Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "And we're not going back till we're finished over there", 1 July 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
Following the events of AvX and the latest visitation of the Phoenix force, Professor X is dead, Emma Frost has lost her psychic abilities, new mutants are appearing every day, Scott Summers and Magneto are now leading a group of `Mutant Terrorists', and Hank McCoy is suffering another bout of mutation. This time the strain will kill him, so he decides to fix everything before he goes by hopping back into the past and bringing the original X-Men into the future to confront Scott Summers and shock him back on to the straight and narrow. However, as the saying goes, once you let the Jeanie out of the bottle... "Were not going back. I've seen everything that gets us to this point. I'm not having it... We put things the way they're supposed to be. And then we go back. Xavier can mind wipe the hell out of us".

"This will never work", I thought, until I read it. It really is very, very good. I doubt they'll be allowed to fix everything, comics being what they are and all, but at hopefully it'll be an interesting story; and they have already told us how the original time-line will be unaffected - unless that's a future `big event', of course.

This is an excellently-written story, with excellent artwork, and plenty of humour, despite the bleak situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comic, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
I loved this comic book, it is expertly written and the artwork is amazing. A small low down of the story is that Beast brings the original X-men forward to our time in a hope that Cyclops will see what he has become. They then decide to stay. This book is amazing and i'm definitely purchasing the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting enough., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
I was kept interested all the way through just not sure whether I want to carry on following the story myself. Maybe you will, Definitely worth a gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
This is a must!

The concept is a little contrived - but then we expect that from a world peopled with mutant super-heroes.

Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuity, The 'Jean' Factor, Logic and Good Rationale., 26 April 2013
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
Well hats off to Marvel, they finally found a way to bring Jean Grey back without jarring anything, and in fact fitting it neatly into the previous story arcs. **Warning possible spoilers here but it is difficult to explain why I enjoyed this volume so much without going into some aspects of the narrative...
Set in post AvX; An ailing, beset by more mutant alterations, Hank McCoy is horrified at the train wreck Scott Summers has become and the danger his actions are placing the Mutant Race in. Hank's solution is to travel back in time using a modified device invented by Reed Richards and Tony Stark to when the X-Men were Ivy League `knights' and convince the younger X-men to travel back with him to confront `Present Day' Summers in the hope this will shake him up. This works nicely as Hank was voicing concerns over Scott's behaviour way back when Scott was portrayed as the consummate general/politician/diplomat/leader, so hello hubris. Shocked at this revelation the young X-men journey (back/forward) with him.
Scott with Magento and Magik meanwhile have been identifying new mutants and hauling them to the `Xavier' school (the old Weapon X facility-not anywhere as cheerful as the Jean Grey establishment). All is falling apart though since the Phoenix incident; some mutants' powers have been diminished, Emma's seriously ticked off with Scott (and lost her elegance in both wit and use of English); disturbingly the only one seeming to be having a good time is Magik. Scott is now in the position Xavier was a few years back after The Messiah Complex, with everyone lining up to tell him to shape up and what a rotten job he is doing.
When Past and Present or Present and Future collide all sorts of sparks start to fly, but the narrative keeps on going. Jean has to come to terms with her turbulent futures, and increasing powers. Two Hanks work on the ethics of the situation and the dynamics of saving `Blue' Hank from dying. Two Bobbys are the light relief. The Scotts are naturally angst ridden, although Scott The Younger's more measured response is a good illustration of the how obsessive and petulent his older self has become. And just in case anyone thinks he's there to make up the numbers Warren does not like any part of the idea and asks the very awkward question as to where is his older self. Storm provides a good mature sense of anger at Scott, Wolverine is naturally annoyed at everyone but at times is relegated to a sort of comic relief, which for a very over-used character is not a bad thing. Kitty is the one who seems to be taking rational charge of the overall response to the situation. And Emma now has to live in a world with The Jean Grey.
So this story juggles many themes and plot lines and makes the whole thing work. The art conveys some spectacular imagery in particular the two page spread of Jean seeing her whole future before her (except she's split down the two pages, so unless you nearly break the spine of the TPB she looks slightly cross-eyed); although the one page montage of X-men faces and the older Scott's tortured thinking process runs a close second.
The possible damage to the space-time continuum is addressed, and the possible solution for Young X-men when they get back to their own era, because technically having advanced knowledge would mean they would change the Future (or Present). The only question is; where was Xavier when his school was being disrupted by a time travelling character who proceeded to shake the living daylights out of his students, and then haul them off to the future. We would have thought this powerful telepath might of noticed, since apparently he was on campus? Or maybe we have other surprises in store in latter stories. For the Young X-Men have voted to stay in this Their Future to try and make good the damage, though there's that reluctance of Warren's...
Of late there have a been a number of wayward storylines in the X-men world, which whereas some were OK in themselves; at times they tended to suggest little groups working in very isolated boxes with no interaction. This volume covers wide issues and acrries on logically from the events in Schism and AvX and possibly smooths over some of the concerns about those story lines by suggesting quite a few exciting possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
Interesting story and great drawings. As always a great Marvel comic with all the actions it requires, I Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmen at their best, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
Great art work, loved the story line and the unusual direction its going in.
Unusual or back to simpler times?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday (Paperback)
All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday is an amazing look in to both the past and future of the X-Men, the artwork is fantastic and the storylines equal amazing, well worth purchasing for any X-Men fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday
All-New X-Men: Here Comes Yesterday by Stuart Immonen (Paperback - 8 April 2013)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews