Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Drugs Work
I was very pleased with my purchase of this book. It is definitely a must have for anyone undertaking the non medical prescribing course. It was easy to read and understand and helped me to study for my exams. It will remain an excellent reference book for the future.How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by J. Streeting

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic!
Thought that this would be more indepth - chapters are very short and do not feel that they explain exactly how drugs work!
Published on 29 Dec 2010 by SCOOBY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Drugs Work, 14 Feb 2010
By 
J. Streeting (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was very pleased with my purchase of this book. It is definitely a must have for anyone undertaking the non medical prescribing course. It was easy to read and understand and helped me to study for my exams. It will remain an excellent reference book for the future.How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction for the scared, 25 Sep 2010
By 
M. Summerfield "mrk156" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great introduction for those about to undertake Independent Prescribing. Explains basic concepts with clarity and merciful brevity without (what seems to me) the condescending and slightly confusing style of the '...for Dummies' or '... made Incredibly Simple' books.

Whilst the chapters on the principles of pharmacology and role of ions etc are great, the later chapters on particular drug types seem quite limited, so 4 stars.

(Other recomendations would be the BNF and Crash Course in Pharmacology for something a bit more in-depth)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 May 2011
By 
Mr. F. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My background is a MSc Nursing student, i used this book to help me with a pharmacotherapeutic principles module, its very well designed and very helpfull with breaking the dynamics and kinetics down for you. I would recommend this for any nursing student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic!, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals (Paperback)
Thought that this would be more indepth - chapters are very short and do not feel that they explain exactly how drugs work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars making understanding drugs easy, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals (Paperback)
purchased this book to help me through non medical prescribing course, very easy to read and understand, found using it along side course notes extremely helpful. highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mcgavock How Drugs Work, 3 Jan 2010
By 
S. Milton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book but beware there are some printing errors which I have notified to the publishers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals (Paperback)
Eclellent book
Found everything I needed for my course exam.
Chapter 18-20 a bit diffuse but everything else good
Had to wait 4 weeks for book as it was out of stock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Pharmacology book on drug actions, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals (Paperback)
Very complex book, identifies everything that is required for my nurse prescribing course. would definitely recommend to anyone considering the nurse prescribing course. very interesting book to read, sometimes a little complex. love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals (Paperback)
Great book for anyone undertaking a nurse prescribing qualification, I found it really useful and have used it several times since completing my course. I found it straight forward and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How drugs work, 20 Jun 2013
By 
FMCramb (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An good basic easy to understand guide to drugs and how they work ....which did the job for which it was intended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals
How Drugs Work: Basic Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals by Hugh McGavock (Paperback - 12 Oct 2010)
£23.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews