Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, informative, useful
This book delivers exactly what its title promises: an easy way to "sort" through most common symptoms in general practice. (Like "weight gain", "facial pain", "backache", "tremor") For each symptom, the most likely causes are described (with easy guidelines for differential diagnosis), followed by progressively unlikely causes. You then get a list of appropriate...
Published on 20 Aug 2003 by Nehwyn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for GPs or Medical students
Bought it out of interest, but I would not recommend it as a primary reference source for medical finals. only for interest.
Still, it is a good book for common illnesses, and it gives a concise way to differentiate between the 5 most commonest diagnoses with updated statistics.
Published 20 months ago by New


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, informative, useful, 20 Aug 2003
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
This book delivers exactly what its title promises: an easy way to "sort" through most common symptoms in general practice. (Like "weight gain", "facial pain", "backache", "tremor") For each symptom, the most likely causes are described (with easy guidelines for differential diagnosis), followed by progressively unlikely causes. You then get a list of appropriate investigations and a series of "hints & tips" for practical management.
The usefulness of "Symptom Sorter" isn't limited to general practitioners, but extends to undergraduate medical students as well, providing a clear and informative view of symptoms and primary care. The only flaw I can detect is that the book chapters are named with non-medical, common usage terms (this could actually be a pro if the reader is not conversant in medicine).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars v useful for students too, 1 Dec 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
The book has an excellent format - for each presentation, it lists a differential diagnosis, divided into common, uncommon & rare conditions - unlike other books I have seen on differential diagnosis (eg Churchill pocketbook), which do not distinguish between common & rare conditions. (This will be particularly useful for medical students - we are always being told that 'common things are common' but don't have the practical experience to know which the common diseases are!)
Each presentation has a table of key clinical features to distinguish between the 5 commonest diagnoses.
The book also lists investigations in order of importance, & has hints & tips, plus 'red flags' indicating serious pathology. It is clearly written and not unduly long - it could comfortably be read in a couple of days.
Although aimed at GP's, I'm sure the book would prove immensely useful to clinical medical students, & I will be recommending it to other students at my medical school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful for registrars, 12 July 2001
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
nice and simple approach.You look up the symptom and take it from there.Particularly useful for GP registrars who will for the first time meet "unsorted" symptoms and their carrier.I lent my copy to our registrar and never got it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a relief!, 29 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
At last someone has written the book of my dreams! This book is aimed at those entering General Practice who have to jump from one area to another with each consultation. Patients don't present with diagnoses, they come with symptoms and I like having check lists to use when faced with the uncertainties that this presents. Whilst this book cannot provide definitive lists for every symptom it has been a great aide memoire especially for those 'wooly' ones that seem so common, such as giddyness. I am sure it will be well used over the next few years. It has a good layout and there is plenty of information which acts as food for thought. There is also plenty of space to make your own notes. The authors come across as people in the front line and I recommend this book to those who are starting out in the field of Primary Health Care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I use this guide every day!, 6 Mar 2003
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
From the moment i picked up this book it became an invaluable resource. Being fairly new to general practice and new to the post of a Practice Nurse this book gave a very good grounding towards dealing with patients disorders and as an aide memoire to reference to. I look forward to the time when it becomes an assesed and accredited course for practice nurses to assist them with pREPP and to give theri employers a guidence as to their current skillls analysis. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for your GP placement, 12 Sep 2007
By 
Ms. R. Parwaiz (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
G.P. placements can be overwhelming for medical students like me primarily due to the vast spectrum of different presentations. As you don't have much time for each consultation, you need to take a focussed history to differentiate between the possible diagnoses so a good starting point is having an idea of differentials for each symptom ......this book is an invaluable tool for each presentation e.g. dizziness

INSIDE: This book is organised by presenting symptoms. Inside there are:
- Differentials (split up into common, occasional and rare).
- A quick tool to differentiate between the common disorders
- Possible investigations
- Top tips
- Red flags - highlights symptoms with significant pathology.

I would definitely recommend this book, its simple clear layout makes it a sure winner...if I pass my G.P. block it will be down to this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential resource, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
The layout of this book is perfect and it delivers exactly what the author promises. It is easy to use directing the reader to well laid out sections summarising key features of clinical presentations. For me the 'red flags' section is particularly helpful and reassuring. It is an essential resource in my role and I recommend this to any Nurse Practitioner in General Practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for GPs or Medical students, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
Bought it out of interest, but I would not recommend it as a primary reference source for medical finals. only for interest.
Still, it is a good book for common illnesses, and it gives a concise way to differentiate between the 5 most commonest diagnoses with updated statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential for gps, 27 May 2012
By 
M. Khan "MK" (fareham uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
essential for general practitioners for a quick review of the symptoms nice addition for my book shelf i have found it very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Symptom sorter, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symptom Sorter (Paperback)
An excellent book which is well organised and systematically analyses commeon presenting symptoms and the differential diagnosis. Associated red flag symptoms are described as are appropriate investigations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Symptom Sorter
Symptom Sorter by Vincent Forte (Paperback - 25 Jun 2010)
Used & New from: £55.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews