Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Spider-Boy
This volume reprints Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #1-5, and Ultimate Comics Fallout #4. This is the latest Ultimate universe series to feature a Spider-person, and is an excellent read, seamlessly fitting in to the Ultimate universe, and even retrofitting itself into the Death of Spider-Man storyline. Schoolboy Miles Morales gets bitten by a genetically-engineered spider...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame it had to end
A good book sees an end to Spiderman as we know him in the ultimates universe. It all seemed a bit rushed for my liking, with the story not so much coming to an end but rather crashing there. If this was done for shock effect it didn't really work. but still I read it and enjoyed it. Just could ahve done with another 50 or so pages.
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Supersi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Spider-Boy, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man (Paperback)
This volume reprints Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #1-5, and Ultimate Comics Fallout #4. This is the latest Ultimate universe series to feature a Spider-person, and is an excellent read, seamlessly fitting in to the Ultimate universe, and even retrofitting itself into the Death of Spider-Man storyline. Schoolboy Miles Morales gets bitten by a genetically-engineered spider that co-incidentally escaped from a Norman Osborn facility while Osborn is having a tantrum (before the events of the Death of Spider-Man). He goes through the usual phases of fear, denial, rescuing people from certain death, and finally witnessing the death (or at least the funeral) of a hero before accepting his destiny and putting on a Halloween Spider-Man costume ("That is in terrible taste") to take up the mantle of Peter Parker, before being zapped by a Spider-Woman and waking up in the Triskelion:
S-M: "I didn't do anything!"
Fury: "What did he do?"
S-W: Hello? Look at him!"
Fury: "Not exactly a federal offence."
Stark: "His blood work is back. This kid's the real deal."
S-W: "What does that mean?"
Hawkeye: "Another one?"
S-W; "How can this be?"
Hawkeye: "Did you try asking him?"
S-W: "Yes!"
Hawkeye: "Before or after you hit him?"
S-W: "Well..."
Fury: "Everybody out."
Then we have the "with great power" discussion, and then Electro escapes from holding. Guess who beats him after three Ultimates fail? And then gets sent home with a new costume...

And so it begins.

Then, in Ultimate Comics Fallout #4, Reed Richards escapes from the Negative Zone, and Valerie Cooper has lunch with a reporter who has just discovered that a US Government experiment created mutants.

And so other stuff begins.

Further Reading
Spider-Men
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 14 July 2012
By 
r (grays, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man (Paperback)
Well it's instantly obvious that this is going to be an incredibly enjoyable spiderman. The new suit is also brilliant and of course the most important thing the story was great, the writing is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame it had to end, 9 Jan 2012
By 
A good book sees an end to Spiderman as we know him in the ultimates universe. It all seemed a bit rushed for my liking, with the story not so much coming to an end but rather crashing there. If this was done for shock effect it didn't really work. but still I read it and enjoyed it. Just could ahve done with another 50 or so pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, 28 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series, the previous volume left me wanting more. The writing is again excellent, the Ultimates series is great for anyone who wasn't really there to see the beginnings of any other spidey-canon, or people who want a refreshing look on the lore of Marvel as a whole.

The volume is thick and the art is beautiful. Not my favourite artists of the Ultimate Spider-Man works, but this isn't that series any more, please bare that in mind when buying this. The writing is the same, to a great standard, but this has changed hands a lot since the first imaginings of Ultimate Spider-Man Issue 1.

It has the core of what it had in its early days, and is still a fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thanks, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man (Paperback)
Thanks again nothing else to say. . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spider-Man Essential, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing Book Collection, The Characters Are Fantastic, The Stories In This Book Are Great, Marvel Fan Item, 100% Well Worth Purchasing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great start, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man (Paperback)
A great comic, with good writing and interesting characters, launching what will hopefully be an awesome series. No.2 is already on my wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming end to a fantastic series, 7 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think Ultimate Spider-Man is one of the greatest Marvel series ever, B.M. Bendis is truly a genius (check out his awesome Powers series if you haven't already!)

This is another high quality installment in the series but to be honest as a conclusion to such an amazing run it left me wanting.

Bendis' writing is snappy and engaging as always and it was great to have Bagley back to finish what he started. That wasn't the problem.

From the title of the book it's not a spoiler to say that this is where Parker bites the dust. As with any popular comic book series(or TV show) which has run for a long time, to try and give it a satisfying ending in just one 'episode' is virtually impossible. As with the last episode of Lost etc, there are many threads of the story which are not tied up in a perfect bow. I guess one of the main reasons I was unsatisfied with the ending is that I didn't see why it had to end at all!

I almost felt that this volume changes the tone of the entire series. The moral of the story now seems to be "If you get super powers then for God's sake don't become a super hero or this is what will happen". It turns out Parker really was out of his depth all this time and probably lucky to have survived this long.

Oh, and the "Ultimate Spider-Man Super Special #1" tacked on at the end after you've just seen Parker's untimely death was unnecessary and felt completely disjointed. It is drawn by about a hundred different artists, all taking a couple of pages each. A nice idea but it came off as filler, epecially when what you actually want to see is the fall-out of Parkers's demise, how did it effect all the other supporting characters?

This is an absolutely essential purchase to complete the collection if you have the rest (obviously), just don't expect to be happy when you get to the last page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye, Ultimate Spider-Man. Rest in peace and thank you., 19 May 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
It seemed like only yesterday when Marvel unveiled Ultimate Spider-Man to the world. In 2000(!), Marvel debuted a brand new reinvention of Marvel's flagship superhero for a brand new generation of readers. With legends Brian Michael Bendis and Mark Bagley at the helm, Ultimate Spider-Man retold the story of Peter Parker and his life in the new millennium.

From an all-round standpoint, Ultimate Spider-Man has been a fantastic hit. With a refreshing take on the teenage webslinger - and the art and writing to back it up - we came to love Peter Parker, Mary Jane, Aunt May and a host of legendary characters all over again. Throughout so many unforgettable arcs - the origin of Spider-Man, his personal clashes with the Green Goblin, Doctor Octopus, Venom and Carnage, the wall-crawler's losses and the ups-and-downs of his relationships with Aunt May, MJ, Gwen Stacy, Harry Osborn & Kitty Pryde of the X-Men - this Peter Parker has survived and triumphed them all, becoming the equal of the mainstream Spider-Man originally created by Stan Lee and Steve Ditko.

To be honest, though...I wondered how much longer it would last.

After the abomination that was Ultimatum, too many Ultimate Marvel heroes and villains were killed off left, right and centre. Peter Parker and his family were miraculously some of the few to survive the insanity. But Marvel's Ultimate line had taken SUCH a battering because of the ridiculous crossover that you would left wondering how much longer Ultimate Spider-Man would last. Could it carry on as brightly as it once did?

It would seem not. When Marvel announced "The Death of Spider-Man", I was shocked for about five minutes before I realised that it was for the best. With the Ultimate line essentially ruined forever after Ultimatum, there was little point in keeping Ultimate Spider-Man going. It had served its purpose and with the mainstream Spidey comics destined to go on forever, and all the stories that could be told with THIS Peter Parker done and dusted...the ultimate end seemed natural and nigh.

Major cataclysmic events in comics have proven to be legendary in their ability to actually go through with their promise. I mean, who could ever forget the classic "Death of Superman" event from 1993? Or "Spider-Man: The Other"? Where the mainstream wall-crawler actually died in battle against Morlun? But what sets Ultimate Spider-Man: Death of Spider-Man above those stories is that there's no turning back from this one. No coming back to life like Superman or the regular Spider-Man...ULTIMATE Peter Parker is going and he's not coming back.

There's a real feel of legitimacy about this "Death" arc, but it's not just the ability to truly believe in what's happening that makes it such a plausible, powerful and epic story. Everything that fans have come to expect and love about Ultimate Spider-Man is right here for the ultimate send-off. Not only will your heart break and your soul be reduced to tears...you will be lauding this incarnation of the web-slinger as one of the greatest heroes in comic-book history.

Back together for the final hurrah are the original masterminds behind Ultimate Spider-Man; writer Brian Michael Bendis & artist Mark Bagley. Simply put, they are on FORM here. This creative team is one of my all-time favourite pairings and it was the logical thing to do to bring them back together for the swansong. From Bendis' excellent plotting and perfect, realistic dialogue to Bagley's gorgeous, unmatched and human-esque artwork, the Death of Spider-Man is like any of their other work together you could pick from Ultimate Spider-Man; absolutely excellent with the perfect blend of emotion and excitement.

Really, if this was going to be Peter Parker's final battle, then it had to be big, it had to be psychological and it had to feature his creator and arch-nemesis Norman Osborn a.k.a. the Green Goblin. So many of the web-head's most nightmarish and violent encounters were against Osborn, so to bring him back after his supposed death in "Death of a Goblin" for his REAL finale was again logical. Granted, the manner in which Osborn `comes back from the grave' is such a contrived hash-job, but because his role in this is so major, I can easily forgive and forget. The Goblin is truly at his most frightening, most monstrous and deadliest here. Between Bendis' writing him as so utterly insane, cold and ruthless and Bagley's stunningly nightmarish visuals, this truly makes for Peter's biggest (and gravest) challenge ever.

But the true star here is definitely Spidey. Time and again, he has suffered and struggled, fought and lost, more than any human being should. What he has experienced is something no one Peter's age should ever have suffered. You feel Peter's pain and agony (both physically and emotionally) more than you've ever felt them before. Yet in spite of all that, in spite of all the put-downs and curses, he's a true hero who's still able to crack jokes, spit in the face of adversity and defend all he loves and all others from the Goblin and his other deadliest foes.

Because as we all know...with great power, comes great responsibility.

Featuring plenty of shocks, real drama, anger and tears, and strong supporting roles from Aunt May, MJ, Gwen, Johnny Storm (the Human Torch) & Bobby Drake (Iceman), Death of Spider-Man is one of those heroic, heartbreaking tearjerkers that all fans MUST check out. Loyal readers who have followed Ultimate Spider-Man for all those years are given the pay-off they deserve. This pays so much more respect to Ultimate Marvel fans and its legacy than the Ultimatum disgrace was able to do and the wonderful bonus Ultimate Spider-Man Super Special included should make us all reflect what a legendary ride it was. And how we should not just be mourning...but celebrating greatness.

All hail Ultimate Spider-Man. Rest in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic comic to say goodbye to peter parker and the USM series, 13 Sep 2011
Ultimate peter parker has not only been a typical comicbook charatcher but to me,ult pete has been with me for years and, as a fan of the ultimate spider-man series for a very long time i was nervous if wherever peter parker to going to die, a charatcher who,ve i,ve been reading since the start, a charatcher who's many semed like a friend for all over the years, if marvel where going to actualy kill off pete, then there was no other way to say it : i would be done with the UU as well as marvel competely, however though( don,t read ahead for spoilers)despite marvel really did kill pete off, i wasen't disapointed. Marvel sent off pete in a very brillant way, contributing to ult. pete as well as the USM series as a whole fantastily. This book reminded me of all the great times i've read ultimate spider-man. Marvel killed off a great super-hero in spectacular stlye with a show-down you,ll never forget. This book defines why Brian michael bendis is one of the very best comicbook writers of all time. Mark bagley's return for art-duties was amazing, out of all of every ult. spider-man trade, it's easily to see that this is is best art-work ever on ultimate spider-man. The colouring is fun to look at with the colour's looking very rich and deep, creating a atmosphere to draw you in. If your a ult. spider-man fan pick this up! If you hate typical gimmmicks killing super-hero's either way pick this up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man
Ultimate Comics: Spider-Man by Sara Pichelli (Paperback - 20 Mar 2012)
11.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews