Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not much hope, but maybe just enough
I must confess I picked this book up with some trepidation. The subtitle - "Life, Death and Hope in a Mumbai Slum" - and the cover (of my copy), a young boy sprinting up steps into bright sunlight, made me think it might be another of those. You know, those. The post-Slumdog reportage. "Yes, conditions in Indian slums are appalling. But wait! Look at the way the children...
Published 21 months ago by Barry Bootle

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Beautiful ForeversThe book was well written
The book although well written was perhaps too long and the style ,written in a rather journalistic manner was not to my taste; I could not sort out the characters enough to follow the overall theme.However I did learn a lot about Life in the Indian slums.
Published on 3 Nov 2012 by Treefor


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A book everyone should read, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Sian (PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this in Mumbai which made it really special. I work with slum communities and this book is an amazing representation of the life of slum dwellers and the challenges they face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Should be compulsory reading, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully-told story of harsh life in a Mumbai slum, which reads like a carefully-drawn work of fiction - until you get to the last page and realise that it is more than that. This book has deservedly won major prizes and I hope its pages bring change to the lives of those on the lowest rungs of the ladder not just in India but everywhere that humanity is institutionally downtrodden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not for the faint-hearted, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A vivid and memorable depiction of slum life; the ever changing narrative viewpoint I didn't like but otherwise an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well deserved Prize winning book, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writer has profound knowledge about India and how Indians think. Their values and priorities play vital role in the story. Well deserved Pulitzer Prize winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent combination of documentary and fiction, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the way of narrating is the same style as Sonia Faleiro's "Beautiful Thing: Inside the Secret World of Bombay's Dance Bars". and maybe has originated in Suketu Mehta's "Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found". and is the new genre "docufiction"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Beautiful forevers, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well written book showing the life in a slum so near to the International face of India. The characters were alive and showed how ambition can come out of the saddest existence. Seemed to be well researched and written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Beautiful Forevers .............., 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This account was based on fact. The desparation those in the slum is contrasted with those in the hotel. Also the tenacity of slum dwellers to better themselves. Also the love (loyality) which held families together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Peter Munn (Chambery, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One gets a good feel for the tragic struggle to survive and progress. How life is cheap and how little control one has over one's life. None of the depth and drama of Shantaram.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book on the whole. It is written like a novel which makes it a very easy read although the subject matter is not easy, being factual. I found it very depressing the further into it I went and it made me feel quite impotent and hopeless by the end. However, I really wanted to know how the lives of the surviving characters panned out after the book finished, which is a good sign for me I have enjoyed the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable., 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully written book that keeps you enthralled from the first to last page. Although based on years of research and living amongst the poorest people in Mumbai, this revealing book reads like a novel and held me enthralled from the first to the last page. The rampant corruption that is throughout the authorities is almost unbelievable when you realise that it is aimed at the very poorest of the poulation who live cheek by jowel with some of the most expensive hotels in the city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death and Hope in a Mumbai Slum
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews