Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will not ever never eat a tomato
Charlie has a little sister called Lola and, like many small children, Lola has a long list of foods that she doesn't like. So, when Charlie has to feed her dinner, he resorts to tricking her into eating things that she will not eat - ever! Great illustrations, fantastic characters and a situation that all parents (and children) can identify with. My four year old son...
Published on 17 May 2001

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite a dull book
This is a pretty minimalist book. Whole pages are taken up by a plate of fish fingers, a potato or a plate of peas, and there are only 30 pages to begin with. There is no story to speak of, the book consisting of a repetitive series of mealtime conversational snippets. The illustrations are basic.

My young son was bored with it at the first go and did not want...
Published on 7 May 2008 by Humpty Dumpty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will not ever never eat a tomato, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
Charlie has a little sister called Lola and, like many small children, Lola has a long list of foods that she doesn't like. So, when Charlie has to feed her dinner, he resorts to tricking her into eating things that she will not eat - ever! Great illustrations, fantastic characters and a situation that all parents (and children) can identify with. My four year old son absolutely adores the story and is now more willing to try food that he would never touch before - it was worth buying the book just for that! I really like Lauren Child's characters - not too cute, vibrant and enthusiastic. My son requests this story more than any other and really loves the author's other books too - thank you for something different!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...Or how to get children to eat their food, 27 Feb 2005
Charlie's sister Lola is a very fussy eater. She will *not* eat peas, carrots, potatoes, mushrooms and most other foods.
In this story, Charlie is left in charge of Lola at dinner time. He tricks her into eating by pretending that carrots are actually 'orange twiglets from Jupiter', etc. In this way, he manages to get Lola to eat all her food, even her moonsquirters (tomatoes).
I really enjoyed this book and think that mums and dads could copy these tricks for their children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captured my nephews imagination from the first page!, 28 Jan 2002
By 
As I was babysitting my 4 year old nephew at Christmas, and he is a fussy eater, I thought this would be a good 'story for bedtime'. I must admit when I previewed it before his visit I thought some of the illustrations were a little odd, but these 'oddities' were the parts that drew his attention the most. The author obviously knows what's going on in a childs mind. It made my babysitting an extremely enjoyable experience, so much so that I'm doing it again very soon, with the help of the next book entitled 'I am not sleepy and I will not go to bed'. Keep them coming please Lauren!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding on a variety of levels!, 3 Mar 2012
By 
R. Keech (Berwick upon Tweed, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie and Lola: I Will Not Ever Never Eat A Tomato (Paperback)
As the first of the Charlie and Lola books, 'I will not ever never eat a tomato' has to be one of the most read childrens books in our house. My son loved the pictures, colours and sound of the story before he could talk. His response to the story was always so positive - we found ourselves reading it most evenings. However, once he could specifically ask for it, this became every evening without fail, for some time!

Any parent will tell you this is not uncommon - children lock into books and love repetition - the big '5 star' difference here is that I enjoyed reading it every night too! As my son developed his speech and understanding, they way we read the story developed too. He now 'reads' (like Lola - from memory) along with me - regularly shouting out his favourite parts about not eating tomatoes!

Similarly, the benefits have not been just his involvement with books. The story revolves around Charlie having to feed his little sister, a very fussy eater, her dinner. Lola doesn't like anything - particularly peas, fishfingers, potatoes, carrots and of course tomatoes - so Charlie must find ingenious ways to convince his sister to try the different foods. For instance, peas become 'green drops from Greenland' and are 'incredibly rare' peaking Lola's interest in the food.

This has worked an absolute treat with feeding time for my son too - he wants to try all the food Lola eats!

This book actually and easily promotes a healthy diet and a healthy mind, with beautiful, creative and very colourful artwork!

Can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Aug 2003
I brought this book for my children 2 years ago,when they were aged 4 and 2 and they stil love it now.
Great story line about a fussy eater and how she is encoraged to eat by her brother charlie who pretends mash potatoes are cloud fluff and carrots are orange twiglets etc.also has lovely pictures.Can't wait for the next book to be released about lola and Charlie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing sense of humor, 13 Mar 2004
This story depicts a fastidious sister and her witty brother. Lola is Charlie's little sister; she is always fussy about her food. It is hard for Charlie to give Lola her dinner, because she can always find some ludicrous or comical reason to refuse to eat anything she dislikes. One day, Charlie played a trick on Lola. Charlie with his excellent eloquence persuaded Lola to eat some of the food that she would not normally ever taste.
Vivid similes and evidence of a vast imagination is found in this amusing book. This is helpful for young children to cultivate their creative thinking.Generally speaking, the text is delightful. You can try to read aloud slowly the words for things that Lola hates to eat, in order to enhance the fun by the way you read them. Through the conversations between Charlie and Lola, we can see Charlie's trickery is successful.
Vibrant illustrations are a perfect match for this funny story. Different forms of typographical characters and the winding layout of sentences aptly reflect the character of Lola and Charlie. However, when I read this book the first time, I was really surprised at the illustrations, because some of them are drawings and some of them are photographs. Although sometimes the drawings and photographs are a little bit quirky, they are well suited to the text.
This book is suitable both for children and for adults who have to deal with fussy eaters for whom the book gives ideas to imitate, in a way that will make them laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Charlie and Lola!, 13 Dec 2007
By 
P. M. Fernandez "exilefromgroggs" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There aren't many bad things about having more than one child. The prospect of repeated re-reads of the same stories that the last child has just grown out of (in our case, I guess it was probably the Usborne "Apple Tree Farm" books) is one minor negative.

However, Charlie and Lola appeared after the birth of our last child, and so we were able to add these books to our bookshelf. Lauren Child's illustrations are utterly charming, and the text captures the "special" spoken form of a cheeky pre-schooler ("I will never not ever eat a tomato!").

This book is about Lola's fussy eating habits, which her brother Charlie manages to overcome with the sort of subterfuge that will be familiar to many a parent (we managed to persuade a child to eat tuna and pasta by telling her it was tuna and conchiglie, which was at least true!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever big sister uses creative marketing to feed picky sis, 14 Aug 2000
By A Customer
As many parents know, "green drops from Greenland" can sound ever so much more attractive than plain old green peas. Clever Charlie manages to get her little sister Lola to enthusiastically eat a nutritious meal. Cute collage-type illustrations. My 7 year old son read it, and came to tell me how funny he thought it was. I think so too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 4 Jan 2004
By 
E. Williams "etw69" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story of Charlie's search for a food that his younger sister Lola will eat is absolutely charming, written and illustrated with wit and understanding. Adults and children alike will enjoy seeing real toddler behaviour subtly exaggerated. Young children may be helped to view their own behaviour more objectively, while older children will sympathise with Charlie's sense of responsibility for a difficult (but imaginative and never malicious) younger sibling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play Along with the Joke!, 9 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Many young children don't like tomatoes. Some retain that distaste into adulthood. This story shows that stated fussiness about food can simply be a way of getting attention. Parents: Pay attention to this story! The colorful collages of photographs and childlike drawings bring excitement and freshness to the story.
Lola is a "small and very fussy" eater. Charlie is assigned by their parents to feed Lola.
Lola begins to expound her theories:
"carrots are for rabbits"
"peas are too small and too green"
Lola goes on to list peas, carrots, potatoes, mushrooms, spaghetti, eggs, sausages, cauliflower, cabbage, baked beans, bananas, and oranges as banned items. She also notes her reservations about apples, rice, cheese, and fish sticks. "And I absolutely will never not ever eat a tomato." Sounds like peanut butter and jelly are coming up to me.
Then Charlie attacks directly by putting out some carrots. Lola looks at them and says, "Then why are those carrots there, Charlie?"
"Those are orange twiglets from Jupiter," says Charlie.
"Mmm, not bad," Lola replied, "and took another bite."
Charlie puts out peas and describes them as "green drops from Greenland" and Lola finds them "quite tasty."
Mashed potatoes become "cloud fluff from the pointiest peak of Mount Fuji," and Lola decides "I love to eat clouds."
Fish sticks become "ocean nibbles from the supermarket under the sea -- mermaids eat them all the time." Lola wants to know if she can have more.
Suddenly Lola turns the tables, "Charlie, will you pass me one of those?" Lola continued, "Yes, of course, moonsquirters are my favorite." "You didn't think they were tomatoes, did you, Charlie?"
Obviously, Lola knows that they are playing a game, and she likes it. The new game seems like more fun than laying down the law about what she will and won't eat. The game puts her in charge by letting her name the foods, as well as her usual game of saying what she will not eat. Charlie makes room for Lola to assert herself, and all is well.
With children, there is a tendency to treat them like subjects of a King or a Queen. Actually, they feel quite grown up at a young age and want to have some autonomy. Choice of foods can simply be a testing of limits. But all children would rather have fun, and can easily be distracted by making the potential confrontation into a game, instead. This book eloquently makes that point, and ensures many more peaceful hours in many households.
After you finish reading the story, you should think about where else you can kid your child out of her or his bad mood. Come to think of it, when will that approach work with adults as well?
Look for the potential to improve every communication!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1baf9c)

This product

Charlie and Lola: I Will Not Ever Never Eat A Tomato
Charlie and Lola: I Will Not Ever Never Eat A Tomato by Lauren Child (Paperback - 18 Oct 2007)
3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews