Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A contemporary nastier Jekyll & Hyde
If society is reflected in the art that its produces then we are well and truly [...]. The Seven Days Of Peter Crumb is a novel so unremittingly dark and violent it would make Hannibal Lecktor despair. It depicts the a week long killing spree of a psychopathic resident of Hackney .The author is also a resident of Hackney -some who read this book will also believe he ,...
Published on 30 April 2007 by russell clarke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars undecided
i really still don't know if i enjoyed this or not, normally books of this nature are right up my street and while i cant say that i didnt like it by the same token i have to admit that i wasnt exactly blown away either. lots of good ideas but i felt it was a bit too shallow and would have benefited from being longer so tht the ideas could have been explored in more...
Published on 4 Sep 2009 by geordie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knockout first novel., 20 April 2007
By 
L. Christie (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a deeply cool debut novel from Jonny Glynn, dark, frightening, insightful and laugh-out-loud-in-public funny. It's a brilliant look at London, at the ugliest parts of our culture and ourselves, at people we judge and why we judge them, and whilst being ultimately a very dark tale, this writer has the brave and incredibly rare ability to embrace the humanity as well as the brutality of his main character, rendering it almost impossible for the reader to judge him, instead allowing us to understand him in a way that comes as a complete surprise. And most importantly for a first novel, Glynn has a totally individual writing style, a unique (and to this reviewer) much needed voice. This is the most original first novel I've read in a long time, and puts Glynn at the forefront of London writers. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not big and it's not clever., 9 Jan 2010
By 
Mingo Bingo "Mingobingo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Seven Days of Peter Crumb (Paperback)
At the core of this book is a really clever piece of high concept, unfortunately this is lost in a novel that seems to be written in the wrong time. It feels as if it has missed it's place and has been published 10 years too late. It would have been more comfortable in the nineties amongst Natural Born Killers, Kalifornia and of course American Psycho.

The comparisons to Easton-Ellis's masterpiece are inevitable and Glynn seems to invite them. But where Patrick Bateman was a metaphor and a creation of satirical genius, Peter Crumb is just unrelentingly unpleasant. Where American Psycho was knowing and controlled and innovative, The Seven Days of Peter Crumb is unremittingly dark, containing none of the awareness of the zeitgeist that the former possessed, and as a result appears sensationalist and crass in comparison.

As I said the central conceit is strong. Somewhere in his past Peter Crumb has been a victim of a violent act so reprehensible that his it has split his personality in two. The book follows him in his last seven days on earth as he intends to cause as much damage to the world as he can. Taking prompts from the Daily Mail's lurid tabloid headlines (Murder, My Drug Hell, Woman's body found in bin bag) he begins a bloody rampage through the captial city.

The problem is that Crumb is a murky character. There is no clear definition between his two personalities, no moral compass to the book at all and where the tabloid-inspired spree could be used as a commentary on our society it is simply an excuse for increasingly repulsive and escalating set of events without meaning or structure.

Maybe that is the point, but if so it has been said better before elsewhere.

The biggest problem for me is the monumental cop out of an ending. I won't reveal anything here, but it renders the rest of the book even more meaningless and shallow than it already was.

The Seven Days of Peter Crumb is unfortunately a good idea turned into a bad book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 16 May 2009
This review is from: The Seven Days of Peter Crumb (Paperback)
Don't be fooled by the constant comparisons. "The seven days.." is NO "American Psycho". More troubled than brutal - and not as witty as it would like to be - Jonny Glynn's debut novel lacks the dark humor, the strange fascination and the obsessive descriptions of Ellis' finest, and the main character is no Bateman.
Although the book starts out promisingly, presenting us with a rather likeable Peter Crumb, it all deteriorates in the second half. To much whining and over-analyzing make it hard to follow, and the hero's actions become less and less understandable. The Jeckyll/Hyde-style schizophrenia doesn't help much either, because it puts a distance between the reader and the narrating hero. And the acts of violence pop up rather arbitrarily; it almost seems as if the author was required to put in a certain number of murders.
As a comment on modern society it puts its finger in some wounds (so to speak)but is not as cynical and to the point as the best of them.
All in all a pretty decent first outing by a talented writer, but not as good as it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Uneasy but gripping read, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picked up the book without knowing anything about it. Crumb is a despicable character but for some reason I grew to like him in a way and pity his sad guilt ridden existence. The pacing is excellent and the author raises some very valid points on the state of society in modern day Britain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Days of Peter Crumb (Paperback)
Amazing read, I never wanted to put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This one will haunt, 30 Jun 2014
By 
M. King (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought the end a bit of a cop out but, in all other respects this was great.

Dark humour, social commentary, and a very scary anti hero with big psychological problems.

I still mull over this one days after finishing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Days of Peter Crumb (Paperback)
I wasnt too sure when I ordered this, but its now one of my favourite books.
Sometimes I think authors go overboard with gore and it hence loses its edge, but Glynn does it wonderfully. I didnt want to finish it because it'll be a long time before I stumble across anything this good again, but I couldn't put it down.

Absolutely brilliant. The only downside is that it's his first and only book to date - I hope to god he releases another soon :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars meh, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Days of Peter Crumb (Paperback)
bit disgusting in certain places. ending is a bit of a cop-out. sort of snowballs on and on to something big, then the snowball melts disappointingly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Days of Peter Crumb (Paperback)
This came up on my 'recommended for you' list and the brilliant cover was enough to convince me to buy a copy. While entertaining, it wasn't as dark and debauched as it promised to be. Would I recommend it? Probably. Do I remember much about it? No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, witty and a bit sick., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seven Days of Peter Crumb (Paperback)
He's proper mental this one alright.......and you certainly wouldn't want this fella baby sitting your kids.

I've bought a copy for the mother-in-law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Seven Days of Peter Crumb
The Seven Days of Peter Crumb by Jonny Glynn (Paperback - 1 April 2008)
6.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews