Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filthy English: The how, why, when and what of everyday swearing.
Absolutely fascinating book. Full of very detailed descriptions of how certain words originated and what seemingly inoccuous words they are contected to. There is so much information packed into this book that I'm only reading about four pages a night - it is so enjoyable as well. It's not a light or silly read - more quite a serious look at language with some light...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by Penny Lane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but with too much suckiness in the end (nudge, nudge)
This is the kind of book you initially want to like, but in the end it falls short of the mark. The main problem is the author - he is a tad too full of himself and has not done his research very well. The author admits to not being someone who is trained to know stuff about languages and their use, yet it doesn't stop him from venting all sorts of little theories about...
Published 1 month ago by Dr Dombo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filthy English: The how, why, when and what of everyday swearing., 13 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy English: The How, Why, When and What of Everyday Swearing (Paperback)
Absolutely fascinating book. Full of very detailed descriptions of how certain words originated and what seemingly inoccuous words they are contected to. There is so much information packed into this book that I'm only reading about four pages a night - it is so enjoyable as well. It's not a light or silly read - more quite a serious look at language with some light hearted digressions. The sections which explain puns from Shakespeare, Marvell and other writers are brilliant! Suitable for those people who are genuinely interested in how language originated rather than for those looking for a cheap thrill. I thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb insight into the evolution of modern insults!, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Filthy English: The How, Why, When and What of Everyday Swearing (Paperback)
I was drawn to this book purely for the cover, I was intrigued to know its contents and, not normally my genre of reading, however I decided to take a chance. I am glad I did this was a really fascinating read I loved (nearly!) every page on it. Certainly not for the faint-hearted!! There is no shying away from the more explicit words or explainations for their origins. But absolutely brilliant I really did enjoy the majority of this book, the last few chapters about censorship etc becomes a bit more anecdotal and wasn't as interesting as the other chapters.

However, I would highly recommend this book to anyone, with or without an interest in language, this is a fabulous read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable examination of swearing in the modern world, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: Filthy English: The How, Why, When and What of Everyday Swearing (Paperback)
What a cracking book! It is really erudite in terms of the etymology of all the common (and uncommon) swear words. But, just as important, there is so much insight into the role of taboo language for the individual and society. It also covers the change in our attitude to swearing. Most sexual swear word are no longer the ultimate taboo; that has been overtaken by racist epithets. However, Peter Silverton also looks at the role of swearing in different types of societies and how different languages produce swear words. This was particularly fascinating. On top of that it was extremely funny. Peter Silverton has a wickedly dry sense of humour. I learned so much from it and also enjoyed reading it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that swearing can be big and clever., 27 Sep 2011
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Filthy English: The How, Why, When and What of Everyday Swearing (Paperback)
It's odd that much of the content of this book is unable to be quoted here. Why is swearing censored? Which swears are the worst? Why are English swear words different to others around the world? And why is it so very difficult to swear properly in another language? All these and many other questions are, if not answered fully, certainly pored over with the punctilious obsession of one whose trade uses the currency of language. This is not a small book, and will take you a while to work through. Not because it's dull: far from it, but because the amount of material is incredibly densely packed. Each page has at least one juicy morsel to chew on (usually more), pulled in from a mixture of memory, conversation and academic investigation.

The topics run from the biological to the profane, taking in Pompeian graffiti (including the rudest Latin swear word, landica), why there aren't that many swear words relating to the female form and the origins of the "Yo' Mama" swear. In between we see the differences in the mechanics of black and white US swearing, a brief history lesson about Aztec Mexico and trying to find out when the first f- word in recorded music turned up. All are fascinating, frequently witty and written with a certain lightness of touch that, in the hands of another, could have made for a rather leaden read. But it really isn't: it's a riot, and frequently illuminating to boot.

Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oooh, Matron!, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked this book! I am interested in words and swearing in particular so this was a really good read for me. The only reason I didn't give it 5* was because it does seem a little bit overlong with a bit of padding, however I would really recommend it to anyone who is broad-minded and interested in the way language changes and develops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I swear that it's good., 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an entertaining, informative book, a mix of erudition and research and downright belly laughs. An effing splendidly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and amusing, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very readable book which I would recommend both for those interested in linguistics and for the general reader. It is insightful and amusing and obviously thoroughly researched from a lay persons point of view so doesn't appear in any way too heavy. You will almost certainly learn a few things from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but with too much suckiness in the end (nudge, nudge), 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy English: The How, Why, When and What of Everyday Swearing (Paperback)
This is the kind of book you initially want to like, but in the end it falls short of the mark. The main problem is the author - he is a tad too full of himself and has not done his research very well. The author admits to not being someone who is trained to know stuff about languages and their use, yet it doesn't stop him from venting all sorts of little theories about why things are the way they are, based on his own experience or intuition. This makes that the book sometimes feels scholarly, but the scholar actually has no clothes. To make matters worse, the author has clearly not even used such a simple and obvious tool as Google to do fact-checking. His remarks about Dutch and Swedish swearwords (which I happen to be very familiar with) are mostly just wrong (and many simple mistakes, such as the spelling of 'kut' -not 'kot'- could have easily have been prevented using Google or an independent source) - I suspect his selection of languages was determined by his circle of friends and that he has believed everything they told him without checking. Again, very unscholarly behaviour. Finally, the author also has an annoying habit to drop names of famous people he knows or knew ('a bit') where this has absolutely no relevance for the subject matter. So, while there is some interesting content, the pretentiousness of the author makes this only a very average book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars (Un)hilariously self-important, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who is fascinated by language in general, and certainly partial to the odd choice expression, this was a book I approached with great anticipation. The opening lines (available to view as a preview) promised a personal and witty account of the author's journey through the subject matter, and I was primed to suck up interesting insight into the history and etymology of our more colourful phrases. Unfortunately, though, I was disappointed on both counts.

With no particular structure or overall narrative, the book at times seems to simply comprise long lists of the various insults and curses used around the world. In common with many English schoolchildren, I have in my life spent time looking up swear words in a French dictionary. This does not, however, mean I wish to read a whole book about it.

To break up the monotony, the author sprinkles in liberal doses of what are presumably meant to be light-hearted anecdotes and witty reflections on a serious subject. Ranging from the inane (the time he used a Canadian French word that was ruder than he'd realised), through the self important (realising that the gap in literacy between himself and the poor working class black girls he was teaching was simply insurmountable, and that they'd never pull themselves out of their current situations), to the downright irrelevant (how his wife's grandfather played a role in the creation of the state of Israel), these in fact read as an expression of how interesting he thinks he is. Perhaps I missed something, but I wasn't exactly gripped.

Each chapter starts with an "interesting" aside on some period of the author's life (most of which include a frankly impressive number of name-drops), and each drags on at the same turgid pace. By the time I reached what could have been a very interesting discussion on the changing face of taboo - how racial slurs common 30 years ago are now unthinkable, while the opposite is true of traditionally vulgar sexual terms - any enthusiasm I may have started with was sorely diminished.

I had great hopes for this book when I bought it - now I'm just glad to have finished. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Filthy English, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I thought it was going to be boring as the preamble is , bbut no as I've got into the book it is a Hoot there are so many giggles along the way it's educational to and I haven't finished it yet,
It has been very well researched indeed and not to filthy, but then who dosen't like a little Filth now and then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Filthy English: The How, Why, When and What of Everyday Swearing
Filthy English: The How, Why, When and What of Everyday Swearing by Peter Silverton (Paperback - 7 Oct 2010)
£7.19
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews