker and graphically realistic (in terms of portraying...
Published 3 months ago by Lawrence Warburton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dissentions. In-fighting. Time-Lines. Another Day in The Life of X-Men Folk, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Battle of the Atom (Paperback)
Firstly if you've not been following the X-men since Schism and AvX, then it might be as well as to give this a miss, as this is a tie-in and cross-over from the All-New X-Men, (New) Uncanny X-men and X-Men Volume 1: Primer (Marvel Now) (X-Men (Marvel Numbered)) story arcs (and let's throw Wolverine and the X-Men in for good measure too!).

If however you have been following these and enjoying them then you might be faced with a bit of a dilemma here, because this one does not quite measure up to the individual arcs and the continuity seems to favour the All New X-Men story line at the cost of some of the other story lines- the events in Uncanny X-Men Vol.2: Broken seemed to be put on hold, so that Scott and Co can, as they often do turn up at the Jean Grey School to poach students. Anyhow to details, while trying to avoid spoilers and surprises (although I suspect veteran X-men readers will turn a page and say in a sardonic tone- `Gosh! I did not see that coming')

Ok, we are still in that impasse of trying to round up all of the original X-men and pack them back to the past, which since they are not co-operating is still a quandary. If this was not bad enough suddenly up pops an X-men team from the future which is a motley looking mob, but insist `The Youngsters' must go back at all costs. Naturally, this being the X-Men causes all sorts of ructions, because Scott and his crew also get involved in the mix; understandably Jean Grey and Scott (The Younger) go on the run.
(Are you with me so far?)

Now at this stage we have one of those quite familiar mixes of Time-Lines and internal squabbles. Some of the Jean Grey Staff think the Younger X-Men should be allowed to make up their own minds. Some of Scott's crew change their minds throughout the story. And what's the deal with the Future X-Men? I will say no more on that score and try and concentrate on the quality.

Well, we have been down these roads of X-men arguing with and/or punching other X-Men and Other Time-Lines, many times (Just an aside Kang The Conqueror must be getting really fed-up with these X-men messing up his hard work with odd time-lines of their own). This version is conducted with verve, zest and enthusiasm; the dialogue is peppered with sardonic asides, although the future X-men do suffer from a case of collective bombast and cliché; the art work does the job and if you are new to the world of the X-men from the time of Schism AvX then you will find this a splendid bit of reading.

As for the rest of us...wwelllll? I personally have continuity issues, some of the themes running in the separate arcs do seemed to have smoothed over to suit this one, and personally I am wondering just what Professor Xavier back in the 1960s is up to (apparently according to this arc sitting in his garden reading). Yes there were a couple of neat surprises, but nothing earth-shattering and there were a few very weird pages involving a future Dazzler. Once more the steely Maria Hill of previous Iron Man arcs has been ditched for a slightly ditzy CEO of S.H.E.I.L.D. Though give Marvel their due they've kept that 'business' between Mercury and Bling simmering away without any clue what that's about

Having said that, I did enjoy this despite its shortcomings, if only because (1) It involves other arcs (2) Something much better may arise from this (3) I'm interested to see if this will impact on the separate arcs. But if only Marvel had dared to go one step further and draw in Cable and his X-Force; now he's the man to sort out time-lines!

Recommended if you are hooked on all things X-Men. (there's a clever little homage to the first X-Men cover by the way) If you are not then read every review you can get your hands on before making what is quite a pricey investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Days of future, present and past, or X v X v X + X = 5 stars, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X-Men: Battle of the Atom (Paperback)
This is an epic cross-title adventure involving the original (All-New) X-Men, the current X-Men (both factions) and a team of X-Men from the future (or, I would have thought. ‘a’ future, considering how many futures we have seen), that runs through ‘X-Men: Battle of the Atom’ issues #1 & #2, All-New X-Men #16 & #17, Uncanny X-Men #12 & #13, Wolverine & the X-Men #36 & #37, and X-Men #5 & #6, all of which are collected as X-Men: Battle of the Atom.

Considering how many X-teams are involved, this is actually a very good story, that manages to keep a consistent storyline flowing between the titles, develop the ongoing plot-threads in some of the titles, and actually make some changes to the status quo, as well as kill-off a couple of future characters (but, as I said above how many futures have we seen...?), as well as the original Scott Summers. That does get people thinking that it really is time to send the Original X-Men home, especially when the future Jean Grey and her X-Men come back to join in the chorus, as they want their future changed, and therefore young Jean must go home… Young Jean doesn’t trust the future X-Men, or many of the current ones come to that, and as she doesn’t want to go home and die, she goes on the run with Young Scott (who’s not dead now – keep up). As the various X-Men start to hunt them down, so the divisions between the factions begin to show again, and then another set of X-Men from the (same) future show up to say that they like their future just the way it is… Eventually, a fleet of SHIELD helicarriers turn up – they have noticed all the time-displacement activity, which is a bit of a sore point at the moment due to the Age of Ultron business:
Maria Hill: “Does SHIELD have its own time machine?”
Agent: “Yes, I believe we have some in storage.”
Maria Hill: “I want you to send someone back in time to murder whoever invented the time machine.”

Anyway, voices are raised, buttons are pressed, and even Maria Hill is surprised when she finds out that those big giant Sentinels belong to her…

This really is an epic story, and what’s more, one that actually works. And, what is more, one that changes things and moves the X-Men storylines forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pointless but fun, 10 May 2014
By 
Mr. R. Lanelly "lanelly" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men: Battle of the Atom (Paperback)
I jumped on the x-men series at marvel now after a long absence. I can't believe there is 6 books to read every months plus wolverine and 5 other x force book needed to completely follow the story. This event was created to make sure you bought into all three of the main books. I enjoyed it because I love X-men but it is pointless. Not a bad price for so many issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive disappointment, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Battle of the Atom (Paperback)
Let me start off by saying that I'm getting a bit long in the tooth and have been reading the X-Men on and off for over 45 years. During that period there have been several times when I fell out of love with the series (and the ever expanding and often contradictory Marvel universes) and moved on to more emotionally darker and graphically realistic (in terms of portraying the true effects of violence) comics or the less traditional series which offer quirky artwork and an innovative & humorous spin on serious global themes. However, The Ultimate's and Illuminati storylines, along with the re-launched Guardians of the Galaxy, got me reading Marvel again, and after reading the on-line reviews for 'Battle of the Atom' I thought here was a great opportunity to try and get me more fully up to speed on what's been happening with the X-Men canon... but man, do I wish I hadn't bothered. All I can say is that the vast majority of the volume was a complete and utter disappointment.

One of the major problems is that some of the artwork on show is simply nowhere close to being of the highest quality, but if that wasn't enough, the story-line is also hopelessly fragmented and to be blunt, it is clearly pre-occupied with appealing to a less mature audience, as the comic veers away from numerous opportunities to properly explore and represent the emotions, thoughts and actions of significant individuals in key situations into a more emotionally.

All I can say is that if you're over 30 years of age and can remember the X-Men's golden age, don't bother buying this collection and just wait for the new 'Days of Future Past' movie to hit our local cinema screens next month!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, 2 Feb 2014
This graphic novel is a fun and exciting read, that brings all of the recently scattered X-books together for a fun read. While this is not the greatest X-story ever told it is an quick paced and fun read that you will enjoy.
To sum up, but this you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars omg this is a great read ! buy now!, 4 May 2014
This review is from: X-Men: Battle of the Atom (Paperback)
Loved reading this series its really done well. I have been reading x-men for 15 years and think this is one of the best !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What was the point?, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Nicholas A. Herring "Nick Herring" (Dorset, Poole) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're considering of reading this and excepting a big send off or some sort of a status quo like I was, then you will be sadly disappointed with this book. Nothing happens. This event, crossover or whatever you want to call it make AvX a masterpiece.

I would've preferred if this story arc just focused on All New and Uncanny X-Men. But unfortunately it is not the case. Instead it is stretched through to other X titles. Which is absolutely unnecessary and could of been told in 6 parts with Bendis' titles in half (3 in AN X-Men and 3 in Uncanny). Typical Bendis. He is all talk and no action.

Oh well. I hope his crossover with Guardians of the Galaxy and All New X-Men is better than this tease fest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but flawed, 7 Feb 2014
By 
J. P. Marsh (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've recently caught up again with X-men comics having taken a break following the fiasco that was AVX and having read the All new X-men, Uncanny and Primer titles that all lead up to this event I was intrigued as to what Battle of Atom had in store. The answer is not very much to be honest. Without spoiling too much the general gist is that both factions of the X-men believe its time for the original students brought to the present by Beast to be returned to their own era lest any unravelling of reality occur, this conclusion is further enforced by the unexpected arrival of X-men from the distant future who impress upon the importance of the time line being restored (albeit at the risk of doing more damage by travelling backwards in time themselves). For their part, the students themselves are reluctant to return, especially Jean Grey given what she now knows is in store for her and resent having autonomy taken away from them by a group of strangers and unknown allies. What ensues is the inevitable conflict of ideals between all four X-men teams each believing they're doing the right thing and thus perpetuating the narrative established in Schism and AVX. Personally I found this to be a rather tired story arc as all X-men comics these days involve the teams fighting one another and even dissention among their own ranks. Even by the end there is no real resolution, the villains remain mostly at large, the original students are still in the present and all of the X-men are still bickering amongst themselves. You would have thought that even if Scott Summers remained rogue the majority of the other characters would acknowledge that constant in fighting is a severe handicap to the cause and would push for some sort of reconciliation, but apparently not. My guess is that Battle of the Atom is a precursor to another story that will (judging by the events so far) lead to a conflict between Mutants and SHEILD and whatever form that may take.
Finally in terms of the artwork, whilst it is inconsistent between issues it is by and large acceptable. I always enjoy seeing Chris Bachalo in an X-title, something about his slap-dash cartoony style adds a layer of much needed comic relief.
So overall, whilst this is by no means astonishing its worth reading to keep abreast of current affairs within the X-men series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, self-contained story, 29 Jan 2014
It probably won't go down as one of the most essential X-Men stories ever written, but at the price for this lovely hardback, it's well worth reading! With the X-Men of the Past, Present and Future colliding over the fate of Jean Grey, it makes for a thick, fun read that's worth your time as an X-Men fan, both new or old. Not essential, but worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original X-Men must go home... but do they?, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Battle of the Atom (Paperback)
This graphic novel collects the issues which individually formed the story Battle Of the Atom. The story basically tells of the events which follow after the five original members are brought to the present by Hank McCoy, the present Beast. He wanted to show the original X-Men what their future held and this was explained in a previous set of graphic novels. Battle Of The Atom concerns itself with a future group of X-Men who are intent of ensuring that the original five return back to their correct time and the fast-pacing story uncovers a series of events which have twists and turns and ultimately makes the graphic novel an enjoyable read.
Personally, I would suggest anyone buying this volume to have already purchased the previous graphics in this series - all available on Amazon - and then there is an all-new graphic novel ready to be released later this year which follows future events involving the original five X-Men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men: Battle of the Atom
X-Men: Battle of the Atom by Brian Wood (Paperback - 13 Feb 2014)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews