Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rumble in the jungle
A brilliantly illustrated book of verse that is a must for all carers of under 5's. The verses themselves are a joy to read aloud. The tape that comes with the book brings life to the jungle and its animals. Hugh Lawrie's wit shines through the narrative. The flipside enables the child to follow the tape while reading the book and has a marvellous selection of music...
Published on 5 July 2002 by Vintage fine maid

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
The book is beautifully presented, with lovely pop-up/activity sections, however, I was disappointed with the very small number of animal poems/pictures and pages.

I was buying this book as a gift and as the owner of the non-pop-up version of the book, rightly or wrongly I had expected the full version of the book (13 animal poem & pictures)to be provided with...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by cheshiremum


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars CD is every bit as good as the book, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
I just re-ordered this product for a friend - we also have "Farmyard Hullabaloo" book & CD.
The rhymes are hilarious and do not require a huge attention span - there are four lines of rhyming text for each animal. The humour also appeals to adults, which is important when you are constantly asked to read the book again (and again and again and again...). The illustrations are wonderful, very colourful and expressive. The CD lives up to this excellent book with Hugh Laurie doing a huge range of voices, and the background music is incredibly imaginative. The CD extends the experience you get from the book alone, as it is in three sections - first you have the whole book from start to finish, with different music for each animal, animal sound effects and Hugh Laurie's reading. The next section helps children to follow the pages in the book - it is Hugh Laurie's reading, with no music or sound effects, with a special "boing" sound to tell a child when to turn the page. The final section is the music only, and children are asked if they can remember which music went with which animal. You probably will not to listen to all three sections every time, but the flexibility of this format is fantastic - my daughter went through a phase of being scared by the animal noises, so we just stuck to sections two and three. The second section also helped her to learn to recognise words on each page. The third, musical section, really highlights the talent, humour and imagination of the composer, which too often gets 'lost' in the background of this type of reading. We have had this book/CD for three years now and both my children (6 & 3, boy & girl) still enjoy it. One of the few things they BOTH want to listen to in the car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, kids love it!, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
Our children (2 & 4) adore this book and it's often the first choice for bedtime. It flows nicely, our eldest can recite most of the rhymes, and the pictures are fun. Also bought Commotion in the Ocean by the same author, and although it's also a great book, the rhymes in it don't seem to slip off the tongue as easily and it isn't such a hit as Rumble in the Jungle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice drawings, not very good rhymes., 25 May 2011
By 
B. V. Palmeiro (The Canaries, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 2-year-old son and he really likes it. He likes looking at the pictures of jungle animals and finding the little ants hidden on every page. I've tried to read the rhymes which go with the pictures, but except for the first one on the first page, the rest are rather poor and it is difficult to read them naturally. We end up making up our own stories about the animals and, as the pictures are very nice with lots of little details, that is good enough. As for the CD, my son does not really like it. Probably for the same reason that he prefers to listen to made-up stories rather than the actual poems. However, the CD includes nice music that he may grow to like when he is a little older. All in all, the book is not a bad purchase, but not as good as you may think from reading the first page shown as a preview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Book & CD) (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book and cd for toddlers and upwards. I have bought several and they all loved it. Children loved the way the music and animal sounds match the pages It can be read to them initially, and then they can follow the cd/book themselves when they are older. My granddaughter who is 2 loves it and I think it will be a favourite for a long time. Excellent value for boys and girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written and illustrated!, 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Board book)
Excellent little book with fantastic little poems for all the jungle creatures and the illustrations are really cute! My three month old daughter loves the bright colours and in due course I'm sure will enjoy looking out for the ants hiding in each picture!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
I bought this book for my sons Xmas along with others from the same author and they're all great! They rhyme throughout and are quite funny! An absolute pleasure to read at night! Also has an educational quality as it teaches them about different animals! I would highly recommend this to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
My son, who is 23 months, absolutely adores this book. Bright, lively characters and fun rhyming verse make this book engaging for toddlers and enjoyable for a parent to read to them. The pop-up element is fairly robust and has so far stood up to my son being rather enthusiastic when turning the pages. After being initially frightened of the pop-up lion in the centre of the book, my son soon overcame his fear when I showed him that he could poke his finger up the lion's nose. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
This series of books is great. Wonderful rhymes, beautifully illustrated, nice and bright. I bought 3 books from the series, this one, commotion in the ocean and girafes can't dance and my 2 year old daughter loves them all. Will definately be buying more from the series and would highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Magic!, 12 April 2010
By 
U. Asghar "Umbreen Asghar" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
I bought this picture book for my daughter. The fun, colourful illustrations appealed to her and they introduce animals to be found in a jungle. She can recognise and name most of the jungle animals; her favourite being the elephant.I particularly enjoyed the opening poem, and the rhyming text informs and amuses.

I have recently written a new children's fairy tale, which introduces a new heroine who goes on a magical adventure in a forest where she is tested when a spell disrupts the peace of the forest. For young readers who enjoy illustrated books.
Princess Zaara and the Enchanted Forest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grrreat book for the 1-3 year old in your life., 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rumble in the Jungle (Paperback)
This is our 16 month-old daughter's favourite book; the one she returns to time and again; the one she seems to be able to locate in an instant. She loves the bright pictures and will search high and low for the ants on each page. She "roars" with the lion, literally, and thumps her chest with the gorilla - who could resist. She may be a bit young to appreciate the subtelties of the text, but I love the poems (except for the rhinocerous, which simply doesn't scan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumble in the Jungle (Book & CD)
Rumble in the Jungle (Book & CD) by Giles Andreae (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews