Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good solid X-Men read., 12 Jan 2012
Finally, for the first time in recent months, the X-Men gets a decent story which changes the X-Men dynamics forever.

Jason Arron comes into the X-Men to show what he can do and he really does pull it off. The X-Men have a situation that has to be dealt with and is very serious to the point where it will change one of the characters forever. Cyclops wants to go one way and Wolverine strongly wants to go the other. This leads to one massive SCHISM through the centre of the X-Men that again, really does change the X-Men universe for the forceable future. The writing of the comic is great. Its very easy to read whilst setting up a world which you can be completely engrossed in and something that I really do wish Marvel do this more often, is that with every issue the artist changes. This was obviously to make sure the individual issues coming out every month were out on time, but when the five artists are as good as the ones here, its a real treat.

If anything, the only downside to this book is the final few issues. For some reason, the book goes a little bit...mental...crazy perhaps and I use didn't get it. Anyhow, it is a very minor thing that doesn't take away how great this story is.

So to cut this short, I think this book is great. Its a well written, well drawn collection that in it oversized form, looks superb in anyones collection. An essential read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in the X-Men Saga, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
There is so much to write about this, but seeing as everyone before me has accurately nailed down the salient points I'll just add my own perceptions. Yes here it comes the showdown between Cyclops and Wolverine and of course it comes at the most inopportune juncture, courageous move by the Marvel team to portray these two experienced and stalwart X-men losing it in momentous style just when cool heads needed to be shown, with so much ground to cover I guess there was no opportunity to write in other veteran x-men trying to bash their egos together. I loved the fact that the story drew me in so much that I was actually shouting (in a minor way) for the pair of them to stop it! Now that's storytelling at its best getting the reader engaged. The handling of 'Generation Hope' team's own issues was another skilful piece of work and you just have to compassion for poor Idie grim coming of age; this TPB signals just how much potential there is in the characters in this team. The splitting of the community with its alternating panelling of an allegorical fight between two alpha caveman males was both impressive and poignant. Then there are the strands of sardonic humour running through the episode when all nations' obsolete sentinels run amok; one of the Cuckoos telling Fantomex he does not have clearance to crash a sentinel into an Italian football stadium is never going to grow old! Several artists involved and all with excellent artwork conveying both action and emotion.
I gripe too about the Evil Children! They were like a Tim Burton take on 'The Mystery Machine'. Them taking down expereinced X-Men? Just plain silly. Hurry up Sebastian Shaw get back here and dispose of the annoying little wretches, and Marvel if you must use them, just keep them for comic episodes where they belong. I dropped one star for their inclusion.
OK moan over; this was a great collection, sets up so many strands for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whose side are you on?, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Noel - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
SPOILERS

The X-Men have started their own mutant nation, a small island off the coast of California named Utopia, in a bid to create an identity and safe haven for themselves. But following an anarchist mutant attack on the United Nations, the world's nations activate old Sentinels which quickly prove their age by causing havoc to humans rather than mutants - X-Men to the rescue! Meanwhile the Hellfire Club undergo a rebranding and a new leader with no qualms about setting loose a dangerous new type of machine, one that seems unstoppable, and sets its sights on Utopia. With the X-Men scattered across the globe dealing with the Sentinel threat, Cyclops, leader of Utopia, is given the choice of abandoning the island or doing the unthinkable - conscripting mutant children to put their lives on the line to save the fledgling nation.

Jason Aaron gets the ball rolling nicely on this well put together and vastly interesting new series for the X-Men. I like the idea of Utopia though I felt the Westchester Academy was kind of the same thing. Until it was destroyed of course. The book hinges upon the decision Cyclops faces and which Wolverine is completely against doing - asking kids to fight for them.

The "Schism" of the title is about the conflict between Cyclops and Wolverine's different leadership styles and their own views on what Utopia stands for - are they training mutants to become X-Men or are they teaching them how to live better lives with their powers? The train/teach difference reflects Cyclops' current world view which is about establishing safety for the mutants of the world, while the other is Xavier's legacy of uniting the world through shared understanding. The resulting fight between Cyclops and Wolverine is gripping reading and the mutants of the world become split between one vision of the world and the other. It's like "Civil War" but for the X-Men only.

The one gripe I will say is about the Hellfire Club - hyper-intelligent and black-hearted 10 year olds, really? 10 year olds? It just looked silly. Either way, this is the most interesting X-Men storyline the series has had in years and I look forward to the coming stories following this split.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Different To The Prelude, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. N. Locke (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
As someone relatively new to the comic/graphic novel world I know how hard and confusing it can be to find a 'way in' when faced with hundreds of different titles containing the same characters but entirely different stories and periods of time. 'X-Men Schism' would, with a bit of background knowledge*, be a good starting point for anyone looking for a way in to the X-Men Universe.

What total newcomers need to know is that the vast majority of books like these are simply a compilation of individual issues released in one piece, a bit like a DVD boxset of a TV series. This compilation tells the story of the X-Men, being some of the worlds few remaining mutants, facing yet another attack from the human race and having to decide whether or not to defend Utopia or to run and go elsewhere. The schism (divide) title comes from the disagreement between Wolverine and Cyclops who in recent times have been very close.

This is a very good read and quite a page-turner. It also leaves an interesting ending which will leave the readers themselves questioning their opinions on the events.

* Since a day called 'M-Day' the number of mutants on the planet has dramatically fallen to just a few hundred. Professor Xavier's school no longer exists and the majority of mutants now live on a small rocky island christened 'Utopia'. It is here that the X-Men exist with Wolverine and Cyclops being the most respected on the island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Pulls No Punches, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. J. Emblen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
Schism is an epic X-Men read.

The Hellfire Club and Sentinels both return to trigger a clash between the X-Men's 2 strongest personalities; Cyclops and Wolverine. This story is balanced and well paced, growing more and more intense until an epic scrap on the shores of Utopia.

I have given Schism 5 Stars because it sees the X-Men back at their best. In my opinion, this is when they deal with the hard-hitting issues. Schism is certainly in that bracket. Cyclops and Wolverine tussle over contrasting views on morality; what is right and what is wrong? Do the ends justify the means?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bought a a prezzie, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
but it was very gratefully received and is now one of the most thumbed due to having been passed around the friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING STUFF, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST WRITTEN X STORY EVER, THE STORY FLOWS WITH SUCH ELOQUENCE, THE CHARACTER IS GREAT AS IS THE ART AND THE PLOT LINE CENTERING CYCLOPSE AND WOLVERINE MAKE THIS A PURE DELIGHT TO READ AND RE READ AND RE READ, IT IS THAT GOOD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
Read if you love x-men.
Great storyline, fantastic Artwork.
Good one to read if you are into the latest x-men vs avengers storyline, or if you just fancy getting into something new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men:Schism, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Schism (Paperback)
Its been building from the moment they met and now after all these years Wolverine and Cyclops decide to settle their differences. I could say more but that would just spoil a book that I can cannot recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4611774)

This product

X-Men: Schism
X-Men: Schism by Alan Davis (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews