Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near perfect event
I have waited a long time to buy Siege, because the reviews here on Amazon weren't quite that positive. Finally, it was
Tyler S's review that convinced me to buy it and surprisingly, I wasn't disappointed at all.

Why the surprise? Well, the last event book I have read was Bendis' Doomsday and I must say I was deeply disappointed. I
absolutely adored...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by Martin Holub

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good ending to the Dark Reign
I like Siege but it just doesn't live up to previous (and future) marvel novels.
Basically what it is, is just a huge battle including Norman Osborn's avengers, HAMMER, Asgardians, the hood's gang and the new avengers (including the newly reformed cap). The lead up is ok and I especially liked Ares speech but it is all short lived and is quickly rushed into battle...
Published 6 months ago by Nicksou


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near perfect event, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Martin Holub (Prague, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Siege Premiere HC (Hardcover)
I have waited a long time to buy Siege, because the reviews here on Amazon weren't quite that positive. Finally, it was
Tyler S's review that convinced me to buy it and surprisingly, I wasn't disappointed at all.

Why the surprise? Well, the last event book I have read was Bendis' Doomsday and I must say I was deeply disappointed. I
absolutely adored his work on Ultimate Spider-Man and New Avengers, and couldn't for the life of me understand how he
could create such an improbable, overly convoluted story, in which Ultimate Reed Richards acts so much out of character
it's not even funny (much like the book itself). The somewhat-event story that I had read before Doomsday, Ultimate
Origins, wasn't bad, but at the same time wasn't that great either. Actually, come to think of it, the only event book in
the last years that struck me as being really interesting was Millar's Civil War (the idea itself brought a new drive to
the stagnating Marvel Universe). Okay, back to Siege, and what's good about it.

Well, pretty much everything.

Bendis handles the characters really well and takes care to make each of them distinctive dialogue-wise. The pacing is
excellent (the story drives forward like a bull on steroids), the high quality one-liners are back and the overall
atmosphere of the book is amazing, with a deep sense of a really epic event.
Coipel's art is no less spectacular, and gives Bendis' script a powerful visual voice (wow, that was a weird collocation).
The (SPOILER WARNING) destruction of Asgard and the battle between Sentry and Ares are the obvious highlights of Coipel's
work, but I really appreciated his composition in "subtler" scenes like the reflection of Cap's oncoming shield on Iron
Patriot's head or a shot of Donald Blake about to change to Thor with combat jets flying overhead.

Concerning the Norman Osborn/Green Goblin "transformation" and the final fight with Sentry, which seem to be the most
criticised elements of the book, I was not nearly as disappointed as other readers. I do not find Osborn's change to be
"sudden" or "improbable", simply because Bendis has been setting up the Goblin persona to take over his behavior more and
more towards the Siege event, and it is only logical that his inner rage would completely take over once Osborn lost
everything.
The same goes for the final Sentry smackdown which some considered to be rather anticlimatic and again, improbable: the
guy gets pounded on by Thor, then the entire Avengers empowered by the stones of Norn, then a helicarrier crashes on top
of his head and then it's back to Thor's hammer justice once again, at the end of which his remains are cast into the Sun.
Well, that would pretty much do for anyone, in my opinion...

Okay, enough with the compliments! Why does it get only four stars, you ask? For all its qualities, the Siege is still
only a slugfest. Granted, perfectly executed and put together, but a slugfest nonetheless. Five stars should I think be
reserved for works of immense and long-lasting importance, such as the Watchmen or Sandman, or exceptional longer runs on
regular series.

Other than that, if you are not sure whether or not to buy it - I'd definitely say go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as a graphic novel can be in the mainstream MU context, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Andre Nobrega (Porto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
It took me just a couple of very intensive reading hours to get through Siege. I had read some of Brian Michael Bendis' work before, as Powers, House of M and Civil War but this time he hit the spot. I couldn't stop reading until I reached the end and I would have continued all night long if there was more.
"The Marvel Universe is under the control of its greatest villains. Norman Osborn - the man previously known to the world as the Green Goblin - is the commander of H.A.M.M.E.R., the international peacekeeping force." This part of the story starts with Siege: The Cabal, where the reader is shown Osborn's madness is again overwhelming him. As he goes paranoid and while, after losing Namor and Emma Frost's support, Doom leaves the cabal and actually attacks him, Norman is seen falling prey to Loki's mischief. Afterwards the book collects Siege #1-4, where the attack on Asgard actually happens and comes to a somewhat surprising and close to apocalyptic end.
Siege is a very interesting story from the beginning, having its roots in the latest big Marvel events, probably better noticed by those following the cabal and also Thor, told just at the right pace to make the reader feel excited but not like jumping pages to the end. It's easily understood by anyone that knows what's generally been happening in the Marvel Universe. The war on Asgard allows the author to bring a lot of heroes and villains into play and still be able to peek into their personal troubles, their personality, so that by the end of this event, everything could change or just come back to normal, and all would be fairly within limits of credibility.
SPOILERS
As Osborn's, the full power of H.A.M.M.E.R. and the initiative are attacking Asgard, Steve Rogers gets the true Avengers into play, joined by Fury's Secret Warriors and later by a still recovering Iron Man into play. They manage to beat the attacking forces and disable the Iron Patriot armour but there is still one force to contend with - the "also" mentally unstable Sentry. Finally losing all control, Robert Reynolds fully unleashes the Void after destroying Asgard and becomes a danger to the whole world. When even the might of Thor's lightning and the heroes empowered by the Norn stones seem unable to stop him, Iron Man remotely crashes the H.A.M.M.E.R. helicarrier on him making him revert to human form. Reynolds begs the heroes to kill him and when they notice he is again losing control over the Void, Thor does just that and burns his body on the sun. In this single event, Thor has shown the extent of his determination, Loki demonstrated that even he cares for Asgard's existence over his own plans, Iron Man and Steve Rogers made heroic comebacks and in the end, friendships seem renewed.
NO MORE SPOILERS
The Siege of Asgard, together with the X-men's Utopia stories, reset the Marvel Universe, preparing it for a Heroic Age, which seems to want to prove that after all the trouble, through the Civil War and the Secret Invasion, the superheroes can still find their old places in the world, as recognized defenders but also as friends with hopes of happiness. But any Marvel reader knows this will not be the end of the story, that problems will keep coming and the cycle will begin again, so all I can ask of the writers is that they do so in style, with the quality that Brian Michael Bendis showed in Siege. I must also make due reference to the amazing illustrations, penciled by Olivier Coipel or, in The Cabal, by Michael Lark. If not a masterpiece, in level with what can be done with separate, more independent graphic novels as Maus, Persepolis, Watchmen or even Sandman are considered (I still have to read some of those), I believe Siege is as good a novel as I've ever seen given its context.
I recommend Siege for all of Marvel's usual readers as I believe only those with enough knowledge of the current state of affairs in the Marvel Universe and of most of the characters can enjoy all that this graphic novel has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Siege hardcover, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: Siege Premiere HC (Hardcover)
Siege is nothing ground breaking, its a relatively simple story which i dont want to spoil or cover here because thats why you should read it. Its solid writing, with great art and unlike most events is only 4 issues long. Its also a great jumping on point if you cant be bothered to go and find all the dark reign stuff that came before because it ties things up nicely to move into the heroic age. So from that perspective i can defintiely recommend it.
I wanted to comment more on the core story and all the ties ins. with any event i want to read the important issues, those that count. Unfortunately most events have a lot of pointless tie ins, and i have now read all related hardcovers and can confirm that aside from the core hardcover, you want to pick up the Thor hardcover and the dark avengers only. Siege embedded was filler and didnt add anything for me, new avengers was just tagged on because they had to but also brings nothing new to the story, and battlefield has one or 2 interesting stories but by and large if you want the core experience i can only recommend the 3 above.

All in all a good story but only 2 other hardcovers are needed for the full reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good (but short) superhero story, 9 May 2014
By 
Mr. T. E. Rochester (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
I bought Siege a little while ago, but have recently re-read it, so decided to review it!

Siege tells the tale of Norman Osborn, now head of HAMMER following Secret Invasion, and his team of Dark Avengers as he launches an assault on Asgard, which is somehow hovering 12ft above Oklahoma... (How Asgard got there is never explained, either in this volume OR "Siege: Prelude", which is a little frustrating!!).

This story serves as the culmination of several major plotlines, such as Civil War and Secret Invasion, so it would help if you had read those to appreciate exactly why each character is doing what they're doing. For example, Captain America is "back" in this one - do you know where has he been?

As for the plot, it opens with Siege: The Cabal, which finally breaks apart The Cabal of evil supervillains led by Osborn, and we see his mind starting to unravel back to the Green Goblin too. Then we have 4 issues of "Siege" itself (though as another reviewer points out, its more of a battle than a siege!). The battle opens with Norman's attack and Thor arriving to rescue his people. (But again, I have no idea what he was doing with Maria Hill and an injured Tony Stark...). Part 2 the battle escalates and Steve Rogers joins up with Nick Fury (and their respective teams) to defend Asgard. There is a brutal death in this episode. Part 3 escalates even further, and Iron Man makes an appearance. Then Part 4... well. Lets just say Osborn isn't the biggest problem the superheroes face!! Two more characters die in this part. Overall, the story ends with a ray of hope for "what comes next" in the future Marvel comics.
At the end of each issue is a "recorded interview" of text which fills in the background to a particular part of that issues plot, EG Nick Fury's initial meeting with his team before they go and join with Cap's.

I would've preferred this to have been an issue or 2 longer, but as it is, and with the tie-in spin-off collections, the gaps are filled in or information is expanded.

Do buy it if you're a fan of all your favourite heroes in the same issue!! But be warned that without the background knowledge, some plotlines may fly over your head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comic, especially for Thor/Loki fans, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
I wanted to buy an Avengers comic which contained the movie characters and also told a good story. Siege was a brilliant choice because it delved into the Thor and Loki relationship which was central to Thor (2011) and Avengers (2012). It also had a lot of villains like Iron Patriot (Norman Osborn) and since I have not read Spider-Man yet, I was intrigued to learn more about his motives. This is a must read especially for those who have read Dark Reflections which contained a number of adversaries who were now mirror images of the good guys. All in all, this was a particularly interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good ending to the Dark Reign, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
I like Siege but it just doesn't live up to previous (and future) marvel novels.
Basically what it is, is just a huge battle including Norman Osborn's avengers, HAMMER, Asgardians, the hood's gang and the new avengers (including the newly reformed cap). The lead up is ok and I especially liked Ares speech but it is all short lived and is quickly rushed into battle. That method doesn't really work and it should be spread because now the battle takes up almost all the whole book.
One or two character do die which is good but its nothing major, its more how they dies which is a shock. The Sentry is good in this but to me he is too powerful; from his average flying self to an enormous 'void' monster later, it doesn't make sense.
OVERALL SUMMARY:
Story:3
Art:4
Originality:3
Price:4.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Siege, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
A plus all around. nice story telling, nice art work, nice WOW factor. you need to have this one all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The battlefield thunders, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
With Norman Osborn and his Dark Avengers in power the former Green Goblin now Iron Patriot is determined to show he's in power and control. The only force left to potentially stand in his way is that of Asgard. Since it appeared in America and how hovering over its soil the Asgardians have tried to live in peace under the protection of its mighty warriors as well as Thor himself. But using the villains known as U-Foes to cause a incident which would make Asgard look like a threat Osborn disobeys orders from the President himself and brings the entirety of his forces and H.A.M.M.E.R down on Asgard.
With hope seemed lost old wounds must be healed, finally saying 'enough is enough' Steve Rogers aka Captain America assembles former team mates, members of the Young Avengers and even former Shield members to fight back. The stage is set for a climatic battle between good and evil, but even with Cap, Iron Man and Thor together again Osborn is determined to not be stopped, even if it means unleashing the full force of the Sentry.

After a year of events that led Marvel's finest down a path of darkness and saw villains become heroes Siege is a breath of fresh air and gives us a story which is pure awesome. Fantastically written and beautifully drawn this story is a must for any Marvel fan. Showing once again the classic teamwork and friendship between the heroes its just wonderful to see them together against the odds and never giving up. I've not read much about the Dark Avengers or the Dark Reign Arc but if your like me and in the same boat don't worry, this does not ruin the book at all.
I cannot recommend this enough, I've told my friends about it and some of them even went and bought it. If you want a classic tale of good vs evil then pick up Siege. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate battle!, 23 Feb 2013
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
Look, this book is pretty amazing. No, it doesn't really fire on any deep emotional or philosophical levels but for sheer awesome mindblowing entertainment it is a real winner! So, if you like a story where all the heroes of the world come together to fight the combined forces of evil and a spell-bindingly epic way, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 13 Dec 2012
This review is from: Siege (Paperback)
just read Siege and i liked it the plot was good,it was well drawn but was lacking,there was WAY to many background characters who did nothing,you never saw them do anything.this might be as every marvel event has a million tie-ins which im too poor and lazy to read. Some characters seemed out of character,like Thor,Brian Bendis doesn't get how Thor speaks.or in one panel Spider-man swears,little things really, its enjoyable but lacks something 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Siege
Siege by Brian Michael Bendis (Paperback - 15 July 2010)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews