Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Enemy
I stumbled across this title whilst browsing through the Amazon websiteand memories of this wonderful book came flooding back. I read this bookas a teenager, over and over and over again until it fell apart and Ihaven't seen it since. It is a delightful story told in letters aboutSally McBride, a frivolous young society girl. Sally is given the oneroustask of taking...
Published on 26 April 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What a gem
I enjoyed this just as much as Daddy long legs a real feel good story. Can't wait to start the next book from Jean Webster
Published 9 months ago by L. Pearce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Enemy, 26 April 2004
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Hardcover)
I stumbled across this title whilst browsing through the Amazon websiteand memories of this wonderful book came flooding back. I read this bookas a teenager, over and over and over again until it fell apart and Ihaven't seen it since. It is a delightful story told in letters aboutSally McBride, a frivolous young society girl. Sally is given the oneroustask of taking charge of an orphan asylum in which her college friend Judywas brought up. She tackles the job with humour and determination and soonbecomes totally engrossed in the life of the asylum and its unfortunateresidents. Sally has been left a difficult legacy from the asylum'sprevious mistress and has to deal with some difficult trustees and theaustere visiting doctor who takes it upon himself to fill in the gaps inher education and preparation for the role. Sally, in turn tries toeducate the doctor about her preferred reading matter and pastimes withhilarious results. Hopefully my memory of the story has not faded too muchas I have not read the story for about twenty years. I can't wait to getmy hands on a copy again and laugh and cry through the pages as I didthen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sequel to Daddy -Long-Legs, 30 July 2002
By 
Kim (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Hardcover)
"Dear Enemy" continues where Jean Webster's "Daddy-Long-Legs" finished. However, this time, the story is not directly about Judy Abbott but her college room-mate Sally McBride. As a wedding gift Judy is given the hated orphan-asylum to 'make over' and she chooses Sally to implement the changes. The story is told through letters to both Judy and the local doctor who is "as companiable as a granite tombstone!"
Although the story may seem tame to modern readers i am sure that anyone who enjoyed "Daddy-Long-Legs", and found its sunshine, will find this book a pleasure too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joyous book, 30 Aug 2008
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Paperback)
This is the sequel to the book Daddy Long Legs in which an orphan girl in an asylum falls in love by letter with a wealthy and kind philanthropist. It is funny and romantic and beautifully old fashioned in the best way. This book although a sequel, can be read as a standalone, although infinitely more pleasure will be had from reading Daddy Long Legs first.

Here, Sallie McBride, a wealthy socialite and friend of the heroine in the first book is engaged by her to run the orphan asylum in which she grew up. As in the first book it is written entirely in letter form. As well as all the trials and tribulations of looking after 113 orphans it involves the blossoming relationship between Sallie and the Dear Enemy of the title, a dour, Scots doctor with very strong ideas of his own about how orphans should be raised.

This is wonderfully old fashioned, charming and utterly romantic and I read it in a day and was sad it was over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Kindle Edition)
I chose a rating of four because I felt it was a nice I treating uplifting story. One I will recommend to my granddaughter. It has a strong moral theme and a nice quaint ending. It was a shame just didn't write more or she was not talked about whilst she was staying near the asylum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my Grandchildren, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Paperback)
Very good copy of a much loved story.

I will await feed back from the children at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Kindle Edition)
After reading daddy long legs sand enjoying the way it's written I found the sequel and loved that too. I wish all orphans were so lucky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow on from daddy Long Legs, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Kindle Edition)
One ideally needs to read Daddy Long Legs before Dear Enemy to gain a better understanding. Like Daddy Long Legs, this is beautifully written & a most enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite book, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Kindle Edition)
I have the hard copies if both Jean Webster books I can read these over and over again, I constantly retread them and bought the kindle version so I could read it on my travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another gem, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Enemy (Kindle Edition)
For everyone who enjoyed Daddy Long Legs and wanted to know what happened next. Another heartwarming story of coming of age and learning the ways of human behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dear Enemy
Dear Enemy by Jean Webster (Paperback - 20 Jan 2006)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews