Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God of Gods
Following on from Thor: God of Thunder, Jason Aaron, Esad Ribic and the rest of the creative team continue the tale of the God Butcher as he faces three Thor's, brought together through time to stop Gorr from unleashing his ultimate weapon of doom, the Godbomb, crafted for 900 years with one intent; destroy all Gods through all time.

This five-part story has...
Published 19 months ago by Culleton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars God of Blunders
Yea and I did look upon thy second tome of Thor, God Of Blunders, and I was not well pleased to see logic and common sense has forsaken this story and Scribe Aaron is determinedly yanking thy beard!

Ok I'm gonna stop talking like that because I can't keep it up. But yeah, this one isn't good. I did read the first volume and had numerous problems with it, but...
Published 14 months ago by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God of Gods, 30 Aug. 2013
By 
Culleton (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
Following on from Thor: God of Thunder, Jason Aaron, Esad Ribic and the rest of the creative team continue the tale of the God Butcher as he faces three Thor's, brought together through time to stop Gorr from unleashing his ultimate weapon of doom, the Godbomb, crafted for 900 years with one intent; destroy all Gods through all time.

This five-part story has the same epic-ness as Aaron's first volume. This time, the younger Thor is enslaved on Gorr's black world, where Gods from across the cosmos have been mining broken moons for Gorr's weapon, which is fuelled by the blood of deities. Thor finds his future self's granddaughters; Atli, Ellisiv and Frigg Wodendottir, the Goddesses of Thunder, and together they formulate an attack on the Godbomd.

Meanwhile, Thor the Avenger and ancient King Thor of Asgard sail through space to join forces with their younger self and face Gorr in one last battle. At each turn though, Gorr is able to thwart the attacks and it seems that he may just be able to carry out his deadly plan and wipe out all Gods from the universe once and for all.

With stunning artwork (including the covers) once more from Esad Ribic, this new era of Thor under the Marvel NOW! revolution just gets better and better. Visually breathtaking, with great scenes, great action and great dialogue, especially between the three Thor's, this story simply must be already among the great classic Thor stories Marvel has ever produced. When you have quality lines such as "Still a few billion light years, but we've got a good solar wind at our backs and ale a plenty." "We've no more ale." "Hela's pale bosom, boy! Go polish thine hammer or practice growing a beard before I cast thy ass overboard!" you can tell this is a Thor script that is NOT from the Stan Lee, Larry Lieber and Jack Kirby era - this is pure 21st century Thor fiction.

And I love it.

If you haven't jumped on the Thor: God of Thunder bandwagon yet, I urge you to do so now. Both volume 1 and this volume (you will definitely need vol 1 before you read this) are utterly brilliant and I thirst for more Thor action by Jason Aaron. I simply haven't got a bad thing to say about this or his first volume. So grab a barrel of mead, buy this, and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars God of Blunders, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
Yea and I did look upon thy second tome of Thor, God Of Blunders, and I was not well pleased to see logic and common sense has forsaken this story and Scribe Aaron is determinedly yanking thy beard!

Ok I'm gonna stop talking like that because I can't keep it up. But yeah, this one isn't good. I did read the first volume and had numerous problems with it, but fans of the series told me, no dude, you're only seeing half of the complete story - you've got to read the second volume to get how awesome it is! So I did - I'm an open-minded guy always on the lookout for awesome comics - but unfortunately no, it wasn't better. In fact it was worse because it made less sense than the first volume!

The story is: a madman called Gorr is killing gods left and right giving him the name The God Butcher. He's built a bomb to kill all of the gods and is determined to set it off, destroying every single god that ever was or will be. Only Thor can stop him - all three of him, past, present and future!

The stuff I liked: as you might expect from having three different Thors showing up, time travel is a factor, and I hate time travel, but Thor does acknowledge the inherent stupidity of time travel as a storytelling concept. I also liked that present Thor and future Thor got drunk and drove their space boat - galactic drunk driving! - which was funny. I liked Thor's granddaughters who're crazy and cool and should get their own series, plus Thor swinging two Mjolnirs is all kinds of awesome. And lastly, I liked the godbomb itself.

The godbomb, when detonated, will explode through time killing every god who ever lived or ever will. While it's so out there conceptually, nuts and over the top, I like that about it. In a story about Thor fighting a time travelling monster through time and space, this doomsday device should be as weird and crazy as it is - it's a Marvel comic after all! It's like Jim Starlin himself came up with it.

That's the good stuff and it's mostly little things. The bad stuff is to do with the bigger aspects of the story. Oh, and fair warning - spoilers ahead.

One of my problems with the first book was that Gorr (Gorr = gore, and he's a butcher, geddit?) didn't have a motivation for doing what he was doing. Well, in the first chapter of this book we see it. Why would a man want to kill a god? It's because he believed in them and they didn't answer his prayers and let his family die. In other words, bad things happening to good people. Oh, boo hoo! Can you get more clichéd? How many times have we seen a man lose his faith and turn against it? Like Jason Aaron's version of Thanos' origin, recasting him with a serial killer mindset, it's unoriginal and deeply unimaginative.

For some reason there's a lot of Christian imagery in a book without any Christians. I get that many people in real life believe in the Judeo-Christian god, but we don't see him (or any Earth deity besides Thor) in the story - so why all the Christian imagery? Gorr crucifies gods left and right (Jesus' death), he allows his god-slaves to rest on the seventh day (the Creation myth), Thor dies and is resurrected three days later (like Jesus), and there are three Thors (the Holy Trinity). It's a contrived idea because these things would mean something to many readers but nothing at all to any of the characters in the book - why is Gorr so enamoured with the Christian religion above all others? We don't know, but we do know he's obsessed with Thor - so why don't we see any references to the Viking religion?

What is a god? Is it just a being with superpowers like Thor who is worshipped by lesser beings - are the X-Men gods? Why do gods need to be worshipped? Why is this concept of a god universal to billions of star systems in the universe? This is inherently a humanistic concept isn't it? And why is there a God of Bombs? Are bombs sentient? Do they worship Shadrak, the God of Bombs? Did he give himself the title? What makes him a god? What makes any of them a god? There must be varying levels of powers, so Thor is obviously a god to humans but what about other alien races to whom he might be less powerful and therefore not a god? In a story where there are literally a billion gods, are they all of the same power level as Thor? If not, why are they considered gods?

If Gorr is able to time-travel whenever he wants to, why not travel to when Thor was a baby and kill him then? Why wait until there are three adult, fully powered Thors to fight (and defeat) him? The god-slaves have somehow secretly built their own bomb without Gorr knowing about it? When past Thor throws this bomb at the Godbomb, he suddenly appears on the ship with present and future Thor - how?!

But probably the most damning plot hole in the book is at the end when present Thor is killed but brought back to life by future Thor. This is why I hate time-travel stories: if present Thor died, future Thor would've died as well, right? They're the same person after all. Future Thor should've disappeared rather than stuck around for three days, giving him the time to raise present Thor back from the dead.

I really tried with this story but I honestly don't know what people love about this comic. Verily it is terribly overrated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get much better than this!, 29 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
The second volume of Jason Aaron's Thor wraps up the tale started in Thor: God of Thunder, and it doesn't disappoint.

This concluding half of the story gives the reader the pay-off we've been waiting for since volume one: the three Thors are united (to some hysterical results), and they take on Gorr in an epic planet-shaking showdown.

It must always be a temptation for writers of Thor to rely on Thor's well established supporting characters to add interest to the book, leaving Thor to simply hit the bad guy with his hammer at the end, but Jason Aaron is to be commended for not going this easy route - no Loki-shaped crutch here in this story, the star of this tale is Thor himself and he's rarely been so entertaining.

Aaron pulls a trick Doctor Who fans will be familiar with, and has the main character argue with his other time-warped incarnations much like the Doctor does in The Three Doctors (and other anniversary stories), and it is as much fun here as it was in Who. This means that the focus is always on Thor, Thor, Thor, making this one of the tightest plotted Thor stories I've read.

In a brave move for a Thor writer, Aaron breaks away from the Simonson template and avoids the Norse myths; neither does he rely on the rest of the established trappings of the Marvel Universe, having none of the book set in Marvel's New York, with its super-villains and heroic guest-stars - Aaron is content to create his own mythology, one that doesn't lean heavily on the past glories of Simonson's legendary run or tap into the Avengers current popularity, and succeeds in making Thor very much his own.

The art is beautiful, with Essad Ribic's accomplished drawing being spectacularly coloured by Ive Svorcina, and it really does stand out as one of the best looking Marvel graphic novels available. The only fly in the ointment is the first chapter, which is a much more workman-like affair from the art-team of penciler Butch Guice and inker Tom Palmer (both talented people in their own right, but this is far from their best work). This is not as jarring as it could be, as the first chapter rather stands alone, it concerning the origins of Gorr and not featuring Thor at all, but it does make the start of the book the weakest and least pleasurable section of the story.

So to sum up:

Thrilling, epic, funny, action-packed story.

No Loki, Warrior's Three, Norse myths or Avengers guest-stars.

Beautiful Ribic/Svorcina art for 5/6ths of the book, disappointing Guice/Palmer art for the first 20 pages.

You don't need to have read any Thor stories or Marvel comics other than the preceding Thor: God of Thunder to understand what's going on; if you don't already own Thor: God of Thunder you should pick that up first.

I think this is one of the best Thor tales in print and have no hesitation in recommending it - it's superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “Perhaps this is one of those alternate futures that the X-Men are always going on about”, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Pink Fluffy Bunny (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
The story which runs through issues #6-11 of Marvel Now’s Thor God of Thunder comic is collected as Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb. This concludes the Thor: God of Thunder story from the preceding volume, though it somehow lacks something the first half had. Maybe I read the first half expecting less that I got, and so read the second half expecting something much more. There is nothing wrong with this volume, and it delivers quite a lot, as we end up with the young Thor from the Viking age joining then God Squad – we even get to meet Allfather Thor’s granddaughters! I suppose that if you liked the first half of this story, then you will like the second half; and if you loved the first half, then you’ll like the second half.

THE SPOILER ZONE
Issue #6 is the origin of the God Butcher – who appears to have acquired a Venom-like symbiote to become the God Butcher. The rest of the story sees Young Thor kidnapped by the God Butcher and taken to his world where he has enslaved the inhabitants of Allfather Thor’s Asgard and is forcing them to build the Godbomb – a device that will kill all gods in the universe. Young Thor stages a breakout, but fails to achieve anything, but is fortunately rescued by the older Thors, who have sailed from Asgard to do final battle with the God Butcher. There is a bit more to it all than that, of course, as we meet some of the enslaved inhabitants of the future Asgard, as well as discovering the true nature of Shadrak, god of Bombs…

This is an entertaining adventure, with much wit in the scripting, especially in the way the time-travel paradoxes are actually discussed and eventually resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whole reason I'm reading comics again, 15 April 2014
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
I had not read a comic or graphic novel in a few of years since I was about sixteen. I wanted to start afresh so I decided to go with this arc, which comes to its epic conclusion in this volume. I was so glad I did as I don't think I had quite frankly seen such bad ass epic art in a while. It's dark, brutal, detailed and also still manages to remain a beautiful fantasy epic. I am really impressed and would recommend it to anyone even those who aren't into comics/graphic novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance from Jason Aaron, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
I really didn't expect this second volume to be as good as the first. It might even be a bit better.

I must have raced through it in no time at all it was that good. The three different Thor's should be confusing and gimmicky but in reality it works really well and the interplay between them is really quite funny. Esad Ribic's art is superb once again and the story ties nicely together at the end. I hope Aaron stays on this book for the foreseeable future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 2 to The God Butcher., 23 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
Great story, but the artwork is extraordinary!

A must buy for Thor fans. I will be following Esad Ribic's art avidly from now on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Thor fans, 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
Probably the best Thor storyling I've read, the three Thors all are entertaining and the GodKiller is still one of the most unsettling enemies Marvel have dreamed up. This final act of his story is a fitting finale that works magnificently...unfortunately this makes the shambles of 'Once upon a time in Midgard' all the harder to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb (Paperback)
Quick delivery. Fab book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb
Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb by Essad Ribic (Paperback - 9 Oct. 2013)
Used & New from: £25.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews