Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it - love it - love it!!
This is the best book in the world! If you are looking for a short and interesting read full of adventures this is the book for you. It starts off in modern time when the children must shelter from the storm in an old tithe barn, they begin to imagine that they are back in the time of the plague and must learn how to survive on their own without their parents. The book...
Published on 16 April 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to like it more...
but it didn't really grab me. I suppose I wanted to find out more about the plague, wheras main characters were (appropriately) in the dark about it. I didn't think the time slip was effectively done either.
Published 6 months ago by Groover


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it - love it - love it!!, 16 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
This is the best book in the world! If you are looking for a short and interesting read full of adventures this is the book for you. It starts off in modern time when the children must shelter from the storm in an old tithe barn, they begin to imagine that they are back in the time of the plague and must learn how to survive on their own without their parents. The book captures your imagination right from the beginning and i felt that i was right there with them. I hated to put it down - BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Children of Winter, 1 Feb 2004
By A Customer
I read the book many years ago and was never able to get it out of my mind. An eerie tale of Catherine and her siblings, who find themselves stranded in a strangely familiar barn, transported back to the time of the Black Death. This haunting story really allows the reader/listener to escape deep into the imagination. The author writes with fluidity and grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think this book is a brilliant book for kids of any age., 27 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This book is about a girl and her brother and sister who go on a walk with their family and get trapped during a storm and shelter in a barn in a lonely field set in the modern-day. As soon as their parents get lost, the mood of the book changes into historic times during the plague. It is an incredible story of how three children think that they are living there for three months whiler the plague is on but they only stay in the barn for two days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 3 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
I am in Year Six and have been reading Children of Winter with my class in literacy hour. I am really enjoying it and so are the rest of my class. I can't wait to find out how it ends. It's a gripping storyline and although some parts are boring there is always a bit that makes you want to carry on reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to like it more..., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
but it didn't really grab me. I suppose I wanted to find out more about the plague, wheras main characters were (appropriately) in the dark about it. I didn't think the time slip was effectively done either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children of Winter - amazing, 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
I found this book incredible. i would advise people 10+ to read it because the concept is quite hard to grasp. to find out more ad read my other reviews go to [...]. i am an independent book reviewer and i review kids books! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 17th Century Survival story., 8 Jan 2014
By 
N. Goldsmith "goldsmith52" (Tunbridge Wells, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
Berlie Doherty née Hollingsworth, an English novelist, poet, playwright and screenwriter, is best known for children's books, for which she has twice won the Carnegie Medal.She has also written novels for adults, plays for theatre and radio, television series and libretti for children's opera.

Set in 1666 at the time of the Great Plague, this is the survival story of three children in Yorkhire where they have been 'evacuated' by their parents to a barn in winter near their village to avoid any disease. This is no action busting story, but a more slower paced tale giving a realistic insight into the time and the situation. With the three children of varying ages you get to experience their varieties of emotions from childish innocence in Dan, to the worries of Catherine, thrust into adult responsibilities.
This book is aimed at the just pre-teenager and being set in Yorkshire they might find difficulties with the older style dialect (lots of thees and thous). There is an element of modern family too, with the Tebbutts, though as this is written in the 80's the young reader might find still find them 'old fashioned'. That being said, in my opinion, it is a good read for the age bracket it is aimed for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
The book is beautifully written and has proved to be an excellent basis for a school topic about the plague of 1665. Doherty's writing is simple yet evocative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Time Slip Tale, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
The Children of Winter is a simple, time slip story about a modern family caught in a storm who take shelter in a barn that belonged to relatives of theirs hundreds of years before. The oldest girl, Catherine, feels a strange kinship with the place and alongside her siblings she begins to re-enact the story of what happened to her contemporaries in the sixteen hundreds, when they were sent to the barn for safety during the time of the plague. Inspired by the events in the Derbyshire village of Eyam, where the inhabitants isolated themselves to stop the plague spreading to their neighbouring communities, this is a beautifully written novel, full of atmosphere and the attention to detail that really transports you back in time with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best historical fiction books that I've ever read, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of Winter (Paperback)
This was one of the first historical fiction books that I read as a teacher to my Year 5/6 class. It is a great way of introducing flashbacks to your child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children of Winter
Children of Winter by Berlie Doherty (Paperback - 1 April 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews