Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written, thought-provoking book
This book recounts the bombing of Nagasaki by examining the actions and thoughts of politicians, military men and civilians who played both willing and unknowing parts in the events of August 1945.

For me, the book was very vivid and I found it difficult to read without frequent pauses for thought and reflection on the everyday actions of ordinary people caught...
Published 23 months ago by Margaret L

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a very disappointing read
The author's obsession with trivia particularly in the initial chapters and constant repetition of the same but using different words made this book boring. His poor knowledge of the English language also contributed to its failure to generate interest. Reading became a chore. The reviews of this book that are printed on the back cover, the reasons why I bought this...
Published 11 months ago by John Thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written, thought-provoking book, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book recounts the bombing of Nagasaki by examining the actions and thoughts of politicians, military men and civilians who played both willing and unknowing parts in the events of August 1945.

For me, the book was very vivid and I found it difficult to read without frequent pauses for thought and reflection on the everyday actions of ordinary people caught up in war.

An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a very disappointing read, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author's obsession with trivia particularly in the initial chapters and constant repetition of the same but using different words made this book boring. His poor knowledge of the English language also contributed to its failure to generate interest. Reading became a chore. The reviews of this book that are printed on the back cover, the reasons why I bought this book, are not supported by the contents in the book.s

In a chapter regarding the decision process by the Americans whether to bomb the author writes in a manner that leads only to one conclusion and that is that the Americans are guilty of war crimes because they dropped the bomb despite knowing that the Japanese Government was seeking an end to the war.

Nothing of significance has been added by this author to what is already known about Nagasaki the before and after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I hope it never happens again. Are you listening North Korea., 16 April 2013
By 
sher (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love history and this book did not disappoint. Very sad and shows the futility of war. Everyone should read about the plight of the innocent victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as above, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read and should be on our National curriculum.rttkvt rtgorgtn grvnrg kgkrtnv rgtkrgtnv jrgrkgnv krgtn jrtng jg gjlrg jrgjrn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serious Look at a Serious Subject, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I describe this as a slow read, I'm not trying to be dismissive, just accurate. The effort required for the average western reader to keep track of the wide variety of Japanese names means that one needs to go quite carefully to keep the different life stores in focus. But I found it worth the effort and was grateful to Clive Collie for bringing us up to date in the last chapters, rather than leaving us in 1945.

Despite the horror of the event nothing can change the fact that the two atomic bombs undoubtedly saved more lives than they cost. The intransigence of the Japanese government is well portrayed, and even if it did take the collapse of the Kwantung Army AS WELL AS the atomic bombs to stop the killing, they were still an awful necessity.

One minor thought is that the book's subtitle; 'The Massacre of the Innocent and the Unknowing', could equally be applied to the Chinese victims of the Japanese Rape of Nanking. Perhaps a book could be written of their suffering?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nagasaki: The Massacre of the Innocent and the Unknowing
Nagasaki: The Massacre of the Innocent and the Unknowing by Craig Collie (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
8.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews