Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Skrullness!!!
Everyone knows the Skrulls from the Fantatic Four and wants to see them again but using there full potential. This is the book that gives you everything you would want from a graphics novel. Its a lot easier to read than other graphics novels as this is more light hearted and does not incorporate a lot of other stories from other graphics novels.

This does make...
Published on 17 May 2011 by Bark

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag.
If you hadn't noticed in the comic book world, at the moment Marvel have a small event going on called Secret Invasion. This event tells the tale of when the Skrulls finally decide to stop playing nice and get around to invading the good old Marvel Universe. To this end they have infiltrated the heroes with Skrulls who don't know they are really Skrulls (sleeper agents...
Published on 30 Aug 2008 by P. A. Keating


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag., 30 Aug 2008
By 
P. A. Keating "houshin" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you hadn't noticed in the comic book world, at the moment Marvel have a small event going on called Secret Invasion. This event tells the tale of when the Skrulls finally decide to stop playing nice and get around to invading the good old Marvel Universe. To this end they have infiltrated the heroes with Skrulls who don't know they are really Skrulls (sleeper agents so to speak). With this they have thrown doubt amongst the heroes.

As part of the promotion and to help slightly newer readers this collection has been thrown together. It start's way back at the beginning with the Fantastic Four's first run in with the Skrulls. From here we jump to more recent stories, mainly from the New Avengers and the Illuinati.

This all goes to show how clever Brian Micheal Bendis really is (no sarcasm). He has sowed the seeds back as far as the first issue of New Avengers and the breakout of the raft (further if you take into account the likes of the Nick Fury centric Secret War). The writing is excellent and the artwork is generally top notch throughout.

But there is a problem. With the exception of the Stan Lee & Jack Kirby Fantastic Four story, there really isn't a complete story in there. All the other issues form a smaller part of a larger story that was being published. For example two issues where taken from the 5 part Illuminati and the Elektra storyline was taken from the tail end of a several part Avengers story line. This means that as you read it, you are treated to the planning that the Skrulls have been so thorough about but it doesn't really make for the most complete reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler Free Review, 11 April 2009
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
I didn't enjoy this. I was dissapointed, as I enjoyed Civil War and thought House of M was quite good too.

I like what I have read of Bendis (Daredevil mainly, though also enjoyed Alias. I read the first few Ultimate Spider-man volumes when I started following comics, but was not overly impressed with them) so was expecting to enjoy this, but it was just too scatty. It didn't really make any sense in its own terms. I roughly knew what was going on before Secret Invasion (from wikipedia as I don't follow any of the relevant comics), but if I hadn't it would have been pointless as it relied heavily on you knowing what is going on. I think if you followed New and Mighty Avengers you would enjoy this, but it is not a good way to get into comics or the Avengers franchise.

The art is quite good though I have a couple of complaints. Yu's faces are too lined and look very odd. Also the costumes (particularly for the female characters) are just too skin tight and show off their bodies too much. I know this is common in super-hero work, but I am used to series like Daredevil and Captain America, which are a little more subtle.

The volume itself its very good value. Eight larger than usual issues (I think they are 30 pages each rather than 22) plus two extra issues that are related to the event, one having a few short stories, one being an encyclopedia of all skrulls to appear in the Marvel Universe since the 60s. The variant covers for an issue are all included on one page, which is acceptable considering there are quite a few covers, but not ideal.

In conclusion, I would only recommend this to people who follow New and or Mighty Avengers. The story is just too tied in to the plots in those comics. It's not that bad in itself, just not accessable enough. I have reviewed this assuming anyone who hasn't already bought it does not follow the Avengers franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS HOW I THINK THE MARVEL MEETING WENT:, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
"I have this idea, right. The Skrulls can attack earth."
"Why?"
"Because... they're evil."
"Okay, then how can we make it seem more interesting so people will give us money for it?"
"Well, we could make loads of posters and adverts saying that no-one can trust anyone becuase they don't know whose an alien and whose not..."
"Right..."
"And then we can reveal who all the aliens are at the start of the first issue."
"Yeah, then what happens?"
"The heroes could fight them."
"How could it end?"
"The heroes could win."
"I love it. And we could cross it over into all our other series so that all our unsuspecting comic fans can give us loads of money."
"Ingenious. This is going to change the Marvel Universe FOREVER!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Should Have Stayed a Secret, 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
So let me get this right, some Heroes like Hank Pym have been skrulls all along and the real Heroes were kidnapped?
A plot like that with all its tie-ins and add-ons should have stayed a secret, utterly absurd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it is., 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
If you buy this hoping for something as intelligent as House of M or as thought provoking as Civil War or Messiah Complex, you're probably going to be disappointed. This is a basic, blockbuster-style story about aliens infiltrating the Marvel Universe. If you going into this book with that frame of mind, then it is good.
You do wonder who is human and who is Skrull. At times you even doubt who you think you know is human. There are a lot of surprises in the book, which I think is what makes it enjoyable to read.
The story is well written and well thought out and the art work is reasonable. Read it because it changed the entire Marvel Universe, and because it is enjoyable. Just don't expect something that will blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skrullness!!!, 17 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
Everyone knows the Skrulls from the Fantatic Four and wants to see them again but using there full potential. This is the book that gives you everything you would want from a graphics novel. Its a lot easier to read than other graphics novels as this is more light hearted and does not incorporate a lot of other stories from other graphics novels.

This does make you ask questions though that just want you to buy more just so you can answer those questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Civil War this ain't., 7 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
Civil War proved that 'event' comic books can work. Sure they're just an excuse to jam all of Marvel's top characters together into one storyline and drive sales of titles which you might not otherwise buy, but that's OK so long as it's entertaining.

With Secret Invasion on the other hand the story itself just doesn't work well enough to justify the huge number of titles that are tied into this arc. Coming so closely on the heels of the excellent Civil War there were some big shoes to fill (it seemed too soon for another big crossover story like this) so it was really gonna have to be good to justify doing it all again. And it's not great.

Fans of the Marvel Universe who want to keep up with what's happened in recent Marvel history will get something out of this but I wouldn't reccommend it personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who can you trust?, 26 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Hardcover)
Secret Invasion collects the similarly-named eight issue Avengers mini-series that tells the tale of the Skrulls attempt to take over the Earth. It is actually a great concept that builds a conspiracy type storyline going back to the early days of the Marvel universe The story was built up over a few months in the pages of the regular New Avengers and Mighty Avengers titles and I suspect that the book won't make a whole lot of sense if you have not read those episodes previously. The best feature of the book is without doubt the artwork and in particular, we are treated to some superb panoramas of massed battle scenes as the heroes take on the villainous skrulls. Some fantastic covers were created for the series and these are also reproduced in this collected edition. However, from a story point of view, most of the really dramatic aspects of the series appeared in the core Avengers titles and this means that a big chunk of this book is devoted to slug-fests between the various protagonists. The series sets the scene for the Dark Reign storyline that ran across the Marvel titles immediately after the conclusion of Secret Invasion. Overall, this book is a bit of a disappointment and I've probably been quite generous in giving it three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Rather Big Disappointment, 16 April 2010
By 
D. J. Simons "dsimons" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
And there came a day unlike any other, when shape-changing aliens came to Earth, swapped identities with key individuals and superheroes, and infiltrated the planet at all levels, preparing for a full-on invasion.

The story of the 'full-on invasion' is in the graphic novel you see on this page. It's a really good premise.

Unfortunately, its terrible.

While not totally dire. It feels really pointless reading Secret Invasion.

The action is poorly plotted, the level of depth is a shadow of the build up to this story(as featured in the New Avengers series), and the ending is so abrupt and random that you feel shortchanged.

The art is good and serviceable, but its the writing where the Secret Invasion falls apart. Brian Bendis has an unfortunate habit of padding and extending things. He has a great knack for dialogue (finely shown in Alias and Daredevil) but his style does not always benefit his work on blockbuster events, like this one.

Secret Invasion is an example of Bendis at his worst. It feels like its padded out for all the issues following the first installment.

While the conclusion sets up Dark Reign, it's just randomly shoved in around the last 10 pages. Very little is filled in.

Thinking of reading this? Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Wet Squib! Unless you are 11 this really won't entertain!, 6 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Secret Invasion (Paperback)
I read a lot of the stuff building up to this event which is another brainchild of Bendis, & for all the promises it made it just didn't deliver. This is meant to be Marvels greatest event of 2008 & to be honest the plot was so simple a 5yr old could write it, the only reason you can tell it's Bendis is because of the witty quips between the characters, which to be honest considering that the whole planet is meant to be doomed is a little out of synch. Other than that this is a just a parade of Marvel heros running around fighting, there's hardly any character development, things happen far too easily, Captain America is even brought back briefly. Brian Bendis over the years has brought back almost all his favourite characters of the 70's & 80's, now being of that age myself I do get nostalgic about them but he's taken it too far in this book it's just cringe-worthy.
Considering the amount of time Marvel has invested in this it really is a colossal letdown. I think it's time they concentrated on the character driven titles & pull in Mr Bendis' reins.
If you want to read marvel events of the year try Civil War by Mark Millar (Wanted, The Ultimates) or House of M which is Bendis on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Invasion
Secret Invasion by Brian Michael Bendis (Paperback - 29 Jan 2009)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews