Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR ANYONE WANTING TO BECOME A MIDWIFE!!
I couldn't put it down! Anyone who is considering embarking on a midwifery degree should read this. An honest, accurate and sometimes heartbreaking account of the amazing highs and lows of student midewifedom.
So well written...made me laugh and cry at times.
Published on 27 May 2012 by Wendy McGregor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit pricey
Good read but there are similar books out there that aren't nearly as expensive! Overall a good read which is useful for prospective midwives
Published 17 months ago by Nicola French


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR ANYONE WANTING TO BECOME A MIDWIFE!!, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journal of a Student Midwife (Paperback)
I couldn't put it down! Anyone who is considering embarking on a midwifery degree should read this. An honest, accurate and sometimes heartbreaking account of the amazing highs and lows of student midewifedom.
So well written...made me laugh and cry at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for aspiring midwives, 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Journal of a Student Midwife (Paperback)
As a student midwife about to start this academic year, I found Ellie's book gave a really good insight as to what to expect as a student midwife.

The book not only talks about her struggles with completing the course but also the effects it had on her family life and this to me was a real eye opener.

I would recommend anyone who is aspiring to become a midwife to read this book so that they can gain a real understanding of the demands of the midwifery degree course.

Well done Ellie! Looking forward to reading your next book as a Newly Qualified Midwife ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have read!!!, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journal of a Student Midwife (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone who is thinking of starting in Midwifery, an honest and emotional account of Ellie's journey, and what it is really like managing the course and family life, i couldnt put this book down, Well done Ellie on such a wonderful book xxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journal of a Student Midwife, 4 Jun 2012
This review is from: Journal of a Student Midwife (Paperback)
Journal of a Student Midwife

I loved it. It was honest and witty, it showed that there is so much more to starting a course in midwifery than just liking babies! It highlights the complexities of trying to manage home and work and study as well as negotiating the characters met on the journey. It showed the problems of trying to fit in and be accepted whilst trying to become a practitioner in her own right. This book is a must for budding students, students and midwives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journal of a Student Midwife (Paperback)
I borrowed a copy from a friend and I just had to buy it for myself so I can read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, honest, funny and moving, 1 Mar 2013
By 
T. Garrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am thinking of studying midwifery next year and this book has given me food for thought on how I will manage it. It hasn't put me off but has made me more aware of the preparation I need to put in before hand and how organised I need to be.
I loved the honesty in this book and could easily relate to the author. Just wished it was longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all student midwives, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book and a must read for all student midwives, but especially student midwives with children. The highs and lows throughout the book were great and I could sympathise with her over the struggle of balancing family life with such a demanding course. Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read, providing insight into a physically and emotionally demanding course. A must-read for anybody considering a career in Midwifery,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journal of a Student Midwife (Paperback)
Very honest account of life as a student midwife and wife and mother. Enjoyable to read. Would recommend to anyone who is thinking about this career path
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a real insight into what it's like to be a student midwife while juggling a family also. I was interested to read this book as I'm hoping to start my midwifery degree next year and as a mother of three boys was wondering what it's going to be like coping with it all!

I really enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend to other hopeful student midwives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journal of a Student Midwife
Journal of a Student Midwife by Ellie Ryan (Paperback - 28 May 2012)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews